NEC Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 216 reviews
Ratings breakdown
573
476
350
29
18
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 118 reviews matching the search See all 216 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and demanding
Field Services Support technician (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 15, 2018
Long hours and stressful work environment, demanding customer 24/7. I have learned to be very organized and detail oriented. I have learned management skills and diplomacy when dealing with a customer. The workplace is more focused on the customer and less on the employee. Hardest part of the job are the long hours and being on call in the evenings and on the weekends. The most enjoyable part of the Job is hearing thank you from helping a customer and leaving my work to spend time with family when I am not on call.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technician III (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 30, 2018
Fun place to work. Had payday meetings every two weeks, we would trade ideas with the other technicians in the area . They really had a great team spirit at NEC.
Pros
Great support team
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning exeprience
QA Lead (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 22, 2018
Working at NEC has taught me a lot and I cherish my experience at NEC. You have to be someone who takes initiatives and is active as compared to waiting for supervision, which gives you autonomy and also teaches you responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract worker Military Base
Technical Specialist Help Desk (N5031) (Former Employee) –  Fort Benning, GAMay 16, 2018
While working at the NEC I was able to build relationships with civilian employees, civilian spouses, and military soldiers and personnel. Able to learn new IT software jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position
Deployment Support Technician II (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 26, 2018
I was not here but 3 months but it seemed like a really nice place to work. My direct management was easy to work with but the Budget was not there which was very odd for a Large company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good experiences
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 16, 2018
Headquartered in Japan, there is often delays in responses to system issues, however the people make the company. The office is business casual, always professional - yet fun.
Pros
Monthly happy hour
Cons
Advancements limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with my team members
Customer Support Lead (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 13, 2018
I enjoy working with my team members , internal and external customers.
I have learned how to Time Management
Dealing with the shift change was the most difficult part of the job.
Pros
Various Food Trucks come for lunch.
Cons
The shifts are not very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and atmosphere
Tech Support (Current Employee) –  Newton, IAMarch 12, 2018
I worked for NEC's technical support call center, and would answer calls and assist customers with their NEC projectors and monitors. The office was very relaxed and all the coworkers were very helpful with any questions I may have had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got laid off unexpectedly
Business Analyst, Senior (Former Employee) –  Worked from HomeJanuary 3, 2018
Got laid off unexpectedly. Lots of pressure to meet deadlines. Sometimes unrealistic expectations. I enjoyed the people I worked with, and was told the lay off was purely for budgetary reasons.
Pros
My boss was excellent
Cons
Lots of pressure, short lead times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYDecember 13, 2017
Decline ...... It is unfortunate that indeed forces candidates to review employers I choose not to. Indeed should make this an optional choice. Sorry!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about NEC?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a blast
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 13, 2017
NEC was a great place to work and I enjoyed the people, the culture and the products I represented. Many good times and memories. I would recomend NEC as a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not trustworthy
Project Manager (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXDecember 12, 2017
Always forced to deliver beyond realistic expectations. Would create realistic estimates then management would cut the time and expect the team to deliver. We were always behind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 21, 2017
Good people with good intentions, But way to much CYA to actually
accomplish anything meaningful. Unable to assist customers with real needs, policy this policy that.Upper management is not
helpful with real world problem. Just a bunch of VP's failing over and over again and getting promoted.
Pros
none
Cons
upper managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very good experience too working with NEC
team member (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 14, 2017
Very good experience in working with NEC. Lot of good people, manager etc are very helpful. Regularly goes outside for team lunches. All managers and leads are very cooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
AVIATION ELECTRONICS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 23, 2017
Enjoyed working with the people. Policies were great. Good pay and benefits. I enjoyed meeting new people and expanding my knowledge. Every day was a challenge and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Solution Architect/Senior Developer/Lead Developer (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 16, 2017
This was my 3rd innings at NEC. Wonderful place to work. Excellent work culture. Cutting edge technology. Multi-culture. Appreciate the work. smooth to sail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging at the same time had fun time being there.
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 12, 2017
I have been working off shores and from a different place and the company allowed me to that and also the Manger and the Department head were too helpful for any kind of help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience with career development opportunities
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 11, 2017
My experience with NEC was overall positive. Great benefits and a positive work environment with typical challenges for any large corporation. NEC provides tuition assistance and offers online learning material from outside vendors to employees at no additional cost (when I worked there).

The workload can get overwhelming and stressful at times, but if you have the drive and initiative to succeed it can also be rewarding. I developed a lot of personal relationships with coworkers and customers during my time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Deployment Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 10, 2017
Good Place. A learning organization with good structures.
Everything from management to workplace culture is good.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the team spirit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 6, 2017
Working for the company is very exciting. We mainly responsible for the Master Data of customers, vendors and materials. We only worked closely with the internal workforce. Great workplace culture.
Pros
working and meeting internal employees
Cons
no free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NEC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight