Murphy USA Employee Reviews

Found 977 reviews matching the search See all 980 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hampton, GAFebruary 13, 2019
My manager was nice and my co-workers were friendly the training was fast track and paid. I was up for promotion shortly after I got hired. The work was easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Pelham, ALFebruary 10, 2019
It was a great place to work and had room for advancement but it was very hard to balance work and home life. The managers were great but someone always called out
Pros
Room for advancing
Cons
Short breaks, unreliable people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Manager (Current Employee) –  TexasFebruary 10, 2019
It’s a lot of hours. Managers are required 50 hours per week on salary. You can earn bonuses/commissions monthly. They also offer sales incentives.
Pros
Let you run your store
Cons
No real breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARFebruary 7, 2019
I liked it because you saw new and sometimes the same people everyday. It can be very stressful at times especially when you are in a rush of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Vinita, OKFebruary 5, 2019
You work any hours, People call in and late with no consequences, no breaks of any kind. no training period, not allowed to protect yourself in a dangerous situation.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No breaks and no loyalty to the employee from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!!
Corporate Office (Former Employee) –  ArkansasFebruary 4, 2019
This company appears to be a nice place to work on the surface but once your on the inside you will see all the stress and unhappiness. Working here will drain your soul of creativity and happiness, unless you like working like a robot. I worked here for 10 years but I would rather drive a garbage truck for a living. The turnover at the corporate level is horrendous for several years now due to poor leadership at the top.
Pros
Decent pay and benefits
Cons
Poor leadership, no family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No set schedules
Assistant Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Haslet, TXFebruary 1, 2019
I enjoyed working with the other employees and management. The main downfalls were the hours which you had to be there and the fact there was no set schedules.
Pros
People and learning experience
Cons
hours and schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete waste of time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Slidell laFebruary 1, 2019
This job is a complete waste of time.
No break
Low pay
Poor management
Stressful
Favoritisms
Pressured to upsell
No benefits
Easy job
Customer are rude
Can’t call in or your job is on the line
No sick day pay
Would not recommend this is the worst company
I ever worked for .
Pros
Easy jobs
Cons
Complete waste of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johnsburg, ILJanuary 31, 2019
The Manager and Assistant manager constantly talked behind each others back, trying to get the other Fired, when they both deserve to be fired for there actions, stealing, writing store items off when they should pay for them, I don't understand how a Large Company like Murphy hangs onto people like that, so many Cashiers had Quit due to the problems and lack of Management duties.
Pros
Awesome customers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reason for Leaving
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJanuary 28, 2019
My initial manager was the best but transferred and my second manager was extremely difficult to work for and not flexible at all when I took another full time job and was willing to stay part time.
Pros
None
Cons
No lunch break, poor weather conditions, stockroom unmanageable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOJanuary 28, 2019
Work life and home life balance it's completely out of whack, managers are pretty much on call 24/7. You're required to work 50 hours a minimum a week, there have been numerous occasions where I have worked 5 a.m. to 11 p.m. without a break. DM's do not care about management
Pros
Vacation time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Murphy's Great workplace!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Isabel, TXJanuary 28, 2019
Loved working at Murphy's. Great work environment. Great promotion opportunities. Within 1 month that I was hired. I was promoted to Assistant Manager & given a raise.
Pros
Career advancment, promotion, flexible schedule
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Avon Park, FLJanuary 24, 2019
The way that the business is run is very poor. The hours are very inconsistent and you are never guaranteed the hours that you ask for. They also don't offer breaks at all during the work day.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
No breaks, no raises, inconsistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Heber Springs, ARJanuary 23, 2019
I was given a better pay rate here than at other, similar jobs. I also received omission when I was an Asst. Mgr. Corporate and managers are good at motivating employees and making them feel valued. I was also given stock options.
Pros
stock options, commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly working environment
Sales Clerk and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXJanuary 22, 2019
Great company to work for. Always worked with my schedule and fair with hours. Pays well. Friendly working environment. Loved getting to see and meet new people everyday.
Pros
Worked with my schedule
Cons
Not enough hours available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Cashier/Stockier/cleaning (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 21, 2019
I can have some really nice customer and than not so nice ones. there can be so drive offs and that it hard for the cashier. We work need to time between customer to eat, go to the bathroom, clean the store and stock it.
Cons
no break, no health care, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss working here
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Arcadia, FLJanuary 21, 2019
Got along with my coworkers. Busy at times and helpful when everyone came together to work as one team. Miss working there and talking to my manager about new ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
SENIOR REAL ESTATE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  El Dorado, ARJanuary 20, 2019
The work is challenging, the tools you need to be successful are provided, management (CEO on down) is available and open. Communication is very good - expectations are known and success is rewarded
Cons
Working in El Dorado, AR - unless you like small rural towns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Breaux Bridge, LAJanuary 18, 2019
Murphy USA is a good job, the hours are flexible, the pay is good. The service was always fast paced and steady. The work was light, cleaning the bathrooms and stocking the products
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, you only got a 30 minute break and werent allowed to sit at all unless you were off the clock or in the bathroom.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 17, 2019
Low pay, no discounts for employees, management made sure that you knew that they don't trust you. Fast paced environment, you only got a 30 minute break and werent allowed to sit at all unless you were off the clock or in the bathroom.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
No breaks, no benefits, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Murphy USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 980 reviews
5315
4234
3205
2105
1121

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight