Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, no proper training, managment was demanding and demeaning, pay was horrible for the work provided.
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVApril 5, 2018
Was fired for breaking rules and regulations but yet wouldn't be told what these rules and regulations were that I broke when I was fired right as the main Manager switched properies. Overly stressful with no help when busy, manager constantly condricted himself, and was rarely given a proper lunch but then told that it was mandatory that we take it
Pros
None
Cons
No room discounts, poor training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Westminster, CAApril 3, 2018
Only a year was spent working for Motel 6. It is a clean place with great rates and clean rooms. I enjoyed my time there, a lot of the gusts were regulars so I developed plenty of friendships throughout my experience there
Pros
Great manager
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self expierence
Manager on Duty/Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  lumberton nc 28360April 1, 2018
i really enjoyed workn there need security at all times though, the work was nice, really loved reservations, hospitality, insurance, there are many values of the job, great learning on the job, as far as knowledge , mod was great, did experience a full time management career
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun work place with room to grow.
MOD/Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Ridgecrest, CAMarch 28, 2018
High occupancy, number of rooms vary from place to place, people from all over the world use Motel 6 for their lodging needs, competitive nightly rates.
Pros
Work independently, plenty of work to stay busy
Cons
Short lunch breaks and sometimes no breaks at all, all holidays need to be worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job to have if you like doing the work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Arkadelphia, ARMarch 28, 2018
Being a housekeeper at a hotel or motel is about making sure the rooms are cleaned and comfortable as possible..you have to have patients in certain motels you go work for because some want the rooms done correctly neatly and in timely fashion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place
Guest Services Rep (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNMarch 27, 2018
With working with the one in Duluth, MN I have a great time talking to my co-workers and getting to learn new things on a daily basis. This location is one of the best ones that I have seen because they are so organized and the management is so nice and they are willing to help out every employee that they can within reason. I really do enjoy working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for
Night Auditor and maintenance (Former Employee) –  Tumwater, WAMarch 27, 2018
fun place to work for. everyone was professional and respectful. management was top notch and very understanding.the only down side was the low pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place
Maintenance Lead/ Front desk (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMarch 23, 2018
Learned a lot and management encouraged training, was always given the opportunity to pick up extra hours if needed. Staff blended well together and worked as a team. I really enjoyed working for Motel 6.
Pros
Overtime optional
Cons
Snowy days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistency in full-time work environment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 22, 2018
Motel 6 was a good work environment. Experience is learned as you proceed forward. Great for first job straight out of high school. Opportunity to move and excel further with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAMarch 22, 2018
at motel 6 there pay and benefits are great, days off are also paid , and the staff is great ! its a safe and a very fun enviorment to work in no doubt its very productive
Pros
paid days off
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for growth
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INMarch 21, 2018
If you would like to grow within management, this is the perfect company for you. It will help you develop many different skills, while providing benefits for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pocatello location is garbage
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pocatello, IDMarch 21, 2018
Owner was a racist Indian who constantly told me to lose weight and change myself so he could sell more rooms. Worst company I've ever worked for. They replaced me with and I quote "we need white woman."
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk Clerk
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNMarch 21, 2018
Check in and out guest. Make reservation for customers. Take payments upon check in or for reservation. Accommodate guests to the best of my ability. Schedule housekeeping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeper/front desk (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, UTMarch 20, 2018
we cleaned rooms, beds, bathrooms, vacuumed floors, wiped down everything dusted all the furniture. replaced towels, Just made sure the rooms were in prefect condition for the next people who came in. scheduled rooms took care of patrons that were staying in hotel.
Pros
able to work at own pace
Cons
some of the things that were found in the rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Berea, KY 40403March 19, 2018
A decent place to work if you are looking for something temporary. It would be a great job for a college student or a felon. If you are looking for advancement this is not the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 19, 2018
great place to work, consistent customers, most locations are a bit smaller, but you will enjoy working here, and will meet some great individuals. best of luck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours and room location
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDMarch 15, 2018
Worked long hours and being outside made it difficult with having to push carts sometimes they would tip over and its hard to work in the cold . having to run up n down stairs walking feet away to get more linen there limit room on cart for them and to take dirty laundry . but they were good bout the rooms getting done when you can . sometimes hours would be long latest stayed there was till 8 pm. for the Employees that have kids it would be hard to stay such long hours but if you are kid free then it would be no problem . well overall a good place to work if you can afford the hrs.
Pros
hours
Cons
outside rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Business
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNMarch 15, 2018
A typical day at work is about 10 hours. It is a fast paced job and there is always something new to deal with. M6 is trying to re-Brand the name, but it is a tough thing to do with their current clientele.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t do it
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAMarch 14, 2018
At the location in Vancouver, Wa the same three girls work there and have been for years all they do, talk mess about each other behind their backs, even then manager. She is very rude and lazy never around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed getting to meet new people
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 14, 2018
a typical day here consist of me getting my cart prepared for cleaning rooms and i learned that motels are a great way to earn good money management was ok but needs improvement. the hardest part was the management. and i enjoyed going to work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,339 reviews
5376
4310
3335
2148
1170

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

72out of 100

The Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Motel 6 / Studio 6.