Morton Buildings, Inc. Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 85 reviews
Ratings breakdown
522
428
318
26
111
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 85 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced. Hard work.
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Palmyra, MIJuly 15, 2018
Its a good place to work. If you like long hours in the sun with decent pay and benefits. They have a training program for new hires. Can transfer to other areas.
Pros
Always working
Cons
Always working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Leadman (Former Employee) –  Dodgeville, WIJune 20, 2018
I came to this company with little experience and didn't know if i was cut out for it. My foreman and lead-man re insured me that i would do fine and they would teach me everything i needed to know. 2 years later i needed up becoming a lead-man. I would still work for this company if i didn't move away from the area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better and qualified management
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 31, 2018
Working outside all year no matter how cold it was. I learned how to become a great manager. Workplace culture is dirty. Meeting the timeline for shipping. Becoming a Plant Manager in Kansas.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative assistant
Aministrative assistant (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXMay 13, 2018
I enjoyed the job but the environment was not always too healthy as I worked with construction men and some of the men were hard to work with and felt like I was demeaned at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
CORPORATE CUSTOMER CONCERN SPECIALISTS (Current Employee) –  Morton, ILMay 7, 2018
The company is good to work for. They have had some management changes which have come with new challenges. They are currently employee owned and seem to care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXApril 20, 2018
Unless this company has let go of everyone who used to work there and has gotten a stronger foothold in the industry in Texas, you will spend the rest of your time working here on jobs in OK, KS, and NB.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect for a single man who doesnt have a life
Leadman (Former Employee) –  Three Rivers, MIApril 12, 2018
if you like to work 60-70 hrs a week with a boss that could care less about you then its perfect. I tried to move up but its just not possible unless someone dies or quits. There is a reason why there are more negative reviews than positive .
Pros
working outside
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company to work at
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Winfield, KSMarch 22, 2018
Very Good Company to work at. Learned a great deal about the industry. Extremely satisfying place to work, as able to see accomplishments an be recognized for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job but pays you for it
Leadman (Current Employee) –  WTertown sdMarch 11, 2018
Enjoy working at mortons, has provided me a way to earn a great living. It does require some long hours and traveling. Great place to start young and advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forklift driver/trailer loader
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Morton, ILFebruary 9, 2018
It was a relaxed job that gets busy in the afternoon. I learned how load trailers and the dynamics of it. It slows down for the winter, but in the summer its a challenge.
Pros
relaxed atmosphere
Cons
outside work, exposed to the elements
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and fast-paced work environment
Crew Foreman (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXFebruary 5, 2018
It is hard work but very enjoyable and the compensation is well worth it. The company has various nation and region-wide competitions in production, volume, safety, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented with a Great Future
Marketing Department (Current Employee) –  Morton, ILJanuary 22, 2018
I have been with Morton for 12 years and I don't plan on leaving. The management team does a great job listening to your ideas and trying new things to help keep the company as the industry leader. Morton has always provided for me and my family and that makes me want to work even harder. If you are willing to put in the time and effort they will always give back. I recommend Morton to everyone I meet if I feel they are willing to work hard.
Pros
Team Oriented Environment, Great Benefits, Employee Owned, Collaborative Team Atmosphere, and Competitive Wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with a great product
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Port Charlotte, FLJanuary 18, 2018
Morton is known for their quality for a reason. They do offer a much better product than the competition. I enjoyed working there, but the corporate structure can cause some headaches. The pay is very good if you are selling. If you can manage to be hired into a well managed office, then you will enjoy the sales role. Much is expected of the sales consultant, but the rewards can be very good. I would recommend Morton to anyone that is willing to work hard.
Pros
good potential for earnings, great product
Cons
corporate structure can be difficult to navigate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Ixonia, WIJanuary 8, 2018
• Build pole barns/steel sheds
• Operate heavy machinery
• Operate power tools and hand tools
• Cut and place steel roofing
* read blueprint to accuritly make the buiding to specs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Carpenter Lead (Current Employee) –  Sheridan, WYJanuary 3, 2018
great place to work excellent bosses, great benefits that includes vacation and bonuses, free transportation and excellent moral for the employees, we get bonuses every quarter
Pros
experience
Cons
not paid lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was a joke!
Construction Center Administrator (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Sales were slow and the foreman took advantage of every opportunity to benefit during slow periods. The work was not enough to keep the office open and therefore business suffered.
Cons
Poor pay. Boring position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Outside Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  TexasDecember 29, 2017
I think its a great place to work I would refer anyone

great managers and great company support when times are rough

great work to life ratio plenty of family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Wanatah, INDecember 29, 2017
No respect for senior leaders, willing to pay top scale to entry level crew personnel while alowiing raises for experience to slip and lack of formal training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, IANovember 26, 2017
Terrible communication when trying to communicate when and what days your working or where you will be working. AND they inform last minute if you will be going out of town
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck
Construction Building Sales (Former Employee) –  Paulding, OHNovember 12, 2017
Stressful and required to work long hours for little pay.
Upper Management had no idea what was going on in the field, but you were required to make it happen so you the sales force could pay the way for the fat pigs at Corp.
Pros
You had a Job
Cons
Never knew when that job would no longer be there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Morton Buildings, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight