New Horizons of the Treasure Coast, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company!!!!!!
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Treasure CoastFebruary 21, 2019
This is a great starter job for someone fresh out of college trying to get into the medical field as a therapist or support staff.
The patients (or as they say "the client")are whom I'll be missing the most. Management does NOT LISTEN. The pay is EXTREMELY LOW even if you have years of experience.
** YOU WILL BE OVER WORKED AND NOT COMPENSATED**
Management has their favorites. The staff all talk about each other then smile in each others faces. RUN FROM THIS PLACE AND NEVER LOOK BACK!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive when you have the right staff on duty
Human Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLJanuary 4, 2019
Its a pretty good place to work for some days. The company doesn't pay well so, the new hires leave once they find out how much they will be making/paying.
Pros
Indoor job
Cons
Poor management/RN/LPN in some of the units.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place is a 5 out of 10
Counselor Asssistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLDecember 12, 2018
They overwork the people and mandate from other units when people call out. They do not give raises and the pay is low. I loved my job and what i did however pay was an issue
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Cooperative Enterprise
Service Engagement Community Transition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Stuart, FLSeptember 12, 2018
New Horizons is an awesome place to work with many different job positions available for all people of education levels. The company is actually continuing to grow and will provide a challenge intellectually with an opportunity for career growth.
Pros
Various career positions
Cons
Pay may not be the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Tech (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLSeptember 2, 2018
You are not safe at new horizons, always short with techs especially at night, clients are admitted at night crazy,violent,and out of there mind and staff is short. You have screeners that accept clients that should not be accepted because of medical problems and the facility does not have the proper equipment to care for these sick clients, bad communication amongst the unit when shift is change you basically have to learn the client your safe and keep yourself safe
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Lowest paid facility in the tri county area
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Rn (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLJune 28, 2018
Horrible place to work you have no support system and don't feel appreciated so it is difficult to stay positive my recommendation is not to work here
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Lack of support from the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for an entry level person seeking varied exposure to a range of mental health scenarios
outpatient counselor and substance abuse counselor (Former Employee) –  Stuart, FLMay 8, 2018
This is a workplace where you will not feel that your efforts are appreciated. People are kept on their payroll because they are breathing despite their mediocrity and lack of skills to do what their job description calls for them to be able to complete.
Pros
As a newbie in the field, the exposure is extensive.
Cons
Lots of expectations and lack of appreciation for efforts expended
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New horizons is a politically toxic environment driven by the senior management team. They keep unqualified managers and get rid of the best.
Peer specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLApril 28, 2018
New horizons may be the largest community behavioral healthcare provider on the treasure coast but the services they provide are subpar. The C-level management team are woefully unqualified and don’t care about the quality of client care or the way they treat employees. They claim to follow evidence-based treatment protocols but they only give lip service to programs like SAMHSA. Trauma informed care programs. Clients are not respected by many of the staff and the staff that do care are overworked or ousted. I would not recommended new horizons to a client or as a reputable employer.
Pros
Clean facility
Cons
Failure to follow basic standards of care for clients and lack of respect for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work 8 hours and kept busy most of the time
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  FloridaMarch 27, 2018
I enjoy working as a nurse/counselor and watching my patients get healed. I also enjoy educating my patients about drug and alcohol addiction, physical and mental wellness. My co-workers are team workers and we give our best medical and psychiatric knowledge and skills to our patients. Our supervisors are also team workers. Not having enough time to spend with each of our patients is the hardest part of the job.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Short Breaks and sometimes no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This work place culture is terrible
Substance Abuse Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLDecember 11, 2017
I have used this job to get my foot in the door when I moved to Florida. The hours were preferable to me. The management has poor skills and pit employee against employee and unit agains unitas a management style. I have worked in the field of social work for 25 years and have never seen this kind of underhanded approach to what should be a virtuous endeavor. In the guise of recovery this program uses recidisism to continue to operate with little focus on recovery. For example unlicenced, unqualified and inexperienced people teach recovery. I cannot use my manager as a reference . because she gives a bad review to keep good employee.
Pros
The hours fit my personal needs
Cons
Underhanded operation, understaffed and poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No employee Appreciation
Recovery Screening Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLOctober 24, 2017
Low pay, no raises are given only a bonus after 5ys, which I believe is maybe 1-200. No employee appreciation.

Benefits are for employee are good but very expensive for family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good expierence working at New Horizons
In Jail Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLSeptember 21, 2017
The work environment at New Horizons was very good, The Jail program in jail was a good experience. The managers were understanding , and they pushed you to exceed.
Pros
Caring Administrators
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very enjoyable work experience
RECOVERY SUPPORT TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLAugust 10, 2017
Not very many employees like their job at New Horizons. Employees are not compensated fairly, and we are given very little resources to do our jobs appropriately.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Behavioral Health Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLMay 10, 2017
Techs make 9.00$ hourly, Management is unprofessional. Rules are discretionary based on the person. Techs are treated as residents and nurses are treated like techs.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The clients are fun
Psychosocial Rehabilitation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLFebruary 3, 2017
Micromanaging at its finest. Different rules for different people. Lack of communication. Unsupportive environment.
Pros
clients
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Horizons of the Treasure Coast, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.9
Based on 16 reviews
50
41
34
24
17

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
2.0Compensation/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
1.6Management
1.9Culture

New Horizons of the Treasure Coast, Inc. Reviews by Location