MSNBC.com Employee Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Based on 17 reviews
Ratings breakdown
510
43
34
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 17 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Editor/Writer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2018
Interesting work, interesting people, interesting topics, great location. Great commute. Great stories to tell friends and family members. Learned good skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of fun and fased paced. We "changed" the world
Senior Operational Specialist (Former Employee) –  Microsoft RedmondNovember 27, 2017
What you did was impacting on the entire world by one click! Very exiting stuff to say the least.

However, I am open to new challenges. I have a lot to offer to the rest of the world, by impacting and interacting with people in my realm.
I am a very positive person and have managed so far to find silver linings in every situation.. My motto's are "mind over matter", "if the problems are not bigger, I will take them head on", and "the silver ligning is.....".
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced news environment
Freelance Director (Current Employee) –  New York StateNovember 25, 2017
If you like rocking and rolling with breaking news, working in the heart of NYC, in a storied location...then this is the place to be! NBC News is the gold standard when it comes to news production.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
no parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team workplace with opportunities to expand job functions and creative input
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2017
Good team workplace with opportunities to expand job functions and creative input. I was able to utilize all my experience to build a job that allowed me to participate in ways that far exceeded my job title.

My colleagues were very creative and supportive. The work was challenging and rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great producers
News Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 27, 2017
I got to work with some great people which made work fun and very enjoyable. My managers treated me wonderful and created perfect environment for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oppurtunity
Stand-In, Runner (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 2, 2017
MSNBC is an exceptional employer. I would not trade them for anything. It is much harder to step in without knowing anyone, but once someone is in, then if you are good at what you do, they will make sure they take care of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
Summer Researcher (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 15, 2017
I loved my co-workers and being apart of such a great show was rewarding. The work was intense and solid. Sometimes the perspectives of the people there were very much in a bubble of privileged lifestyles.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Sometimes out of touch perspectives on life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for and interesting job
PR Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2017
While I have only been at MSNBC for a little over a month, I have been very happy with my current internship. The team I work for is very friendly and helpful. I have enjoyed learning more about PR in a news setting and feel I have learned a lot. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to continue working for NBC Universal, and to explore a different public relations job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place to be if you like fast-paced news.
Production Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2015
The company's chairman is currently pushing for a lot of changes, and with that there's always good and bad. The company is shifting towards more hard news coverage, and distancing itself from its liberal commentary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Technical Production Manager (Current Employee) –  30 Rockefeller centerFebruary 25, 2015
Great place to work at, not much complaints. It get hectic at times but in the end it all comes together. There is a system that works and it all makes sense.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with little room for advancement
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 20, 2014
The management and producers expect their assignments to be done with little regard for what you want to learn.

It's hard to develop skills for the next level of experience and higher positions because of the work load.

Supervisors don't always look out for you and you often have to develop skills on your own time with little help from experienced staff.
Pros
exciting news envirinment
Cons
no lunch breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bunch of people to work for and great food at the caf'e
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Secaucus, NJAugust 12, 2014
typical day would be to see that the building was in good condition, and that everybody's work area was up to the standards.
Pros
able to work at my own pace
Cons
the pay rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Chyron Graphics Op. (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2014
I love working for NBC, but I was promised a different schedule and ended up on the midnight to 8am shift. I need a day time job and am secretly looking.
Pros
great work atmosphere
Cons
Have to join a union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy going place to intern
SDE Intern (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WADecember 20, 2012
Had a great experience. A lot of exposure to different technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
freelance aquisition (Former Employee) –  Secaucus, NJJuly 16, 2012
freelance tv work. check in feeds for live-to-air programming.
Pros
good people with talent
Cons
hired only as freelance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work...ever!
Producer/Writer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 6, 2012
I learned how to write, produce, be a team player at MSNBC. MSNBC was an excellent place for me to grow professionally and develop my own style. I was given many opportunities hone my skills. The experience was truly wonderful.
Pros
awesome co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MSNBC.com. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

4.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight