Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Found 1,684 reviews matching the search See all 1,718 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Strict Demanding Workplace with no lunch breaks
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Caddo Valley, ARJuly 15, 2018
Typical day was stripping rooms
getting assignment of 9-11 rooms to clean
loading cart with what was available at the time
One other employee
Management was strict and harsh.
There was little to no time to eat if sitting for more than what I timed @ 6 minutes you were checked on and questioned.
Animal droppings in the main areas and outside clean'up are housekeeping responcibility but only paid by room
Pros
Coworkers, Some days off
Cons
One 5 min break, paid by room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAJuly 15, 2018
I loved working there
Staff was nice
Always good customers
Always busy woo
Management was good too
I learned lots of things from everyone.
It was good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
GENERAL RESERVATION REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OH 43214July 13, 2018
A friendly and productive place to work. You will gain a great sense of purpose when all your training and nesting skills are shown in every aspect of the job. I.e. the appreciation they show all the staff no matter what role on play in the G6 Hospitality Team.
Pros
A great deal of Employee Appreciation
Cons
A very diverse and productive Leadership team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
House keeper (Former Employee) –  Roseville, MNJuly 12, 2018
Housekeeping was one of the easiest jobs ever. I'm a very neat clean person anyways so when I was hired at motel 6 in Minnesota I lived my job there was never a problem and I'm a great team mate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pot luck lunches once weekly
Housekeeping / Motel (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVJuly 11, 2018
I only worked there for a short time but the time I did have was in a friendly learning environment with clear leadership rolls and chain of command.
Pros
Afternoons off each day
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Fast Place to Work
Houskeeper (Former Employee) –  Buellton, CAJuly 11, 2018
There is a lot of work especially in the Laundry Room because of all the sheets and pillow cases that have to get washed after each check out. Most of the work I did was taking dirty linens to the Laundry Room.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execellent place to work
Assistant Head Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 10, 2018
Nice place to work but it does need to pay a lot more money for the work that is required,alot of work for very little pay barely enough to pay a bill especially paying every two weeks. It pay weekly with the pay scale they have. I continue to stay because I enjoy doing what I do and the manager is an awesome guy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace with difficult management
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXJuly 9, 2018
The manager when I started was inexperienced and it effected the employees, paychecks, and the level of customer service that was provideable. It was a learning experience definitely.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Wouldn’t work around my schedule/sketchy customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was stressfull but it was work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 9, 2018
Ot was a good job only if everyone showed up it was me and another housekeeper on a Saturday worked 16 hours and no type of thank you
I aint afraid of work .i work but not a Thanks thats awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 9, 2018
The workplace culture is truly remarkable as they believe in the people that work for them. I enjoyed working with the employee's. The stressful part of the job that was enough for me was that I worked in a bad part of town and drugs, prostitution, and Police involvement was just too much as it affected my sleep and time off.
Pros
working with the employee's
Cons
too much problems from the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 9, 2018
This job as a GM was always hectic. Lived on a bad part of town and had to constantly deal with problems from the community. Drugs, prostitution, and police involvement were always a factor on my day.
Pros
nice employee's
Cons
to much drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Manager On Duty (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2018
Good starter job or if you are just entering the work field again. Working here helps to improve your customer service skills by dealing with a different customer and problem everyday. Management helps guide you to the right solutions and follows up to make sure it was completed right. Dealing with so many customers can get frustrating but having a team with you makes it that more easy.
Pros
Slow periods
Cons
Short staffed, revolving staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot atmosphere to work with low pay
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCJuly 7, 2018
Granted this motel has been known for over decades. Motel 6 has always been a local rented buissness . The majority of guest are either truckers or locals. Motel 6 has such expectations from both guest and employees when I rate the next low scale hotel in town. And the rates should be cheaper it's not like the employees are getting PAID
Pros
Complimentary breakfast and more linen
Cons
no breaks always short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Hinesville, GAJuly 7, 2018
This had to be one of the easiest jobs I ever had. Everything was good until I had to move out of state. If you're looking for easy money. Motel6 is it. It's not hard to follow simple directions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really didnt like work there
houaekeeping (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 6, 2018
dose bring another home on table need more money i have 5 kids they need school clothes and light gas rent pay i need a job pay better so can take care of kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAJuly 5, 2018
The managers are incompetent. The entire Motel is disgusting and they wonder why there are so many negative complaints. At times scary to work here, very unprofessional all around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many drug addicts
Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJuly 5, 2018
stressful job, ownership didn't help just wanted money didn't care about customers, property was a mess, rooms were not being cleaned, drug deals in parking lot, drug addicts starting fights with staff, theft, all around bad work experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent managment
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLJuly 5, 2018
Felt like family could always talk to someone if needed. Helpful resources if needed. Be my own boss. Put my fast paced skills to use. Housekeepers could use more detail in cleaning. For the pay they bust their butts for the deserve more.
Pros
Independence
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Front Desk Clerk/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Avoca, IAJuly 5, 2018
I enjoyed working at motel 6 in Avoca Iowa for the 2 years that I was employed there. I was very apt to learning anything possible and while the owner was taking care of his partners health situation I was given the opportunity to be as involved as I could be. I liked the hours I worked which was because I stayed busy and I got to become more helpful to regular guests and was able to get to know some on a more personal level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not friendly working environment
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJuly 4, 2018
Management was poor, and co workers were not willing to help unless you're part of the "click. " Personally heard the manager talk bad about his employees. Not a friendly place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,718 reviews
5467
4393
3432
2197
1229

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight