Mountain Area Health Education Center Employee Reviews

2.8
Overall rating
Based on 11 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
40
32
20
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 11 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
RN (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCMarch 9, 2018
MAHEC is an amazing organization! Quality compassionate patient care provided by an engaged and innovative healthcare team! We all love the jobs we do and the care we provide. We work together great as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and collaborative workplace
Ob/Gyn Undergraduate Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCDecember 26, 2017
One of the best places I have ever worked. I was able to work during whatever hours I wanted as long as I met at least 30 hours per week. I learned so much and improved so much as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for new grads/people who can't "hit the ground running"
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Biltmore, NCNovember 4, 2017
I am a recent grad and after 5 days on the clinical floor I was told I needed to improve by 100% in a few days. I was never given the help to do so and sought it out myself. Despite this management simply decided that I would not be working there anymore no matter what I said about how I had worked to improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse than any other company I worked before
Manager (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCSeptember 27, 2017
I agree with the other coments in here. The COO is racist and classist. I personally interacted with her several times and she was always cold and calculating. When the doctors are around her she changes her attitude. I would definitely go back once she's gone.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Management, Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend working here. Poor pay and over-worked
Manager (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCAugust 7, 2017
MAHEC is a friendly yet very narcissistic and classicist place to work. They only care about the doctors and overwork the employees. Their HR Director is very competitive and professional but she works under the COO's supervision who doesn't listen to anyone and doesn't believe in employee's growth. She will rather hire someone from outside than promote a hard-working employee.
The president is a genuine human-being, though.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Poor pay, over-work, growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, outdated management practices
Web/Database Programmer (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCJanuary 1, 2017
Colleagues are very professional and friendly. Unfortunately management follows outdated management practices. No advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Program Assistant II/Audiovisual Team Member (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCNovember 24, 2014
The culture at MAHEC is amazing. They offer free Education programs as long as you work for MAHEC. Management is fair and always open to suggestions. Co-workers are friendly and supportive.
Pros
free healthcare
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend it!
CMA (Former Employee) –  AshevilleSeptember 12, 2014
Management is unfair and unjust - worst money I ever made as a nurse!
Pros
Fun to work with new MDs
Cons
Management - values
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy the work environment
Senior. Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCOctober 2, 2013
Poor company morale, great benefits, poor compensation. Did not enjoy working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Coder/Auditor (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJuly 12, 2013
Enjoyed my time there. Management was pleasant and helpful. Co-workers were always cheerful.

Hardest part of the job was physician audits.

Most enjoyable part was being around excited expectants moms.
Pros
Working hours. My own office.
Cons
Demands of multiple tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 12Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mountain Area Health Education Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Mountain Area Health Education Center Reviews by Location