New Seasons Market Employee Reviews for Grocery Associate

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 160 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent treatment of employees
Grocery Lead (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 10, 2019
-affordable, comprehensive benefits
-focus on work-life balance
-fun work environment
-opportunities for growth
-opportunities for training in other departments
Pros
free food
Cons
low level pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 13, 2018
Management plays favorites all of the time. One person o.j. Th gee grocery team has been protected for years. Multiple claims of racosm, homophobic remarks , bullying and theft. Yet the Management have dinner nothing with any of the complaints made to HR and management.
This environment is toxic and not worth the effort
Pros
Decent pay and benefits
Cons
Management, discrimination. Very few opportunities for people of color
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun place to work
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 9, 2017
When I was there it was a great place to work, but I could see the company culture changing and it is not for the best. Unfortunately I don't know exactly where the future is for the company, but when I was there it was enjoyable and management seemed to care about everyone. Blue slips are the best perk
Pros
great discount, paid time off
Cons
very strict attendance policy, free food (blue slips)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intentions, growing pains
Grocery Lead (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 1, 2017
NSM wants only the best for its employees and customers, and company policies reflect that. They value diversity and a positive work environment. On the other hand, the investor owners are doggedly set on growing the company as large as possible, as fast as possible, presumably with the aim of selling it off, and that necessarily results in some blind spots and cut corners in management, training, and communication.
Pros
Decent benefits, good discount, positive work environment
Cons
Not great training or advancement, chain management bumbling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lake Oswego, ORJuly 4, 2017
Great company with a compassionate culture. The benefits are great. I love working with such a diverse culture and meeting new interesting people. I love New Seasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocker
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 6, 2017
was temp job for few weeks for Oregon state program to show my job skill so did stocking cleaning duties and helping customers so worked morning shift and did facing and stocking freezers and breaking down boxes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Good Company
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 20, 2016
I work with some of the best people in Portland at New Season Market. They are fun, hard working, and friendly. Also the benefits of health insurance, blue slips, and a twenty percent discount on groceries are wonderful perks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great community, great place.
Grocery (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 10, 2015
The happiest store in town!
I never wanted to leave, I felt like I was going to work with a gang of friends and we were all in it together.
Pros
Friends, food, proximity to my home
Cons
low pay, penny raises, weird hours for first few years, lack of upward mobility, inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work in a nice place
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Arbor Lodge Portland, ORJune 23, 2015
The job of a Grocery Clerk is a tough one at this store. We are very busy and the location is small. A fair portion of our stock is kept on the second floor, which means a lot of running up and down stairs. I see it as being paid to work out. It can be frustrating trying to keep things organized and keep the work flowing, but the people are great. New Seasons is good about giving people cross-training if the so desire and there are no shortages of opportunities to move around or even up. For a career minded person who doesn't mind responsibility and pays attention to detail, it can be a very rewarding company to work for.
Pros
Blue Slip program, Lend-a-hand, flexible schedule, benefits
Cons
The high volume can burn you out if you let it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job experiencing
Seasonal Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 11, 2014
It was only Volunteering work, I had to put away frozen foods and learn to put them in order
Pros
no breaks
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 29Report

See more New Seasons Market reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New Seasons Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 160 reviews
555
443
336
215
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

New Seasons Market Reviews by Location