Natural Resources Defense Council Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 13 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
44
32
21
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 13 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCJune 12, 2018
Management and advancement opportunities needs to improve. No way for younger staff to develop and advance past their roles.
Some management staff have no training for successful management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always changing.
Front Desk Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2018
The general atmosphere in the office depended on what was going on at the time. It also depended on government policies and how they were going to affect the environment.
Pros
Company paid retreats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2017
This is a great place to work with amazing dedicated people. I learned a great deal about non-profits and how administration plays a large roll into dictating which causes get the most attention. There was a great deal of passion in this company and its employees. I would recommend that someone who has a positive view of making a difference in the world is the best fit for this type of company. They are very dedicated in their mission. I enjoyed every person who works here and the corporate values they employ.
Pros
good community culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and generous place to work
Benefits Manager (Temporary) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 1, 2016
Although I am a temporary employee, I am privy to the ins and outs of the benefits offered to the permanent employees. NRDC has a very rich and generous benefits package. The work environment is very relaxed and the employees super personable. Overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Heavy/Limited Growth Potential
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 21, 2016
Top Heavy/Limited Growth Potential. Challenging and sometimes un-collegial work environment, particularly for non-program staff. Can be great depending on individual manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where you find your life long friends
Assistant to the President (Former Employee) –  Garrison,NYAugust 24, 2015
Wonderful place to go to everyday, and who knew where that would be from one week to the next as OB took us to many of the wild places in america and we learned so much about the natural environment and how to balance our lives with it. and of course, we learned so much about each other.
Pros
Learning to navigate in the natural world
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Energy Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 20, 2015
Hardworking people come here with a passion for the environment. The office is very productive and understands that part of productivity is taking care of your employees.
Pros
Free coffee/tea
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a place to start your career in the environmental movement
Development Operations Grants Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 8, 2015
The organization is a great place to start your nonprofit experience in the environmental movement. The organizational culture is in need of restructuring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Human Resources Analyst (Current Employee) –  NEWYORKFebruary 1, 2015
It is a very great place to work . There may not be too much room for growth because of the model they have in place. The work culture is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2015
By far, one of the most outstanding non-profits to be a part of. The ethos is welcoming, inviting and inspirational. I learned a great deal from the President and co-workers about the importance of educating society and bring awareness to the fragility of our planet. I love working for a company that treasures the well-being of their employees and encourages their professional growth wholeheartedly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work especially if you care about the envoironment
--- (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 15, 2014
Great place to work with a nice atmosphere and wonderful people who believe in the work they do preserving our natural world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Legal Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 4, 2013
Hard job to gain. Everyone there loved working there and all were very socially conscious.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Natural Resources Defense Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Natural Resources Defense Council Reviews by Location