Musicians Institute Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Adjunct Adobe Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAFebruary 28, 2018
As a sub instructor I only had limited time there. If I lived closer to Hollywood I'd like have pursued working full time for the school in some capacity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 23, 2018
Worked as a tutor for college students. Helped with several subjects such as music theory and harmony, ear training, vocal performance, and keyboard. Loved it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about their teachers.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CANovember 18, 2017
Title. I worked there for 10 years. Was great at my job. Always excellent performance reviews, but never got a raise. If you're a teacher there, you are expendable. If you want a raise, they would rather just get rid of you and hire someone for less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK for a first time management gig
N/A (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAOctober 23, 2017
Great people work there. The students are fun and very talented.
Communication is poor and there is a lot of back stabbing, but I enjoyed my three years there minus the rotating management.
Pros
insurance
Cons
constantly changing managers and rules, very difficult to follow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study program
Receptionist to Financial Aid Office (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAJune 26, 2017
My job as the office assistant in the financial aid office at the musician's institute, helped me develop an array of skills from answering phone calls, helping students obtain their financial aid, and organizing student files. Being the first person students see when they walk into the financial aid office gave me a varied skill set in problem-solving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits for Staffs
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAJune 2, 2017
Great benefits for staffs. located in Hollywood. really good to make good connections with music industries. Covers insurance and able to take classes for free.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Place
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, CAMarch 12, 2017
I really like working here. I love being around all the creativity and the students are great. The coworkers and very nice and it has a very laid back and welcoming vibe.
Pros
Being around music and health benefits.
Cons
Low pay for a high priced area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 30, 2017
great place to work for musicians looking to make money while not touring or gigging. classes are held during the day, so can still schedule sessions and gigs after work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun school
Independent Artist Certification (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CADecember 22, 2016
I went to school here for songwriting, and singing. We got to work one on one with some successful people in the industry, and got to work on really good, expensive equipment.
Pros
One on one with some of my favorite musicians
Cons
Cost
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAFebruary 11, 2016
Super Relaxed, Just do your work and help the students and you're set for the rest of your assignment there.

Working here is very easy and probably the only job of it's kind, not only that but your boss is super legit!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lighting Director / Lead Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, CANovember 1, 2015
Great place to work and learn new technology in the center of Hollywood, fun learning from all the teachers always room to learn more.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Parking in Hollywood
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 28, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed my time at The Musician's Institute. My immediate co-workers were wonderful and management was also a pleasure. The most enjoyable part of the job was playing music with students that you could tell they were putting in the time. Those moments were great.
Pros
Playing music everyday
Cons
Low compensation and little to no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, great school and wonderful talented people to work for and with
Campus team representative (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAJuly 8, 2015
I was a student worker at Musicians Institute and I loved everything about the job, I loved my school, the teachers and faculty i was working for and with, taking part in school activities, such as seminars and concerts was great, working at open houses and telling new students about my favorite school was amazing, our manager was the greatest nicest lady, she was always trying to give us more hours if we were requesting them-no complaints there!
Pros
great place full of pure talent-a joy to work for
Cons
would be nice to be getting paid more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Hands on work environment
Audio Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, CAMarch 26, 2015
1hr. or 2hr. classes lectures and labs. 8hr. days.

Teaching Audio Engineering is an ever evolving process. The tools are in a constant state of evolution, so there is always something new to learn.

Present management is very likable, respectful and efficient.

Great co-workers, very caring and knowledgeable.

The hardest part is the commute.

The most enjoyable part is the camaraderie of my co-workers, and engaging with the students. Still fun after all these years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Studio Technician, Staff Audio Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, CAOctober 17, 2014
Learning new things ever day, able to work with the most advanced audio systems, equipment, and work along side of some of the best engineers in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate co-workers.
Teacher's Aid/ Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 1, 2014
A work environment filled with people as passionate about music as you are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Applications Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, CAApril 3, 2014
Typical day for me is running daily reports, calling students to ask if their FAFSA is complete and entering data into our system. I also answer the phone and pull faxes from our fax system.
Best part about working here is my co-workers in my department, they are great. Otherwise it's a free-for all among the departments and I did not enjoy working with any others besides my own and one other.
Pros
benefits, great co-workers
Cons
long commute, no paid parking, worried about being laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff and students
Player Supply Manager and Purchasing Manager, I (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, Ca.February 6, 2014
Not very conscious of employee rewards and advancement. Very multi task oriented. Little training but fast paced.
Pros
Campus, students, faculty, staff.
Cons
Advancement, Salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, poor management
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAMarch 19, 2013
Overall a decent place to work, but management needs to be changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a hard days work
Assistant Manager at Guitar Center (Current Employee) –  Sherman Oaks, CAJune 21, 2012
It's difficult to balance being a team leader, manager and selling however I've been doing it for over a year now and still remain in the top 5 salesman each month.
Pros
great gear
Cons
nights, weekends and holidays you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Musicians Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 22 reviews
58
48
34
22
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

1.8Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Musicians Institute Reviews by Location