MSB Consulting Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely Horrible
IT Department (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 17, 2018
This place started out awesome. They offer a lot of cool benefits and paid time off. This will get you bought in to “their way”. Once you start to be really good at your job, that’s where the problems begin.
There are so many contradictions within their guiding principles that they teach as law here. They want you to innovate but not if it costs money or improves a process that an executive implemented. They expect you communicate clearly and without spin but it better exactly what they want to hear or you will have big problems. These are just a few examples of how the Executive team members do not operate within the guiding principles here.
Be weary of current employees writing positive reviews that all have the same date. It sounds like their M.O. to pressure current employees to leave good reviews to try and counterbalance the amount of bad reviews they have.
In a nutshell the Executives are bullies that will lie not only to your face but to their clients. Steer clear from here if you think for yourself and don’t blindly do what you’re told.
Pros
Benefits, paid time off and casual setting
Cons
Horrible Executive leadership, you must be over the top religious but also worship the Ceo.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 16, 2018
This company does a great job of teaching leadership skills and really investing in their employees. The culture of MSB is wonderful to be a part of and they are constantly working on making it even better for their employees.
The benefits are awesome and there is a ton of paid time-off offered!
Pros
Great benefits, lots of free food, happy hours, amazing culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and positive work place
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 16, 2018
Loved working here! Positive and motivating workplace, that encouraged innovation and collaboration. Great opportunities to advance and move upward in the company. Very customer service oriented. If you love to smile this is the place you will love to work. Great opportunities for young and experienced employees.
Pros
lots of perks and benefits such as extra time off and travel
Cons
if you don't like having fun at work, this is not the place for you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lesson learned from a truely horrible place!
Jack of All Trades (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 9, 2018
I truly thought I would have a future here. Started out great, but once you speak up they will do anything and everything to make excuses to get rid of you. Job titles change weekly here, so don’t get too comfortable, no warning given either. They just decide to change your job title and say “it’s done.” They hire people and will have lay offs like crazy! They hire for culture and don’t care if you have the knowledge or skill for the job because they pretty much can teach a monkey how to do the job. I worked with some really great people but in the end it’s whatever the owner wants he gets! They will even make up lies in the end to try to manipulate you and make you feel like you mishandled accounts or did something wrong when you really didn’t all while telling you that your a good employee, team player and being told you will always have a job because of “who you are”.
Pros
Free good, benefits and time off are awesome
Cons
Turnover like crazy! Executive leadership is horrible!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job at best due to lack of real management
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 8, 2018
The purpose behind this company is one of greatness, compassion and giving. After being behind the scenes for almost 2 years I discovered they are anything but that. The only possible way to receive promotions or increases in pay is to sweet talk your way into it. It doesn't matter how good you are or how hard you work, if you are not constantly doting on the owner or executive team, you are not going any higher up in the company. The expectations are unclear, managers rarely make meetings because "you are not important right now", the changes and turnover is ridiculous. The constantly changing positions keeps the office in turmoil. The moral compass on the leaders in this organization is completely disappointing. The point behind this company is follow guiding principles, unless you are on the leadership or management team. They use those against you to only falsely follow them themselves. The mentors are truly the culture coaches, whom they do not actually listen to or give enough credit to. Luckily they do have an amazing staff to back the managers up, or everything would fall apart.
Pros
Benefits, food, time off
Cons
Terrible management, clicks in upper managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sounds too good to be true - it is
Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  TexasApril 30, 2017
Typical and text book example of mismanaged growth. I would not be surprised to see them tank in the next 2-3 years unless a major over haul happens.

Ignore the job description, they will ask anything and everything outside of it.

If you don't have a family, this is a great job for you. You are asked to go to Austin all the time (remote workers can be 9-10 hours away) to sit around for dinners and chat. You will be asked all the time to travel at the drop of a hat, for no apparent reason, even after you have surpassed the travel amounts you were promised.

The culture seems great, but only applies when management wants it to, and it definitely does not apply to management. They spend more time on culture than actually managing the companies growth.

There is no HR department, so good luck trying to get any help with management that's out of control.

There is one manager here in particular that has massive ego and on a power trip. I witnessed her calling employees stupid and yelling on phone calls. This manager is owner's right hand and owner will tell you how valuable this employee is --- so you can judge companies real values based on that.

The actual job itself is great, but you aren't allowed to do it. Run away and run away fast from this company.
Pros
lots of free lunches and good benefits
Cons
awful, horrible, horrendous management
Was this review helpful?Yes 122NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it sounds too good to be true...
Worker Bee (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 26, 2017
This company sounds great from the outside and you will get sucked in to the good pay, benefits, and the way they portray their culture. However, in reality, the culture only applies to the employees and not management...and only when it suits the owners needs. He has a couple of groupies who are his next in command and they will throw you under the bus to stay in his good graces.

Company does not value knowledge or intelligence, they just want you to do what you are told without question and you will skate by. They will tell you often that they value how you fit with the cultish guiding principles and not how well you do your job.
Pros
Pay, benefits, job duties
Cons
Culture, work/life balance, opportunity for advancement, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 65NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interview process is ridiculous
Consulting (Former Employee) –  RemoteFebruary 21, 2017
The interview process was very unorthodox and not once what the actual job duties explained. I had three interviews with this company. The third interview was in Austin when the position was posted for Dallas. So I drove all the way to Austin from dallas to meet for 15 minutes. Complete waste of time. So much run around. In addition the interview questions were more about my personal life and character than about my ability to perform in the work place. Needless to say I was not chosen for the position which was fine. The individuals I met were very nice but this process is completely unreasonable for an unemployed person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 76NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 1, 2017
The executives run the company so that is frustrating because there are only three of them for over 70 employees. They are growing faster than they can handle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 81No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They provide great benefits and fun activities but you are judged on how bubbly you are and not your work ethic
Employee (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 25, 2016
I thought this was the job of my dreams, loved what i did and love the majority of the people. However if you are quieter than others or have any social anxiety, you will not move up in the company. My districts loved me and i was the only one on my team that knew what they were doing. i put everything i had into the job and it got to the point that my manager pretty much made me quit because I stood up and said i needed help from others on the team that were not working. If you can deal with people not wanting you to advance before them, its a great place for you. if you truly want to be valued for who you are as a person, bubbly or not, and want your hard work to be valued and appreciated, best advice is to look somewhere else.
Pros
fun activities
Cons
back-stabbing leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 89No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MSB Consulting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.8
Based on 11 reviews
52
40
30
21
18

Ratings by category

1.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.0Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.6

2.6Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

4.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

MSB Consulting Reviews by Location