NEW AVENUES TO INDEPENDENCE, INC Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 18, 2019
nice work enviorment i learned alot working at new avenues it was a good place to achieve meaning great skills while working with that particular population
Pros
free linches
Cons
too much down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff will do well with the right training and support from management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland OhioJanuary 21, 2019
New Avenues is good for people who want to be DSP’s. Very short staffed so plenty of OT available. Health benefits are pretty expensive but they do offer a lot of training.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Bullying and no room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work environment
DSP (Former Employee) –  Euclid, OHOctober 23, 2018
I had a supervisor that was stealing money stealingl the clients food stamps mistreating them no matter what you ran and told the head honcho people nothing happened...
Cons
Sad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great upbeat culture
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 23, 2018
We work in a non profit industry so we are not going to get paid what we deserve to get paid (like many other professions) but we are appreciated by administration and managers and we are loved by our clients we serve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot from the position
Volunteer/Internship (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 16, 2018
i spent two hours, twice a week in matching documents in my hand and look at the computer database to check to see if they matched. i spent my time sitting.
Pros
no stress
Cons
wished it was paying position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fun place to work
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  East Cleveland, OHMay 25, 2018
Staff is friendly and helpful the supervisors are the best everyday there is something new and exciting
The individuals are fun, pleasant to work with and to be around
The environment feels more like a family setting more so than a work setting
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Ashtabula, OHMay 24, 2018
I liked working for this company only because I loved working with the clients there. This company did not pay enough for the work that you are required to perform.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at New Avenues To Independence
Volunteer/Internship (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 7, 2018
The position is a data entry. I would match documents with other documents in the database. The hardest part of the job is sitting for three hours matching documents. The most enjoyable part of the job is that they don't put pressure on you.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
not paid, volunteer position
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organization
Residential Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 28, 2018
Communication and upper management in some departments are not professional. There are some things that do not benefit the staff and supervisor does not mee the expectations of staff or the individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the clients that I care for
Rehabilitation Assistant / Direct Support (Former Employee) –  Euclid, OHJanuary 16, 2018
a day was getting the clients ready for the day. I learned all people are not the same when it come to having a family that cares, sometimes you may be the only family your client may have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 9, 2018
My experience with New Avenues to Independece was great i really enjoyed working there the hours were great the staff was flexible and the clients were excellent
Pros
great room for advancement
Cons
not enough activities planned for clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Primary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 11, 2017
You can have a flexible schedule but you are on call 24 hours a day which can be stressful. It interrupts your daily family life. They downsized because of money matters, not because of the clients needs.
Pros
Benefits, hours.
Cons
Hours, on call 24/7.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Payroll Associate (Current Employee) –  Lake County, OH, Ashtabula Cty and CuyahogaSeptember 20, 2017
It is a nice job, the work is very hectic at certain times of the week.

The CEO is a great person to work for.

They have some employees in management positions that should not be in a management position
Pros
Staff is nice
Cons
There is just one con and I prefer not to mention it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individuals are awesome! Management is awful!
QDDP (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 22, 2017
I loved the individuals that I worked with for almost 6 years! Upper management has no idea what is going on in the homes! No work/home life balance. Feel badly for the individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place!
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 12, 2017
I worked here for 5 years and at first it was smooth sailing but then things went down hill. The people I worked with were very lazy and always taking smoke breaks. The supervisor didn't care either! I wouldn't dare put my family in this place at all. I gave this company 5 long years of my life and I still made 9.60 a hour. Thr only reason I stayed was because of the people I took care of.
Pros
The people you take care of
Cons
Pay, co workers, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Habilitation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, OHAugust 4, 2017
Staff was wonderful, many opportunities to learn new things. The Individuals were the best! Many adventures, laughter and creativity shared between staff and Clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 26, 2017
great place to work. i made new friends and new memories here with lots of people. i had a wonderful summer experience i would do it again if the opportunity if it was given.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Music therapy internship
Music Therapy Intern (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 25, 2017
A typical day at work was working with individual clients with developmental disabilities by implementing music therapy interventions. It was a very valuable experience with great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 10, 2017
I like my job not making enough cash not enough hours I really enjoy working with people I'm very outgoing understanding dependable willing too work .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Euclid ave cleveland ohioFebruary 9, 2017
This is a horrible place to work. The building is dirty. Management is not intune with what goes on in the company. Most of the houses for the clients live in are not in compliance with the state of ohio. Do not apply here.
Pros
Its a paycheck
Cons
Terrible coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NEW AVENUES TO INDEPENDENCE, INC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 33 reviews
511
47
37
24
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

NEW AVENUES TO INDEPENDENCE, INC Reviews by Location