Navistar, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 557 reviews matching the search See all 612 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Journeyman Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHAugust 8, 2018
Good company to work for but layoffs are pretty common. Pay is good and hours are decent. Supervisors are nice and friendly. Fast paced but fairly easy work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Advancement
NATIONAL ACCOUNTS PRICING MANAGER, PARTS (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILAugust 7, 2018
Navistar does a great job of providing motivated employees with a chance to advance their career. I was given the opportunity to participate in meaningful leadership meetings to position myself for success. \i was also given the autonomy to make decisions and foster my own successes to support my efforts to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Distribution associate (Former Employee) –  Fairview, ORAugust 3, 2018
The PDC I worked at was closed because of poor choices by the CEO of the company that had cascading effects throughout Navistar. It was a great place to work though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work didn't pay off.
Shipping Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodridge, ILAugust 3, 2018
To be clear, I was a contractor at Navistar. I worked 10 hours a day, and took a 5 minute lunch because of the workload. In the end they dumped me (because I think I was working to much overtime). But, then again they let about 10 great, dedicated other workers go. Weird! I hear it took an employee and 1/2 to replace me!
Pros
Nice fellow employees. Nice building.
Cons
Poor management decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Production Technician I (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALAugust 1, 2018
how to build,wire,and assemble diesel engines and how to tear down one the repair of piston and rings and the subassembly of fuel lines and other parts
Pros
the people
Cons
the layoff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navistar builder of Trucks
Six Sigma Master Black Belt (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILJuly 28, 2018
Navistar is a truck manufacturing company with many location's including headquartered in a beautiful location in Lisle Illinois. Very nice amenities at this location.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and pretty good pay
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Springfield, OHJuly 27, 2018
I am currently on short term disability and I am hoping I will be able to return to my job once I am cleared to return to work. It's a fast paced job and you have to be able to do one or more jobs
Pros
Benefits management pay
Cons
Never really know what time you are going to get off day to day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 25, 2018
Fast paced, non climate control, repetitive work. Pays great for the work that you do. Room for advancement in a variety of departments to choose from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Tool and Die Maker (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHJuly 24, 2018
Union shop
good pay. Typical Union shop. A lot of infighting but good pay and benefits.Union shop
Left for another job. Wish I had stuck around longer.
Pros
benefits
Cons
grumpy co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous
Process Improvement Technician (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 19, 2018
Safety was a priority in theory but not in practice. Poor safety example set by top management. Navistar reportable injury average was one person per day reportable injury. Employees were not properly trained in safety for the jobs they performed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Navistar, Inc.?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Embarrassing
Manufacturing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHJuly 19, 2018
This place was a joke. Horrible upper management and very cut throat. Nobody worked together to try to be successful but always pointed fingers at each other. Very bad place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxed place to work
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 19, 2018
A typical day at work was pulling orders and stocking inventory. I learned how to control inventory and match manufacturing part numbers on parts. The workplace culture was very relaxed. The hardest part of the job was there was no air conditioning. The most enjoyable part of the job was being busy at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Sr. Human Resources Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Lisle, ILJuly 17, 2018
Flat org w/ no ops for advancement. stagnant now as company determines go forward strategies and leadership changes. Great place to learn skills for your go forward career.
Pros
Flexible work environment and great people
Cons
No challenges or accomplishment opportunities- just lots of activity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management !!
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Manchester, PAJuly 16, 2018
Don't work there !
You will regret it !
Supervisor doesn't go over everything with you.
Makes you think you got the position, week later find out you don't !
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Navistar was good place to woek
Production Team member (Former Employee) –  Cherokee, ALJuly 15, 2018
The hardest part of the job was working inside the building with great heat and humidity. Some times not enough workers at that location in blast and paint department, which put a lot of Physical stress on the remaining worker. There were plenty of over time,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s challenging & demanding
Painter (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 15, 2018
I have been employed at navistar for almost 11 years, I personally like the the challenges that I face on a daily basis. But at the same time I’m keeping my options open just in case a job presents it’s self & I have a chance & opportunity to make a job change if necessary? But as for now I’m just looking basically for weekend job for now because production does slow down after August. I don’t like filing for unemployment so, I rather have an opportunity to work a second job...
Pros
Off 3 Days a week
Cons
Short break & 30 mins for lunch..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Fill in (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 9, 2018
This was a dirty and very hot place to work. I was able to do almost every job there during the sixteen years I worked at Navistar. Very heavy lifting, pulling, and pushing. We made blocks and head for school busses and trucks.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
The harmful chemicals in the air
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Office Assistant/Analyst (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJuly 3, 2018
Great place to work.
Long commute.
Preferable for suburban residents.
Long commute.
Should update facilities.
Basement floor not usable.
Some facilities were in bad shape.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was a great place to learn more about tge skills of communication and teamwork.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXJune 29, 2018
The plant is close down but it became a place for everyone to get to learn from one another and build long lasting relationships that open doors to new opportunities.
Pros
Free drinks of enery drinks
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Publicly traded company
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILJune 26, 2018
Strict deadlines. Accountants have to work 1 Sat every month. Two Saturdays every 3 months. Corporate segment wants to help or so they say. When you do ask them, they turn their back on you.
Pros
Great campus; 401K match plus age matching
Cons
20% do 80% of the work and 80% do 20%. Trim the right fat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Navistar, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 612 reviews
5160
4210
3150
252
140

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight