Naugatuck Valley Community College Employee Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Based on 28 reviews
Ratings breakdown
517
49
32
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 28 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Vide and CoWorkers
Brand Ambassador, President's Circle (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTApril 9, 2018
There are lots of moving parts and great people moving them. Motivation starts with the individual, but there are allot of people willing to help. The students were of all ages and cultures which was a mayor plus as well.
Pros
Great Networking Opportunities
Cons
Volatile Career Opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization, teaching a great experience
Accounting Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMarch 2, 2018
Class size was always manageable, course materials were clearly understood and focused to student needs. Given plenty of latitude to create lectures and course direction. Always liked to make a difference in moving students education forward.
Hardest part of job was shifting objectives of changing management.
Pros
Organizational independence, job satisfaction
Cons
Changes in additional job requirements, must speak Spanish
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTFebruary 20, 2018
This job is excelent especially if you are in school being a full time student. I typically do simple tasks around the office but when my boss asks us to do a work load its usually a lot but not often. It is easy to knock out and not stressful at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The freedom to teach!
Second Language Instructor (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTFebruary 18, 2018
Working at Naugatuck Valley has been a breath of fresh air. I love to teach and this is what I'm allowed to do. An extra plus is the working evironment!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CAPSS office worker (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTDecember 14, 2017
I worked as like a secretary and we helped many students and had a surplus amount of information about almost everything through the campus that I would provide anyone whom it may had concerned.
Pros
Close to school.
Cons
Supervisors were usually rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School, Great Staff
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTNovember 8, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed working there while attending college. It was fun to interact with all of the other students as well as professors. Management cared about the student assistants. Great people!
Pros
Great people
Cons
Wish I could have worked more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student worker
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTOctober 16, 2017
I worked here during my three years as a student here and the job was fast paced but fun. It was great because it revolved around my school schedule, as this was a job for students.
Pros
Ability to work while going to college, worked around my school schedule
Cons
Paid only minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
IT Technician Educational Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTSeptember 29, 2017
Love this school, love the staff, faculty and students. One of the best places I've ever worked! Everyone is so supportive and encouraging. There is a very positive atmosphere in this school. Everyone loves what they do and what they do is help students succeed. It's is a huge family and we all work together to make NVCC an amazing place to work and enroll as a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Program to prepare students for college.
Educational Assistant - Gear Up Program (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJuly 25, 2017
It a great program that is dedicated to the academic success of the students and educating them on career development that leads to graduation and attending college.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work Environment and Delivers the Unexpected
Professor of Art History (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJune 13, 2017
Classes are designed to meet the needs of the students. The unpredictability of each teaching day makes it exciting and challenging,

My ability to handle class management issues is essential to working in a community college environment,

Management of faculty and staff by the academic supervisor is highly disorganized and communication is poor. Faculty are not valued nor respected. Job security is low.
Pros
Teaching art history to all kinds of students
Cons
Job insecurity and disrespect from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Student Teacher (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTApril 26, 2017
• Used the Reggio Emilia approach in the classrooms with young children.
• Learned the basic knowledge of Early Childhood Education & the skills required to make objective observations of young children in the classroom setting while observing and recording children's behavior
• Understand how a child's sensorimotor development influences a child's ability to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place. friendly
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTApril 17, 2017
Help students with what they need, walk around the library make sure everything is how its suppose to be, read important information, use the computer, put books where hey belong, help students in the computers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really great place to teach
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTApril 7, 2017
The faculty and administration collaborate to make the learning environment an enjoyable and well-rounded experience for the students. There are lots of opportunities and support for instructors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMarch 21, 2017
Flexible with school schedule
Kind atmosphere
Caring individuals
Very productive
Hands on supervisors
understanding supervisors
Everyone is very helpful
Encourages success
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJanuary 9, 2017
I learned to create posters, ads and data entry. I prepared Bulletin Boards throughout the campus. I helped translate to students for Life Learning information and other questions about classes and credits.
Pros
slow paced
Cons
long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Student Worker in the Library (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMarch 22, 2016
People are friend and understanding that you are a student. comfortable and safe place to work. The management is very sensible
Pros
Flexible
Cons
NOt many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job experience
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTSeptember 5, 2015
My experience at nauguatuck as a math tutor was amazing. I enjoyed working there. the only reason i left was because I transferred to University of Connecticut. otherwise I love teaching and student were very satisfied with my teaching.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and you can learn how you can manage money.
work study (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 7, 2015
A typical day at work is to working with different companies payments. I learned how to make cover sheet, filing, make copies, make phone calls to their clients, sourcing mails and many other works. The office is a quiet one and my co-worker are respectful and responsible. The hardest part of this job is when you need to do new things as checking the different companies statements. The most enjoyable is that they make you feel comfortable working with them.
Pros
They understand when you cannot work because you need to study for any test.
Cons
They do not have any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great if in school
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 4, 2015
most willing to work with your life. MGMT is super understanding and makes you feel at home while still being a leader and getting goals done in timely mannor.
Pros
flexible
Cons
cant work over
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great while in school
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTDecember 9, 2014
• Customer service
• Help initiate and implement student activities
• Organizing numerous student organizations
• Newsletter design, and fliers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report