National Tire and Battery / NTB Employee Reviews

2.9
Overall rating
Based on 70 reviews
Ratings breakdown
513
411
318
29
119
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 70 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard, Fulfilling work
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJuly 28, 2018
Typical day was long. Most shops are outside, and in Texas that means its HOT. when i worked there, they worked on commission with a $6.00 per hour compensation for lube techs and more for service techs depending on certification level. The more jobs you did, or the faster you did them earned you more money (job value was based on book time, I.E. the amount of time on average it should take to perform a certain service)
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away from
General Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2018
It's bad company. For 78 hours salary $560!?!!? Plus overtime and commission!??! It's impossible. And company has want that peoples works good for this money ???
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, not much room for advancement
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Geneva, ILJuly 15, 2018
This company would rather hire from outside the company than promote from within. They never get equipment fixed so we can do our jobs properly. They put off hiring new associates because they would have to pay another employee.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  MarylandJune 17, 2018
No life balance here they make you work long shifts 11 to 12 hours per day. If you dont hit credit applications they make you drive to a store further away as punishment on sunday mornings. They upper managment just dont care.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are fun but company isn't good
Automotive technician (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCJune 10, 2018
At national tide and battery be prepared to be overworked, sometimes without lunch breaks. They want you to rush around to try to get productivity. If you're a gs mechanic you're expected to rush around from car to car.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get your foot in the door
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 5, 2018
They hire anyone that can pass drug test and background check. Unreal amount of turnover at all levels. Get your 3-6 months experience and then go to a real automotive company if it’s the industry you want to be in.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Store Manager - Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMay 6, 2018
Good place to work overall. I live 35 minutes from the store I worked at and could not commute anymore. If the pay was higher or the store was closer I would not of left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better than the unemployment line
Service Manager Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alabaster, ALApril 14, 2018
decent pay, long hours, extremely competitive, upper management questionable intelligence, work environment satisfactory, condition of equipment is average, entirely too much time spent waiting on parts and tires, often not enough employees to cover work load making customer wait times too long.
Pros
decent pay check
Cons
micro management from level above store manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Watertown, WIApril 5, 2018
Got to work on allot of different cars, there were always new things to learn. If you didn't know something there was always someone that would be able to help you out. Plenty of training and school opertunitys.
Pros
Great work enviorment
Cons
Buy your own tools
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job in the automotive industry
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 22, 2018
Great starting job, but the commission based pay and slow seasons can lead to a stressful work environment. Mechanics required 50+ hours a week but only paid for 40
Pros
Secure job
Cons
Long hours, comission pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about National Tire and Battery / NTB?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rough place to be
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Round Lake, ILFebruary 12, 2018
If you work at ntb just make sure to stay away from other techs and record everything you do on a note pad. It will save you from a lot of the questionable happening that go on there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ntb was the best job that i have had so far in my career
Service Writer - Service Manager - Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOFebruary 6, 2018
Again i would of never left NTB i was planning on retiring from there but they pulled out of the Kansas City market. It was a awesome place for growth that i proved through a short time and was upset that i was no longer employed with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama filled work place
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Red Wing, MNJanuary 29, 2018
Work was limited, Constant drama around the shop, Pay was bad and no leverage to even work your way up to get a raise, really bad hours, shop was a run down place, had really bad equipment
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHDecember 8, 2017
It’s a good place to start if you’re looking into starting a career in the automotive industry, not a good place to stay long term, just based on my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Bellbrook, OHDecember 5, 2017
The products that were offered to customers were great. I did not agree with upper management. They were very focused on themselves and the numbers they needed to produce. Recognition is non existent. The only managers I liked did not get what they deserved in my opinion. I was also talked to about promotions multiple times and it never happened. I found better work elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 14, 2017
No room for advancement and management at my particular location was indicted for embezzlement. Manager walked out one day tossing keys on the front counter leaving me alone in the store until I was able to contact district office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost their way
Customer Service Adviser (Current Employee) –  MANovember 9, 2017
This company once used to be good with their employees but sadly they have lost caring about the crew. They used to promote from within and now they just hire anyone off the street and dont do formal training anymore. They dont truly care about the costumers or doing right by them either,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAOctober 25, 2017
Ntb is a good place to start in the automotive industry. While I was there the pay was commission based so you literally had to work your Butt off. The business was there so I made pretty Decent money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
General Service Technician (Current Employee) –  West VirginiaOctober 18, 2017
Yoyr always busy and on your feet if there is tickets hanging you get up and get the car to work on it the oil changes area slice of cake the 4 tires suck
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Not being paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jobs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lees Summit, MOOctober 18, 2017
Pay is good. Boss wants good at all. If you wanna chill with a bunch of men all days it’s the job for you. Good benifits. Good learning experience for all to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport