New Flyer Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had
Electrical Asembly technician (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NYJune 30, 2018
Was hired 3 months after start up. Enjoy the ppl and management from day one. I wish the gm would be a bit more stricked, only because it's like working with 30 and 40 year old high schoolers. The only other bad thing is that everyone is paid the same even if you do a harder more complex job then putting a wire in a cannon plug connector.
Pros
Easy work good pay
Cons
Dont get paid more for working harder and high school like co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was contracted for audit, had a lot of flexability and support
Independent Auditor (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 28, 2018
was sent to Seattle to do an audit on bus acceptance. the property and new flyer people were very accommodating. support was very good to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly good company to work for
Fitter Welder (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNApril 9, 2018
I found the benefits to be very good. The only down fall was some upper management could be difficult and unfair. This is a union company and the union is aslo good with low dues.
Pros
excellent benefits and very good pay
Cons
Some of the items needed to work would not arrive in a timley mnner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace enviroment
Quality Assurance Inspector (Current Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNMarch 26, 2018
Typical day is being re-active instead of pro-active. Can be long days. work week is usually 6 days. You always have the ability to work overtime, even if you don't want to.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and 75% of people there do nothing!
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Crookston, MNJanuary 19, 2018
I learned that you can ask 10 people a question in so called management, and get no answer or they forget it about, two seconds after, what you ask them. Poor management at best. Cooperation with union workers are lacking too. .I stand to wonder how the goverment can subsidise shut a place.
Pros
Clean lunchroom
Cons
People can collect there little paycheck and listen to the lies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay. Awful place to work
Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYNovember 28, 2017
Most of the departments have had a 50-100% turnover the first year the plant was open.. The pay is good for the area. Benefits are not too bad. Don't get sick.
Pros
Good pay for the area.
Cons
Hostile workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely nice place to work i love it.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Oxford, ALNovember 8, 2017
i love everyone there everyone is nice. i had an amazing time there i wish it wasn’t temporary. new flyer was the best job i ever had. the pay was nice the hours were great the people were fantastic. you can’t beat it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok company
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNNovember 7, 2017
More of a male envoriment if you want to advance. Often if you worked one shift they would tell you at the end of the day that they needed you to work a different shift the next day. They do their layoffs right before the major holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and competitive wages.
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNOctober 4, 2017
New Flyer is one of the top employers in this area. The wages are very competitive, the work is worthwhile, and having a good union at your back can be a big bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and long hours
Quality Auditor (Current Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MN 56301August 29, 2017
Not worth the pay. Work long hours and with little chance advancement. And to get to day shift or other shift. If not in union very not organized about who works where and when.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A general overview.
Assembler 2 (Former Employee) –  Crookston, MNAugust 2, 2017
It depends where you are in the plant. A morning get together with stretching.Then the assessing of employees for the designated jobs. What I learned is that like with any job there is no security; if your health goes bad you are considered a liability and then they orchestrate some sort of means or incident to get rid of you by using their favorite employees to work against you. Management and human resources are not for the employee; but, only for them selves. Each area the current staff came off the floor, or was there when the plant originated in the area. So, there knowledge and people skills area truly needing a whole lot of work. The hardest part of the job, was dealing with all the clicks, and all the favoritism. And the enjoyable part was you were excepted as well as truly liked among your co-workers if you were a hard worker.
Pros
Being looked up to and admired
Cons
The way you were treated
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company good people and management. Willing to teach anything to employers such as skills and trades.
Production Lead (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAJune 15, 2017
Fun place to work for good hours. Free to learn new trades and different positions. Good people from co workers to management. Get to work in plant or out on the field. Work with different buses rangin from los angeles metro to omni trans.
Pros
Hours pay and room to learn different positions
Cons
They work by contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy fun to work
Assembly Technician (Current Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNMay 31, 2017
Management by the time line move for each bus. You how to use a hand tool machine and what side drill hole. The hardest part of the is use hand tool machine every day and very noise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Assembler II (Former Employee) –  Anniston, AL 36207May 10, 2017
Great Place to Work. Only down fall is you don't get enough hours. I really enjoyed the people I work with and they help you the best they can. The work was easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYApril 1, 2017
Awesome and hands on job. clocked in at 8 am and than clocked out at 4:30.. quick and easy work day alot of assembly and moving parts and a wonderful place to advance in the production field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CA 91761July 5, 2016
Management gave a lot of extra assignments to hard working employee to make up for lost time by others.
Pros
None.
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work for
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Crookston, MNOctober 2, 2015
I enjoyed working at this company and seeing the buses out on the roads knowing I had a part in building the product. An excellent location as well. A lot of opportunities for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNAugust 5, 2015
I worked at this mill for seven years and enjoyed it a lot! I quit because I went back to college. The schedule is hard to get used to at first because it is a swing shift but once you do it is ok. The pay is good and you are able to work as much overtime as your heart desires. I would defiantly recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
Great job, good pay, lots of overtime
Cons
dumb schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate and very friendly
Storekeeper (Former Employee) –  141 Bldg JFK AirportJuly 22, 2015
Verified inventory computations, physical counts of stock, Stored items in an orderly and accessible manner in warehouses, tool rooms, supply rooms, or other areas. Examined and inspected stock items for wear or defects, reporting any damage to supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to get started as a job.
Axle Assemby/Install (Former Employee) –  Anniston, ALApril 2, 2015
New Flyer has provided me with the knowledge to perform other duties on and off the job. I enjoyed the opportunity New Flyer has given me to work for them.
Pros
Decent paying job.
Cons
Short breaks, Wrong parts, parts not on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Flyer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 25 reviews
58
47
36
21
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture