New Designs Charter School Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy environment to work in.
Assistant Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 8, 2017
I really enjoy being here and working with the staff and tutors. The only downside would be the pay rate. I don't have any benefits and no raise every year, but overall the work environment is good.
Pros
Short breaks, based on my schedule
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace making sure computers are always ready to go for students
Assistance IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 11, 2017
A typical day at work was to make sure computers are always good to use for educational purposes. Co workers were very friendly and respectful. The most enjoyable part of the job is relaxing when everything is functional properly
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair Employer
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 30, 2017
Management took no responsibility fr the poor perfomance of the school.

You could be sure to have daily incidents that would not be managed well nor supported by management.

The site only cares about making money and nothing about responsibility or fairness.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Nepotism, bias
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shill school for greedy management company
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 7, 2017
No typical day, they don't have a regular schedule, they don't have materials to provide structure, they don't enforce rules and the kids are running the place

I learned to not accept any teaching job, you can't will yourself to make a difference for people without support, schools actually need some money

Told management my students needed books (we had none) and desks, response was that people don't need to work at the school if they don't like the way they do things

Culture is students fighting, running around campus banging on classroom walls, windows, doors, theft, playing dumb and teachers consistently telling each other to just keep trying to survive

Hardest part of the job was not having an administration capable of building structure because the management company wants attendance to provide as much public funding dollars as possible

Best part of the job was instructor pay comparable to public schools, Kaiser healthcare, 401k

When a teacher says the best part of the job was the pay - either the teacher is in the wrong career or the school is really bad. I have strongly considered the first option, worked at a good but poor pay school and determined it is more likely the school is bad. Sometimes paychecks were late, no support from HR
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy environment, tracking every daily tasks
Tech Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 25, 2016
This is the best working environment, and I am able to perform so many hands-on procedures. It gives me confidence and respect, because I am passionate in my work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 10, 2016
There is a lot of interaction between students, teacher, and tutors. Everyone makes sure that all the students are learning and submitting in their assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a conducive working atmosphere
Assistant Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 18, 2014
Have learnt a lot ever since i joined the school in terms of management, co-workers. The hardest part of the job is dealing with these school kids from different homes
Pros
very determined institution
Cons
lacks workers and thus most jobs are not completed on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Assisted College Advisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 12, 2014
Long, active and productive work place. Exhausting at times but very rewarding. It was great and amazing to be apart of the students journey as the moved ahead in life.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
limited funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I had a wonderful experience.
Social Studies Teacher (Former Employee) –  WattsJune 29, 2013
I met some wonderfully talented people working for New Designs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about New Designs Charter School?

Ask a question
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Designs Charter School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10 reviews
53
43
32
20
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

New Designs Charter School Reviews by Location