Multnomah County, OR Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 122 reviews
Ratings breakdown
555
438
316
29
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 121 reviews matching the search See all 122 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Your Fellow Citizen
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 30, 2018
This department has a wide mission to support a diverse population. There are many opportunities for work around the department (and within the County). You can be proud of the work you do here.
Pros
Bus Pass, Flex Schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multnomah County offered a lot of growth
Domestic Violence Response Advocate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 7, 2018
This is a great place to work. A lot room for advancement and great benefits. Many positions are union. The culture is very diverse and there are a lot of opportunities for diversity trainings. The pay is good.
Pros
Discounts, flexibility, Union jobs, good pay
Cons
It’s such a large entity, it’s easy to get lost or confused as to who does what
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oa2
Office Assistant 2 (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 6, 2018
Great job and good people. They have great benefits.The only thing I would change would be the On call Positions being able to receive after being with County for over a year working 40 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 30, 2018
A typical day as a intern, was me converting paper documents to PDF files or trying to file paperwork. There was nothing boring about this internship, you got to learn how to utilize the county database to help build inmate profiles. I also screened incoming and outgoing mail for any suspicious activity. The hardest part about this particular internship was that the offenders and victims were individual involved in certain crimes that were hard to fathom. When you read these offenders profiles and what they did to their victims, it is heart wrenching. The most enjoyable part was knowing that I was making a difference in someone's life.
Pros
gained experience, learned how to PDF files
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Multnomah County Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 14, 2018
Great work environment. Loved the opportunity. Would definitely recommend if you’re a prospect or if you’re looking to work here. Everyone is extremely friendly and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Education Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 6, 2018
good benefits too but since I have to write more the job is pretty laid back and offers some room for growth. The pace is not too fast or stressful either.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government job-can be great or very difficult
Community Health Worker (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 31, 2018
There are lots of incredible people who work for the county. There is lots of red tape but I appreciated the focus on education for employees and the patients/clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good if you eant to work on team building skills
Library Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 24, 2018
I was just a volunteer but my time spent there was really nice and relaxed, which was pretty good for me considering I was still in middle school part of the time I volunteered there.
Pros
It's only once a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multnomah County School Based Health
LPN School Based Health Care (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 1, 2018
What a fantastic opportunity for under served families to receive quality healthcare in their communities. This program works very hard to ensure kids get the best possible care while remaining in their schools and neighborhood.
Pros
Great co workers, benefits and salary
Cons
staffing challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are pretty good
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 29, 2018
This organization is extremely resistant to military and veterans due to their culture. They announce that they support them but only if the employee is willing to change everything about themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Multnomah County, OR?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work place
Tax Processor (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 26, 2018
Relaxed work place. It was good place as a temp I really enjoyed my job. Managers are great and are always willing to make sure you have a great work/life balance.
Pros
Relaxed work place
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mid Level Managers
Senior Database & Report Administrator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 22, 2018
The culture and people there was great. It only got bad when upper management decided they could survive with less skilled personnel.

Mid level managers worked hard too keep things moving and balanced for staff as well as providing superior services to the people of Multnomah County.
Pros
Good Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Story Time at the WorkPlace!
Intern (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 9, 2018
A typical day for me is friendly and cooperative. Everyone works together and we talk to each other about our lives. My co-workers give amazing places to visit in Portland, and I can't believe I never knew about them!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opportunities to learns various duties
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 29, 2018
Life changing experience. Great opportunity to expand your network and learn quality service for your own community . Good litigation experience that looks good on a resume. This gets two stars because the experience has been useful in subsequent interviews.
Pros
A wide variety speciality sections.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Parole and Probation Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 26, 2018
This is for the DCJ specifically. I learned so much from this internship! Realistically though, interns are working as entry level employees for free. They should be paying their interns. That said, the training was excellent and it totally changed my career path for the better. My mentor still writes letters of recommendation for me and offers career advice on a regular basis.
Pros
Valuable mentor ship, licensing opportunities
Cons
Non paid internship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forget living your life
Victim Advocate (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 22, 2018
Management at this place is atrocious. This is not the place that will be supportive of your needs outside of work. They will work you to the bone and not care how that affects you, your co-workers, or your loved ones. Non-transparent workplace with major management ego issues. No collaboration or conversations about how the work could be more efficient or supportive.
Pros
Looks good on a resume
Cons
You are disposable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Regional Director-MENTOR Oregon (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 14, 2018
Great place to work lots of strong management and staff. I learened a lot and worked with great people . I would recommend to anuone in the area andvery rewarding
Pros
everything
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork oriented and compassionate employers
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 9, 2018
A typical day can be busy but rewarding.
I learned peds vaccinations, better rooming techniques and phlebotomy.
Management a little disorganized.
Multicultural and homeless patients.
Hardest part keeping the flow up.
Most enjoyable are the patients
Pros
PCP's cared immmensely
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Call position
On Call Medical Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 25, 2018
Lots of driving so you better know where you are going!
Fun and stressful at times. Nice people to work with and rapport with others was pretty easy to achieve.
Pros
Variety
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to be
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 24, 2018
You do good work for the community. You won't become a millionaire, but they definitely take care of you with very good benefits and strong job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport