Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 1,374 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5386
4319
3343
2152
1174
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,347 reviews matching the search See all 1,372 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place
Maintenance Lead/ Front desk (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMarch 23, 2018
Learned a lot and management encouraged training, was always given the opportunity to pick up extra hours if needed. Staff blended well together and worked as a team. I really enjoyed working for Motel 6.
Pros
Overtime optional
Cons
Snowy days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistency in full-time work environment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 22, 2018
Motel 6 was a good work environment. Experience is learned as you proceed forward. Great for first job straight out of high school. Opportunity to move and excel further with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAMarch 22, 2018
at motel 6 there pay and benefits are great, days off are also paid , and the staff is great ! its a safe and a very fun enviorment to work in no doubt its very productive
Pros
paid days off
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for growth
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INMarch 21, 2018
If you would like to grow within management, this is the perfect company for you. It will help you develop many different skills, while providing benefits for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pocatello location is garbage
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pocatello, IDMarch 21, 2018
Owner was a racist Indian who constantly told me to lose weight and change myself so he could sell more rooms. Worst company I've ever worked for. They replaced me with and I quote "we need white woman."
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk Clerk
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNMarch 21, 2018
Check in and out guest. Make reservation for customers. Take payments upon check in or for reservation. Accommodate guests to the best of my ability. Schedule housekeeping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeper/front desk (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, UTMarch 20, 2018
we cleaned rooms, beds, bathrooms, vacuumed floors, wiped down everything dusted all the furniture. replaced towels, Just made sure the rooms were in prefect condition for the next people who came in. scheduled rooms took care of patrons that were staying in hotel.
Pros
able to work at own pace
Cons
some of the things that were found in the rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Berea, KY 40403March 19, 2018
A decent place to work if you are looking for something temporary. It would be a great job for a college student or a felon. If you are looking for advancement this is not the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 19, 2018
great place to work, consistent customers, most locations are a bit smaller, but you will enjoy working here, and will meet some great individuals. best of luck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours and room location
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDMarch 15, 2018
Worked long hours and being outside made it difficult with having to push carts sometimes they would tip over and its hard to work in the cold . having to run up n down stairs walking feet away to get more linen there limit room on cart for them and to take dirty laundry . but they were good bout the rooms getting done when you can . sometimes hours would be long latest stayed there was till 8 pm. for the Employees that have kids it would be hard to stay such long hours but if you are kid free then it would be no problem . well overall a good place to work if you can afford the hrs.
Pros
hours
Cons
outside rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Business
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNMarch 15, 2018
A typical day at work is about 10 hours. It is a fast paced job and there is always something new to deal with. M6 is trying to re-Brand the name, but it is a tough thing to do with their current clientele.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t do it
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAMarch 14, 2018
At the location in Vancouver, Wa the same three girls work there and have been for years all they do, talk mess about each other behind their backs, even then manager. She is very rude and lazy never around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed getting to meet new people
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 14, 2018
a typical day here consist of me getting my cart prepared for cleaning rooms and i learned that motels are a great way to earn good money management was ok but needs improvement. the hardest part was the management. and i enjoyed going to work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality of management
Night Auditor / Guest Service Rep. (Former Employee) –  5501 Tinker Diagonal & 5801 Tinker DyagonalMarch 13, 2018
Hired for 1 day per week then went to full-time employment and told I would be working around 37 hours per week, Actual hours of work was 21 to 28 hours per week on average. I was forced to leave job since that was not what I was told and that's not enough hours to pay my bills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ms. Jackson Review a Motel 6 Bessemer
EVC Tech (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALMarch 13, 2018
It was a friendly place to work, I got plenty of experience in the process of cleaning the rooms, such as moping floors, vacuuming all carpeted areas, dusting furniture fixtures, wash and disinfect al washroom floors.
Pros
could work extra hours
Cons
production
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WIMarch 12, 2018
To much gossip and not enough work make sure you keep to yourself at all times and never let anyone get to you be on time of course and you will meet grump elders just give them what they ask for if you can .
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, but extremely rude coworkers and staff
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Menifee, CaliforniaMarch 8, 2018
The manager was very nice at first, and understood that i was homeless at the time she employed me. I had asked her for a day off 4 days in advance to be able to get a room at a homeless shelter. She said i could get the day off and then when the day came, i went to the shelter and applied for rooms, and i went into work the next day and manager was very upset because she said she needed me that day. Which by the way the staff was full that day. And ahe rudely asked me if i wanted to work there or not. So i told her i resign because i refused to work with such rude management and people who were not compassionate or understanding of my situation.
Pros
Pay rate
Cons
Rude manager, rude co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my Motel 6 in Rockport
Housekeeping/Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Rockport, TXMarch 7, 2018
Miss my motel6 family and the return guests who stayed with us...love the coast...worjed at 2 other oroperties ad well
Was head housekeeper back up front dedk and since i lived on site i became kver night maint
Pros
My team worked great together
Cons
Long hours low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Room Attendent (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMarch 6, 2018
Its nice rooms clean real nice. Housekeeping was really nice and friendly all employees greeted us. Fast and easy to get on to the free way n wifi is great
Pros
Hpurs
Cons
Breakroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-tasking,positive work field that everyone would love to attend.
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 4, 2018
Productive and comfortable work environment to join.Positive staff members that is always striving to make our work environment excell and keep our customers satisfied.
Pros
Travel discounts
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight