MSC Industrial Supply Co. Employee Reviews

Found 164 reviews matching the search See all 166 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid avoid avoid
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 3, 2018
The manager is controlling. No training involved in the position position. Very high stress due to the manager and her need to micromanage.Save yourself the time and apply somewhere else .
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Davidson, NCOctober 15, 2018
It is great culture fit. Is is very great company to for work. It is always room for growth with company. My co workers are great work with they take care of the employees.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYOctober 7, 2018
And this position I was introduced AS400, McAfee Endpoint Protection and keyfobs. Aside from those two things the I asked the department was well structured and moderately effective
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging
Onsite Inside Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKOctober 2, 2018
MSC proved to be challenging in some positive and not so positive ways. Most days were typically routine, yet filed with surprises, and the work could range from challenging to very enjoyable, depending on the circumstance. Folks are pushed hard, and in the end the satisfaction came from the when the customer was taken care of.
Pros
Meet people at customer sites
Cons
Not much direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Wood Dale, ILSeptember 25, 2018
Management is excellent here. The sales quotas can be kind of hard to reach at times. But they seem to be making changes to make things easier here. Nothing but good things to say about the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
small packer (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INSeptember 19, 2018
Enjoyed working at msc. Made alot of new friends there. Everyone was very helpful and worked as a team. The management kept everyone on the same page with weekly meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance. Lack of support. Inadequate pay based on performance.
Key Account Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 9, 2018
Company provided car. Benefits are sufficient. Flexibiliy in schedule. local management is strong, but seems to be a disconnect between local support and corporate upper management. Lack of supporting resources/skilled resources. No work life balance. Do not work here if you want a 40 hour a week job. Average week is 50-60 hours in order to accomplish tasks. Too many "check the box" activities that take away from proactive selling.
Pros
company provided car. 401K w/ company match. stock purchase plan
Cons
work life balance, supporting resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Packer, verifier (Former Employee) –  Jonestown, PAAugust 30, 2018
Productive workplace with a lot of hard working employees. Supervisors are very nice and considerate of your safety and well being. But breaks are short.
Pros
No uniforms
Cons
short breaks. not enough walk time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management. non existant HR
VMI Specialist (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCAugust 20, 2018
horrible management. never knew anything. Upper Management only cared about themselves and their paychecks, if you had problems they seemed to not care at all.
HR was unreachable no matter what day of the week. any problems i had with benifits i had to call a millions times and leave messages, or emails and was lucky if i ever even got a response
Pros
work hours werent bad
Cons
HR. Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Fun enviornment
Merchandise Selector (Former Employee) –  Fernley, NVAugust 16, 2018
The job was fast and repetitive but the other associates made it fun. I enjoyed working there for the time being but it did take them forever to hire me.
Pros
free popsicles, gatorade, cold water, Ocassionally free soft served ice cream, Treats at meetings
Cons
short minimal breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing Company to work for
Senior Telesales Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAAugust 5, 2018
MSC stopped being innovative a long time ago and now has become an industry follower of the competition. Too many changes across board, leaving both the customer and associates left to figure it out.
Pros
Free parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard with little gratification
National Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 3, 2018
You had to work very hard and received very little recognition. Solid company, but minimal motivation. New secondary headquarters located in Davidson, NC. Majority of new hires for office positions are now out of the Davidson office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very cut-throat there people would stab you in the back for looking at them crooked
Merchandise selector (Former Employee) –  Lickdale, PAAugust 2, 2018
MSC had good pay but management and supervisors were terrible... And they showed extreme favoritism and partiality towards a select few Associates... Okay I'll tell you more it sucked working there... Over a two month period Before I quit and went to Ace, MSC lost 18 Associates to other warehouses
Pros
Good pay, voluntary overtime, and no weekends
Cons
Managers and supervisors were severely lacking in people skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company downsizing
Credit/Collections/ A/R (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJuly 25, 2018
MSC going thru culture changes. Relocating some out of state.located in Southfield . Some departments have flex time. They also have dress down days. Some departments also have a quarterly bonus.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
Diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
cycle counter (Former Employee) –  Mableton, GAJuly 24, 2018
Great company to work for. Starting pay was low but had great benefits. Have great paid vacations. Regret not still working there.
The building is kept very clean.
Pros
Free cook outs, benifits, coworkers
Cons
Hard to advance in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 13, 2018
The management is horrible. They hire their friends and move off them have any type of leadership skills. The associates are the most amazing people. They make the job bearable.
Pros
Associates
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progress made and Awesome place to work
Can't Say (Current Employee) –  Davidson, NCJune 29, 2018
I believe those who are generally negative will see the faults and not the benefits of the company. Its a family owned company who values their associates. The make strides to provide professional development, they have updated old systems, there are incentives, activities, committees. We are quite spoiled. Yes there are bonuses and great benefits. It would definitely depend on your department and manager. We make it what it is...the company has our best interest at hand! Cafe is a perk...they have awesome food for super super cheap prices, great staff too! Yes, free Starbucks and Seattle's Best and Tazo teas on every floor. Giveaways every week for concerts and sports events!
Pros
Management, growing, Cafe, Team Spirit
Cons
Traffic on 77
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like stress, being micro-managed at every step, with hardly any advancement opportunity then this is the company for you.
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYJune 19, 2018
If you want to work for a company that treats you like a pressure-cooker, with little to no room for advancement, then this is definitely your place. So many politics in the company, but yet they gloat about their positive culture............NEGATIVE!

And if you also like to be constantly micro-managed, this is also your place to work.

They are all hype, only care about Senior Management and not the associates in they way they claim to report!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MSC has really nice people working at the Southfield, MI location
Never worked before (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJune 14, 2018
I don't work at MSC, I have interview there twice for two different positions. The first position I applied for was a call center customer service I didn't work for that position. So they recommended me for another position that I interviewed for I didn't get that with either. But still I would recommend people work there. They seem to be all about their Associates the suppliers and the customers. And that seems to matter a lot to them. So if I ever get the chance to work there I will definitely take it. I'm going to keep trying!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run from this company
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 6, 2018
This company lack clear direction, They only want you to sell metalworking supplies, They say they want MRO business but do not know how to get it. If you like micro management and working in CRM ( saleforce) then you will be right at home here. Paper work is more important than sales results. Do not expect a raise and the commission is poor.
Pros
the pay check will not bounce
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MSC Industrial Supply Co.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 166 reviews
542
450
330
217
127

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture