Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 1,369 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5384
4318
3341
2152
1174
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,344 reviews matching the search See all 1,369 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult ownership, good employees, good work enviroment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Moriarty, NMMay 18, 2018
The Motel 6 franchise I was employed with for 10 years, never offered raises and the ownership did not provide the proper equipment or supplies to help the business succeed.
Pros
good employees, good expeirence with customers
Cons
difficult ownership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot about the business
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYMay 18, 2018
It is difficult but you get out what you put in, best company for support in learning a new role. It is a job you commit to, but it has been providing with a wealth of experience. Ax with all jobs there are good days and bad days, but corporate support always makes it worth it and the budget that gives you the ability to reward your staff is a plus.
Pros
support
Cons
it can mentally wear you down at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMay 17, 2018
I would like to go back and work their I should have never gave up. It was be cause I broke my arm on the way to work and with out a car it is kind of hard to get around.
Pros
break room.
Cons
bad people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMay 17, 2018
Really enjoyed my employment with the company enjoyed meeting new people every day and the work crew were excellent people had great times and miss it every day .
Pros
quiet, great benefits
Cons
on some days slow and some days very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Really Great Place To Work ..
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Middleburg Heights, OHMay 16, 2018
Bad Place To Work . All The Company Do Is Use Employees Till They Cant Anymore .. They Mandatory Make GSR'S Do Overtime Without Properly Asking Them .. And Always Getting Into Altercations With Upper Corporate Management Which Is Unacceptable. Not Organized When It Comes To Having The Tools You Need To Work . Gossiping About One Another Especially Upper Management.
Pros
Overtime .
Cons
No Breaks . Too Much Responsibility. Mandatory Overtime . Turnovers .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard work less pay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pinole, CAMay 16, 2018
Since motel 6 is an economy hotel and the client that the property gets is not always the good ones. There are people running different things its not always bad. Majority are just travelers crossing through the city but some people that do come to stay and run some bad or illegal things make it a problem to work. Cops are called frequently and some days there is just too much work without proper compensation.
Pros
free lunches if the property sells out or oversells.
Cons
not enough pay, proper distribution of tasks, e.t.c.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Big Spring, TXMay 15, 2018
I miss being a desk clerk but if I have to do it again just maybe I would do it at motel 6 again. Getting to know people needs,wants was good thing some came in some did what they wanted over the telphone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping and front desk
Housekeeping and Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMay 14, 2018
It was ok , it was hot in the summer time and cold in the winter but since you could work at your own pace, I enjoy the work. I also did night auditing and front desk.
Pros
work at your own pace
Cons
no good benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Guest Services Representative (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAMay 9, 2018
They need to on the managers more I mean I know they should be on top of gsr but some managers are very rude and treat us like we are less just because they are general managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Manager on Duty (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAMay 9, 2018
enjoyed working for motel 6 I learned a lot and advance quick and the training process was great sometimes the only hard part were the crime that went on
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Rigby, IDMay 8, 2018
i only quit becaus my mom was the manager and we didnt get along to well , plus at the time i wasnt ready to have a job i still had some maturing to do
Pros
long breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funplace to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Euless, TXMay 8, 2018
meeting new people everyday bases,learn something new,close to dfw airport area so meet different people who comes to travel city.fun place to work.handling diffarant deapartment on daily bases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6-
Night Auditor/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXMay 8, 2018
This was not a bad place to work overall, but the location I worked in had a lot of issues with the area and clientele. I was the night auditor and usually there were some issues with the police having to be called.
Pros
discounts
Cons
bad area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible hostile management
Front Desk Agent and Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TXMay 3, 2018
Loved the actual job, was easy, loved the guest, was close to home and could always get time off but the manager watched us and screened our phone calls obsessively. Made myself and my coworkers discriminate and charge guest according to appearance. He would make me be rude to the guest for no reason and put me in uncomfortable situations often. It was unethical to say the least. He even came down drunk and yelled at us on many occasions. Would talk about other employees and show their write ups to non management. Called several employees stupid yet he had no idea what he was doing. It was a brand new franchise and with the right management could really thrive but unfortunately with that manager I don't see success in the future.
Pros
Close to home, great co workers
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working experience
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  South DakotaMay 2, 2018
Working there was good experience for me I gain a lot of experience while working there.I learn how to communicate different people I learn more customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CAMay 2, 2018
motel 6 is a nice place to work but i had to relocate because i gotten sick and could no longer work at that time. But i would love to go back to work there
Pros
laid back fast paced
Cons
slow at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experiance
Property Manager (Current Employee) –  Crescent City, CAMay 1, 2018
I enjoy my job, and hope to gain the knowledge I need to advance my career either with Motel 6 or else where. The management is great, and very helpful with anything you need to know.
Pros
Fun Job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, salary appropriate for work performed
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Van Buren, ARApril 30, 2018
I worked the night auditor shift alone but could reach manager if needed. The clerks before and after me communicated well as to the guests, potential problems; etc. With the exception of one extremely bad manager, it was a great workplace.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
None, except one horrendous manager. She was fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experiance
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAApril 29, 2018
very good customer services learning experience. the hardest part of the job was remembering the locations of the rooms. the layout of the building. the rooms were based on odd numbers and even but I would get confused in the beginning and send guest to the wrong room .
Pros
fun enviroment
Cons
dont have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Housekeeper/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Crescent City, CAApril 29, 2018
I enjoy housekeeping at motel six because you get to do your job without being watched by supervisors constantly. Very quick paced relatively easy job.
Pros
Independently working
Cons
less than minimum wage, low hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

72out of 100

The Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Motel 6 / Studio 6.

Powered by Comparably