NBCUniversal Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
BARTENDER (Current Employee) –  Universal Studios, Hollywood, CAAugust 16, 2018
For me it's fun to go in every day at an amusement park. I enjoy interacting w guests and meeting people from all over the world, most in a good mood.
Pros
perks, high hourly wage
Cons
tough to trade shifts w co-workers, inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what it is
Photographer / Retailer (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAAugust 16, 2018
it was the worst job i ever had, i hated shaving, you have to shave by the way. it was annoying listening to unqualified people. thankful i quit this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty standard for the industry
On set Electrician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2018
the NBC shows in Chicago seem to run pretty standard for the television industry. 12 hour days on set. Nothing much to report or complain about. Show like Chicago Fire are the sets people want to work on set for on due to being better run.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging
Creative Service Intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 14, 2018
I had a great time as a creative services intern at nbc! I learned so much about the new and what it took to work in the industry. I wish the internship lasted longer.
Pros
Laid back staff, hands on, a paid internship, opportunities to work with different departments
Cons
Upper management could be really hard on employee with constructed criticism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good ppl
Call Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 13, 2018
Really good job, incentives and people. Customers are stressful no real support team with high expectations. Information changes at a drop of a dime and your the blame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center representative/supervisor
Supervisor in Call Center (Former Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNAugust 13, 2018
Answer high volume of calls
Resolve credit collection issues
Enter information on spreadsheets
Change cc on file
Work with banks to drop authorizations
Pros
Work in team environment
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intern
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 12, 2018
The company has amazing internship program that offers a wide variety of opportunities depending on your career interest. Management is very supportive. However, there were limited career opportunities at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Broadcaster
Senior Post Production Engineer (Current Employee) –  Universal City, CAAugust 10, 2018
You'll get out of it what you put into it here. Come ready to work hard with the best industry professionals and leave with a good compensation package.
Pros
Fair
Cons
Moody Lifers with no other worldly experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place good perks
Vacation Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 10, 2018
call center vacation specialist planned vacations for guests to the best of our capabilities, including but not limited to theme park tickets, flight and hotel accommodations, dining and shows.
Pros
commission on upgrades
Cons
points system if your sick or late etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 8, 2018
Favoritism and rampant injustice based on who you know. The level of work based knowledge that you possess is irrelevant if you don't know the "right person".
Pros
Free park passes
Cons
Hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about NBCUniversal?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun place to work
Status Lead/ Team member (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 7, 2018
If you enjoy working with the public and meeting new people this is a good place to work, management is a revolving door...also with team members... very cut throat at times as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Busser (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 6, 2018
overall an okay job, the management could be a bit better, the discounts and benefits we pretty awesome, and the free tickets, maybe they should let us sell our tickets that we earned if we really need extra money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Great Place to Learn
Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 6, 2018
Been with NBC Universal for the past five years as a television makeup artist. I am represented by the IATSE local 798 union for professional hair and makeup artists and under that contract.
Pros
Early shift
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youthful Staff full of life!
Audience Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 6, 2018
A real family vibe in the office. Supervisors are really chill. This office allows you to be as creative as you want to be. Actually it is encouraged. Some days can be long working here, but usually always a blast. Compensation can be better, but the benefits are amazing! Great place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty darn hard not to love it.
Several Titles over the years (Former Employee) –  Universal City, CAAugust 6, 2018
At some point in your life you find that company that just works for you. The people, location, benefits, whatever it might be. I hope you get a chance to find your company, I think I found mine, but we will see what the good lord has to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the experience
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 4, 2018
Enjoyed my time. Learned a lot from the company. Management was helpful in introducing me to the many different sale tactics used in the industry. Improved my skill set in sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Ride Operator/ Lead (Current Employee) –  Universal City, CAAugust 4, 2018
Fun place to work. Many employee perks although there are less and less each year, the discounts are still really good. Great Medical insurance, optional life insurance. Employees are pretty great, most of management like to help the employees, Upper management varies.
Pros
discounts, medical/dental/vision insurance
Cons
hours, min wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best studio in L.A. for employees.
Sound Editor (Former Employee) –  Universal City, CAAugust 3, 2018
Universal has a very friendly work environment. All jobs, no matter what level, are treated with respect and offers of advancement. Great company to work for.
Pros
Catered holiday events.
Cons
Layoffs when work slows.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nbc
Risk manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 2, 2018
Company over all was good. Group was horrible. Team morale was poor, and management was even worse. No work life balance, no recognition, it was very much a drama filled atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The More you KNow
EA to CFO/SVP Bus.Ops Tech & EA to VP,EPMO/IRMO (Former Employee) –  Universal City, CAJuly 31, 2018
I was really lucky enough to be a part of this institution. I had talented and sincere seniors to guide me through my journey. Each day proved to be fruitful and the entire experience turned out to be a wonderful one for me.
Pros
Great Boss
Cons
Open floor plan - no privacy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NBCUniversal. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,763 reviews
5758
4572
3306
277
150

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.1

3.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight