New Mexico Junior College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational work environment
Totur (Current Employee) –  New MexicoApril 29, 2018
Very friendly and easy going environment.
Students benefits very much.
The workers are very nice and welcoming.
Very helpful, and easy going with the workers and students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Department Secretary (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMJanuary 31, 2018
Management is easy to talk to and shows concern if there is a problem. Was in the process of learning new software when I left due to husband being transferred. Enjoyed working around and meeting new students.
Pros
1 week off for spring break and 2 weeks off for Christmas
Cons
Not much advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Check In Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMSeptember 7, 2017
My typical work day was easy and simple. I learned good communication skills. The management was nice and laid back. The hardest part of the job was having to sit in one place for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a joke
Testing Monitor (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMAugust 29, 2017
Only work here if you "know people" because that's the only thing that matters and the only way you will get out alive. You will be treated like a dog and you will be told to like it.
Pros
none
Cons
pay, hours, treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work study
Gym Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMAugust 26, 2017
It's a work-study Job it helps you get money while you were doing homework and also working at the same time. And if you need time off they will give it to you.
Pros
Homework and work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town college with small town views
Webmaster (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMAugust 14, 2017
While NMJC is a great place for local kids to get an education, the career progression for most folks is fairly stagnant. People just don't leave their jobs.
Pros
Great time off
Cons
Stagnant careers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had. Best place to work.
Warehouse/fleet maintenance (Current Employee) –  Hobbs NMJuly 9, 2017
Right now I am warehouse fleet maintenance. I maintain the motor pool of apx. 50 vehicles and assign out to staff and faculty.
A typical day well there isn't a typical day. You can never plan your day as you never know what may change from helping fellow employees to having a vehicle break down and I have to repair.
I was previously Shipping and Receving Clerk and learned computer skills. Very good in excel and word.
NMJC is like a family, whenever there is a need we come together and help out wherever needed.
First job I ever had that I look forward to coming to work everyday. I love what I do and the people I work with and for.
Pros
Benefits, vacation, sick leave
Cons
Pay is low but when you look at the benefits that makes up for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for growth
Document Center Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMMay 21, 2017
My time at the new mexico junior college was an enriching time for me as I worked while studying. There was a great balance between work and studying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workstudy
Work study for HR (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMFebruary 7, 2017
This job as a work study allowed me to be a beginner in the workforce while still saving time to study and do homework. I learned great office skills in this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Adjunct Professor of Transitional Studies (Current Employee) –  Hobbs, NMDecember 26, 2016
I have loved working at New Mexico Junior College. While there is autonomy when teaching nights and summers, there is also support found with the administration. The classes range from small to large, but all provide challenges and enjoyment.
Pros
Smaller Classes, Great Support
Cons
Seperated from all other teachers at the Junior College
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, understanding management
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMOctober 25, 2016
Very flexible and understanding of my needs, with homework and health. Friendly pot lucks, fun holiday spirit, and great location for lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Assistant Coach & SID (Current Employee) –  Hobbs, NMAugust 11, 2016
I love working at New Mexico Junior College so far. The atmosphere is great. Our students work hard and my coworkers are helpful and caring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMJune 27, 2016
co workers were great
hardest part was when customers had fraud on accounts
enjoyable part was balancing all drawers
I learned how to do wire transfers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Department Secretary in Student Support Services (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMMay 21, 2016
NMJC is one of the best places to work. Co-workers are all amazing and the students are great! I would recommend anyone who wants to work at NMJC or attend classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMJC Review
work study (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMOctober 12, 2015
An excellent company to work for when both attending the school and working. The employers left with much confidence to their work study students to complete their tasks as so given.
Pros
free time to complete studies
Cons
not much hours given
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to call home
Ford ASSET Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMApril 25, 2015
Very friendly place to work. Family environment. excellent pay and benefits. The President is very personable and truly cares for the people who work there. I had all I need to do my job both in equipment and support. Wonderful support staff.
Pros
Fun place to work, Treated like family
Cons
very political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stressful place to work. Fun job
Caster Activity Assoicate (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMFebruary 6, 2015
Over saw the weight room. Keep it clean and straight. Management was great. Co workers were easy to get along with. Hardest part of the job was keeping the weight room clean. Best thing about my job was hangng out with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to develpoe leadership skills
Tutor/ mentor (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMJuly 22, 2014
I would just help Juniors and Seniors in the town of Eunice with their homework and gave them a few suggestions when studying for the ACT.
Pros
It was Flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Director of Document Services (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMFebruary 22, 2014
A typical day was anything but typical, the environment was positive, the working conditions were superior, the staff was professional and their product was superior. It was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for first job
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMJune 13, 2013
I learned a lot from my supervisors. It was a great place to work and a great team to be apart of.
Pros
Great Supervisors
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Mexico Junior College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 21 reviews
514
45
31
20
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.3Culture

New Mexico Junior College Reviews by Location