New York City Department of Environmental Protection

New York City Department of Environmental Protection Employee Reviews

Showing all 97 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, happy to work with good education people
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 21, 2018
Start will tool box meeting,
Remand people for the jobs the must be done for that day.
Check periodically how they are working
Resolve any problem raised from employees
Help if necessary
Finish the paper works

It is very important for to create a good team , respect and help each other, in order to move forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Statistician II (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2018
You will be exposed to a lot thing that will help you to be better at your work. The can do better in terms of salary. I believe other NYC government agencies pays their employees more than what NYCDEP.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Maintenance Facilitator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 9, 2018
My experience working for the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) were very appreciative and a wonderful learning environment. DEP offers my different opportunities to excel your career if you seek out the opportunity and follow the guidance offered by the excellent human resources. I was very involved in many different aspects of the management teams early on in my career. I participated in many workshops to meet and have discussion with a variety of other governmental bodies. This was a very rewarding experience through my career at DEP. The diverse work atmosphere of be part of the decision team and the challenge of having open discussions with the management team for funding and other budgetary items especially additional staffing to expand the work environment.
Pros
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Government is rewarding and frustrating
Geospatial Data Scientist - BWSO Bluebelt Unit (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2018
City government work is a mix of rewarding and frustrating. Ultimately, you're working for something that is really important and can benefit the lives of millions of people, but red tape, terrible management, resistance to change can squelch even the most optimistic do-gooder. This might sound grim, but there's also much change on the horizon in NYC. Due to long hiring freezes during the recession, over 50% of the workforce is nearing retirement and the current Mayor is very pro technology and progress. If you can stick it out a few years, there's a lot of opportunity for advancement and change.
Pros
Opportunity
Cons
Red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits good
Apprentice Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 24, 2018
Good place to work,good pay great benefits, medical vision pension,etc,gotta work in all weather,extreme heat,extreme cold,rain storms, this job is not for EVERYONE
Pros
Benefits good
Cons
Working in all weather's
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
GIS Analyst/Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 9, 2018
The New York City Environmental Protection is a job that is very productive. The people are professionsal and the work that is completed is driven by the mission statement of the agency.
Pros
benefits, free lunch
Cons
expensive vending machines
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaches good work ethic to newbies!!
HEAVY DUTY LABORER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 7, 2018
Overall a good place to work with the usual this and that at a tipical city workplace....Good pay and benefits unecessarily strict lateness policy usually supportive....
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Clerical Associate III (Former Employee) –  NYC, NY 10035July 23, 2018
A very rugged environment (sewage plant). Most days are 7 am to 3pm work day. Good health benefits. Plenty of employment options. Go to nyc.gov and apply.
Pros
City benefits
Cons
Sewage plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable work envy
Custodial Engineer (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 22, 2018
If it your choice to make career advancement throughout the angecy there are several opportunities to be taken advantage of within the department and it is highly recommended by the management.
Pros
Career advancement
Cons
The waiting list to be appointed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing and challenging place
Communtiy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYMarch 12, 2018
Fast paced but inviting workplace. Heavy on teamwork and accuracy. amazing place. amazing staff easy to move up. Benefits are unmatched. Set work schedule.
Pros
overtime and lots of growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEP offers competitive positions in a supportive work environment with great employee benefits.
HRO-Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  250 Broadway, 24th, New York, New York 10007January 2, 2018
DEP offers competitive positions in a supportive work environment with great employee benefits. DEP is an equal opportunity employer (Male/Female/Disabled/Veteran) with a strong commitment to the diversity of their organization and workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low development
Environmental Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2018
Not much to say. Very low pay and your work location is far from the city. The job posting doesn’t inform applicants that you may be placed elsewhere far from the city.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
City Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 24, 2017
Challenging projects and friendly co-workers. Benefits and time off are great, pension, overtime. Feels like you are contributing to the community. Salaries are based on civil service title, so raises only come as the union negotiates the contract. The only way to make significant advancements is to apply for other jobs within the agency. The bureaucratic red tape can slow things down and be frustrating at times, but otherwise things will eventually move along.
Pros
Benefits, pension, job security, paid time off
Cons
Slow advancements without changing jobs, agency headquarters is located in a dilapidated building in outer Queens, about a 10 minute walk from local subway stop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits were the best part
Water Use Inspection Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2017
This is a city job for which there was little oppurtunities for advancement due to people not leaving positions and favoritism thruout the agency. If you have a poor chief like I did his objective was to write guys up and bring disiplinary actions to advance his own career at the expence of others.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Data Entry / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 5, 2018
i work in the call center where we were on the phone most of the time assisting clients about there billing statement.it was a very tasking job yet good for developing patients which you have to have to maintain socially,you need to be a people person willing to exercise balance in communicating. it is true that patience is truly a virtue and take the calm with the storm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Right-to-Know Inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2018
NYDEP created a learning environment. It was always something new to learn. The Right to know program gave an insight of how many chemicals and how they are stored in the business around the city.
Pros
Benefits and Challenges
Cons
Snow
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team interactive, mission driven workplace
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 16, 2018
I enjoyed every second of my time while i was at DEP. I loved my superiors/mentors. They were very attentive and helpful and considerate whenever I have an issue, question or need advice. We have one meeting every week which summarized what we did, where we are in the project and what we need to do this week in order to be on track with the schedule. Another aspect i really liked was that we were a very close knitted team and know each other on first name bases even though it was a large team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Regional Manager - EHS (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2018
I was disappointed with the culture at the DEP. I felt that there was much more I could do with my managerial skills. There was also a difference in the way things were done depending on what bureau you worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nyc dep
Supervisor of Electricians (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 30, 2017
Management has not worked their way through the ranks and has no idea how to manage professional tradesman. Promotions are based on the FRIENDS AND FAMILY PLAN. The amount of stress induced by the way electricians are treated is amazing. Trades are considered 2nd class citizens. Safety is no longer taken seriously and managers feel anyone can do electrical work. Terrible place to work. Miserable atmosphere.
Pros
Good salary professional trades
Cons
Managers who believe they are better than everyone else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best working place
Perform Administrative Tasks (Current Employee) –  59-17 junction BlvdJuly 15, 2018
The place has good working environment and nice friendly co-workers.The administrative tasks are very understanding and the team is very co-operative.Love to work there.
Pros
free lunches, short break
Cons
some of the part are not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Department of Environmental Protection. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 97 reviews
536
429
322
25
15

See reviews about

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture