New York City Department of Citywide Administrative Services

New York City Department of Citywide Administrative Services Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Mostly Slow Paced
Mechanical Intern (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 27, 2018
Interned under operating engineers, which just involved watching and maintaining Boilers, Cooling Towers, Large AC units, and pumps.Typical day involved making rounds at the beginning of the shift, moving materials or cleaning, then a last set of rounds to end. Experiences WILL differ.
Pros
Commutable
Cons
Grunt work, if you don't have work ethic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, low pay
Exam Proctor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 26, 2018
Underpaid for the amount of work and time spent. Management is great and appreciates hard work. I often enjoy helping others on their way to success. Good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefit
Traffic Enforcement Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 14, 2018
I like this job but due to my family problem I could not continue this job. I i get this job again then I will continue. It is very good for health and also it has lot of benefit here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service
Pneumatic (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 2, 2017
Typical Civil Service Cronyism and mentality. Upper management is not interested in doing what is in the best interests of all concerned. Conscience is in the gutter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing.
Building Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 16, 2017
I fell IN LOVE with the work environment. Amazing staff, beautiful view of the city from the top floors. I loved every second I worked ad an intern...
Pros
Great workspace, amazing workers
Cons
Elevators can take a while
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working a city job
Exam Proctor (Current Employee) –  1 Lafayette streetJuly 15, 2017
The people I have worked with have very nice and professional, Its all about doing your job and going home at the end of the day, It can get boring sometimes with a lot of standing and watching but a job is a job.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
A Lot of standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invaluable experience
Legal assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 1, 2017
It was an invaluable experience. Management was very willing to help me learn and grow in daily tasks such as archiving, ffiling memo writing and researching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2017
Typical day involves clerical and customer service duties. Management and co-workers are very supportive and understanding to your schedule. Learned about customer service and other citywide regulations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Mortgage Checks Data Entry Clerk for Financial (Former Employee) –  New,YorkMay 7, 2015
The people there helped me gain credit for my internship and to secure a position working there while in high school. Great experience, learned about the city and building requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant environment
Exam Monitor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2014
- Typical day Always a little different than the previous testing areas and always a chance to learn more and become better at the job.

- Learned more about people and new and better ways to do the job.
- Management is knowledgeable and always willing to help.
- Co- workers are pleasant and knowledgeable for the most part.
- Hardest part of the job is make sure all documents are in order and papers are filled out properly.
- Most enjoyable part of the job is when the applicants understand what I am trying to show them and then watch them do it.
Pros
It's only a part time job
Cons
very low pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Environment to expand job skills.
Test Proctor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2014
I have worked there for years and enjoy helping others as a Test Proctor.
Cons
Only Periodically.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoor Adventure
MAINTENANCE WORKER (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 12, 2014
I only worked here short time but it was rewarding. i got to know my city better.
Pros
met new and interestingpeople on a daily basis
Cons
Sometimes the load was heavy but I adapted
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Maintanence worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
This job taught me skills in maintance and how to maintain a clean enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean sufficient
Custodian Assistant (intern) (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 12, 2014
Working for the Department of citywide administration was a great experience. The management was professional , Honest and fair with the assignments.
Pros
close to the transportration
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Specialist
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2013
Office culture at its highest. You aren't a slouch if you have worked here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my cup of tea
College Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2013
Alot of administrative work. With no promise of growth. Way too many files to handle and the people weren't that great to work with. This was an internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2013
A typical day would involve me preparing documentation to be sent out to various city agencies to help them function while making sure my co-workers had the documents they needed. What I learned from this internship was how to get a lot of work done in a little amount of time. The co-workers I had were supportive, informative and had great communication skills. There were no hard parts to this job, I adapted to it very well. The most enjoyable part was getting my first taste of real world working experience before heading off to college.
Pros
Real word working experence
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fast pace and joyful place to work!
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2013
My day at worked consisted of me entering all information on applications into there data system. I've learned how to work fast and efficient. I worked with a team who consistently reached our weekly goals. The hardest part of my job was accepting the fact that it was only temporary. I really enjoyed working at DCAS because i learned the importance of team work. My supervisors were encouraging, supportive and informative which made working there a great experience.
Pros
great enviornment
Cons
temporary employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
talking to ur co-workers everyone is a teamplayer
Monitor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 9, 2013
very busy/helping the candidates from step one until the end of the process/have patence/alright/teamplayers we help out one another/nothing was hard about this job/meeting different people everyday.
Cons
had normal breaks/normal lunch hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Office Assistant/Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2012
Again I had the opportunity to work with the public and to help people,Staff and co-workers were wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Department of Citywide Administrative Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 27 reviews
512
410
34
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture

New York City Department of Citywide Administrative Services Reviews by Location