Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great & easy job
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAOctober 16, 2018
Housekeeping isnt as easy as some people would think it is. Its actually a lot of labor on the body & it consumes a lot of hours. Being pregnant & working as housekeeping for Motel 6, the manager actually was very caring & would check up on me to make sure i was doing okay or if i needed any help.
Pros
Caring management
Cons
Body labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something it was very stressful
Housekeeper/Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 16, 2018
It was a great place to work stuff was friendly co-workers was great to work with we were number 1 for 5 year's then the best manger went somewhere else and we fell all the way to the last
Pros
We had holiday lunches loved that
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place to work
FRONT DESK CLERK & NIGHT ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 16, 2018
the management and employees spread alot of rumors and had personal relationships with guests. most if the staff are hard drug users. there was also alot of theft by front desk employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swimming pool
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMOctober 16, 2018
its an okay place to be when you are on a trip with families or friends clean quite motel closer to stores in the area also some restuartant plus parks in the area where you can take your kiddos to play
Pros
none
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People get hurt on job. Swept under rugs. Never pay you
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Staunton, VAOctober 15, 2018
Im not sure if all are the same but staunton va is a shady place to work. They pay some employees in cash....contactors get paid in cash no work is ever done. Expected to work 60 hours a week. Get paid for 30. No oveetime pay ever..... Just a bad place to work. No locals will go there . crooked owners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALOctober 15, 2018
Very fast paced, I liked making customers happy.The environment could have been very dangerous for housekeepers, do to the fact that customers sometimes leave dangerous things behind in the rooms to be cleaned.
Pros
If you get done with your rooms early you get to leave
Cons
can be a very dangerous environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends where you are, I guess...
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXOctober 15, 2018
At my personal location, I'm lucky to have a great manager who does his very best to work with us. If we need a day off to handle a personal matter, he does everything in his power to get us that day, even if that means he covers our shift himself. He is very patient with everyone on his staff, and probably gives most people more chances than they would otherwise deserve. On the other hand, the job itself could use a few changes. The pay is quite low, even for my area, and there are no benefits what-so-ever. When I had applied, I was desperate for work, so did not mind at the time that it was quite literally impossible to move up in position or get any sort of pay raise. The job can be quite dangerous due to unpredictable guests, and we often have to call in local authorities for assistance, yet we are unable to make above minimum wage. My overall rating of motel 6 is: Slightly below average. If you decide to work at one, find a location with either a great team, or a great manager (I was lucky with both). Having good people around you, thus making the job more enjoyable, can mean the difference between staying for a few months and staying for a few years. But please add benefits of some kind...
Pros
Great management, great team, family atmosphere, relaxing
Cons
No breaks, no lunches, low pay, no benefits, dangerous work environment (due to area), inconsistent hours, no overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Grants Pass, OROctober 11, 2018
Very family oriented and a great company to work for. Management was very patient and made sure all staff were trained properly and understood there duties
Pros
Management
Cons
Some guests
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality Industry
Manager on Duty (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 10, 2018
Hospitality is Hospitality, f you can handle people yelling at you for things that are controlled by corporate then go for it. Otherwise find another hotel chain to work for if you want to work in hospitality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping and GSR
Guest Service Representative (GSR) (Former Employee) –  Eureka, CAOctober 9, 2018
I enjoyed working at the front desk, interacting with guests and customers. Housekeeping was difficult and fast paced. Working as a team is essential in the job. Strong communication skills are required.
Pros
Interactive
Cons
Shifts are inconsistent and change frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
MANAGER ON DUTY (Current Employee) –  Medford, OROctober 9, 2018
motel 6 or G6 is a great company to work for. there are plenty of opportunities for advancement. plenty of benefits for all employees regardless of position. and they truly care about the people that work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good in the beginning
Housekeeping/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAOctober 8, 2018
Loved staying busy. Could be stressful at times. Loved my co workers. That's why I stood there 3 years. Poor management. Always short on supplies. Management had there favorites that moved up fast. Management never put out memos employees had to learn news through other employees. One week u could have a lot of hours next week u can have no hours.
Pros
My sweet friendly coworkers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Head of Housekeeping Department (Former Employee) –  Hinesville, GAOctober 8, 2018
It was ok. It was nice meeting new people. I had fun being there. The workers were amazing. They made every one laugh and smile .Lovely clean place because of the supervisor.
Pros
The people
Cons
The people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Tifton, GAOctober 8, 2018
Everyone is Great just no vacation and the hours of we're slow only tow or one person will work and I've been there tow years can't take no more and I'm looking for something better and there's no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my manager marilyn was awsome
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Youngtown, AZOctober 6, 2018
it was a good p[lace to work but if you can not handle face to face confrontations then this was not the ideal job for anyone a lot of day to day responsibilities and money handling as well as a property and individuals to look after.
Pros
great people
Cons
high crime area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked it there it was easy and relaxed depending on the type of customers that came in.
Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN 37408October 4, 2018
i was a 3rd shift night auditor i liked y job when i didn't have aggressive customers come in and cause problems the nights were mostly pleasant and the environment was good my co workers were supportive it was a good job but i needed more money and less gas consumption.
Pros
relaxed work place.
Cons
no leaving for lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Knoxville tnOctober 4, 2018
I worked there for a couple months and the manager would have go around telling and talking about everyone’s personal life not only that she text my phone late at night being rude .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Auditor and Guest Services Representative
Night Auditor and Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAOctober 3, 2018
It was a job that I was trying out and I wanted to see how I like The Hotel Restaurant Industry. I am aware that I should keep my options open and try a Hotel because this was experience from the Motel side of things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAOctober 3, 2018
Getting to know employee and working as a team and always getting the job done by the end of the day always had plety of time to finish never in a hurry
Pros
3 breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  St.louisOctober 2, 2018
Love the Environment.

They Will train you & You would have a Board With Another Housekeeper

Teach You & Assistant With Help

Strip Linens and Clean Room
Pros
Working with Chemicals
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,960 reviews
5531
4459
3488
2222
1260

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

72out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Motel 6 / Studio 6.