National City Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 546 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5199
4209
3100
213
125
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 542 reviews matching the search See all 546 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Currency Vault Teller (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 15, 2018
A lot of heavy lifting of blocked currency. Some sitting however you have to be able to stand, lift, and bend throughout the workday. Have to be on top of your job as you are dealing with a lot of money.
Pros
Work day moves fast
Cons
Very physical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bank - bought by PNC in '09
Sr Mortgage Consultant (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILMay 14, 2018
Great management, good solid customer base, nice perks for good production, was integrally involved in helping grow presence in Chicagoland. Good commmunication with underwriters and processors.. made lending easier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Branch
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee) –  Chagrin Falls, OHMay 12, 2018
The branched I worked at was very busy with a drive through window and two teller stations and two ATM's. Unfortunately there were only 2 of us tellers and we had to do it without managements assistance.
Cons
Streesful Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as PNCBank
Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brecksville, OHMay 10, 2018
National City Bank is the same company as PNC Bank except National City Bank's management style was very micro managed. The benefits and work atmosphere seemed to have gotten a lot better once PNC Bank took over.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
very micromanaged, they track you by the minute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work & Great Management
Credit Analyst - Commercial Loans (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 1, 2018
This was a great place to work, with a lot of training and opportunities to learn. You could be your own boss, and work independently. great interaction with lenders and management.
Unfortunately, PNC took over National City in 2008.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Informative
Supervisor/Mortgagor Officer now a part of PNC (Former Employee) –  Miamisburg, OHApril 30, 2018
Daily meetings, Mortgage, Professionals act as they must not as they feel, building confidence, training and assisting employees reach their professional goals.
Pros
One of the top ten servicers
Cons
Employee Engagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Review
Vault Teller (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 28, 2018
Great company with a great goal in mind! All upper level staff were very knowledgeable, friendly, and supportive. This was a great work environment which allowed you to increase your paycheck everyday through direct sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 27, 2018
It was a great place to learn about banking and to learn professionalism and how to deal with tough management and irate customers. I appreciate the knowledge obtain in this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National City Mortage
Image Processor 1 (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 23, 2018
A typical day would be to be rotated from task to task. I learned how to scan documents into their system base. Management was great, the workplace was diverse. There were no hard parts about the job I enjoyed learning new task each day.
Pros
Learning new things each day
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind of stressful
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 16, 2018
I enjoyed most the balancing of the tills. Did not like being pushed into forcing customers to open more accounts and Mangement watching to make sure you were calling each customer by name.
Pros
enjoy working with money
Cons
pushing for more customer accounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about National City?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cook and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 15, 2018
It was a fun place to work. I always did something different, whether it was working in the cafeteria or the coffee cart. Each day was something new, so I didn't get bored or feel like I was doing repetitive work.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Small raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job while in school
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 6, 2018
I was in school when I had this job. They were very flexible with my hours. They understood that I can only come certain hours and days and they were okay with that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 26, 2018
Although my experience was quite different than most. I thought it was my stepping stone to doing something different other than retail. Although I was unsuccessful with meeting branch goals I wouldn't change not one thing about it
Pros
Experience
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with a relaxed environment
Closing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAMarch 21, 2018
A typical work day consisted of contacting customers who have been approved for refinancing and scheduling their closing and signing of
documents.

I learned what goes into refinancing your home and how the process plays out.
Pros
Close proximity to home
Cons
Company shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center atmosphere where we could throw a football or play cards
Sales Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Franklin, PAMarch 14, 2018
We had such a relaxed work environment. A third party company came into the company and helped them understand what it is that makes productive employees. After that, we all became happier people.
Pros
Fun at work
Cons
No room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work there
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 12, 2018
National City was my first bank job, it taught me a lot, leaning about money management, deposit, the way of live to save money, it was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Production Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDMarch 9, 2018
This was a great place to work. Office environment was great. Loved the salary and benefits. Great opportunity for advancement. Management supportive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National City Review
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wauseon, OHMarch 6, 2018
This was a short but meaningful experience for me. I was provided many experiences that helped advance my skills towards being an administrative assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage banking
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Lutherville, MDMarch 4, 2018
This company and management was pretty relaxed as a whole. The position was for a mortgage lender/sales position selling refinanci ng for peoples homes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stupid
Account Executive Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 27, 2018
blah to the next next next winter summmer fall autumn this is stupid this is stupid making me do this is completely stupid stupid is as stupid does i guess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport