New York City Department of Sanitation Employee Reviews

Showing all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning curve on how New York City operates.
Special Events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 11, 2018
Sanitation is a very busy operation with monitoring trucks for garbage pickup. In addition, we are equally busy with preparing for Parades and Special Events, Presidential Visit, Street Fairs and various events for the 5 boroughs.
Pros
Liase with Mayors Office and NYPD
Cons
Working 12 hour shifts during snow season.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Emergency Snow Removal (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 2, 2018
Its a great job if you're looking for a temp job for the winter. The more hours you do, the more money per hour you make. Only downfall about the position is it have to be a bad winter to really be able to make money with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Administrative Assistant / Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2018
the only real benefit is the security of having a job. Other than that, if you didn't have the luxury of getting a degree or getting your name off of one of the city tests, it's nearly impossible to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SNOW LABORER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 27, 2018
Hard-working job I think I could grow at this job honest worker always good to help others quick learning a good listener I will do overtime at any time
Pros
Yes
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at sanitation
Auto Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2018
My experience with sanitation was ok but was very stressful as i was working nights and far away from home. Management at night was all over the place and was very unorganized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced job but fun as well
Street cleaner (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2018
The hardest part of this work is getting there. It is a great environment for getting to know new people with similar life goals. I believe anyone can do this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strenuous, fast paced and overall great job.
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  2509 Knapp streetJuly 18, 2018
Department gives all the benefits and pay is very on par with the cost of living of a big city. Retirement after 20 years of service. Working with multiple people.
Pros
Pay, vacation, Retirement
Cons
Working in all kinds of weather, being outdoors most of your work days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
NYC Sanitation worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn nyJuly 16, 2018
Average work day for a new york city sanitation worker is completing his, or her assign route. Dumping the truck. In snow emergency we r force to work more than our regular 8 hour shift. Fun environment most of the time.
Pros
6 weeks paid vacation
Cons
Civilians are always right for the most part, even when they are wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Principal Administrative Associate II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 14, 2018
A decent place to work. Hours are decent but can change during snowstorms or winter time. Job responsibilities vary depending on whether or not you are a civilian or a uniformed employee.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Mandatory weekends required
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all a decent place for a career
Snow laborer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 23, 2018
I appreciated the opportunity to work as temporary laborer removing the snow I wish the opportunity would have lasted longer I would have like to have transitioned to another position within company
Pros
Good work ethics and atmosphere
Cons
Bad rate of pay and no job security for temporary laborers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and benefits
General Superintendent Level II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 31, 2018
Sky was the limit in regards to advancement with the Department. Family environment. Great salary, benefits and job security. Prides itself in serving
Pros
Job Security
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Early starts, early ends
Automotive Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 4, 2018
Expect to show up for work at 6-7 AM. Leave about 8 hours later.
Expect to be very productive, answering phone calls. Learned there was much more to DSNY than just collecting garbage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship Experience
Summer Graduate Intern - Software Programmer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2018
Good Experience with cutting edge technologies. Good work culture. Sufficient salary as an intern. Manager was nice and motivating. Co-workers were nice too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and energy
Trash Collector (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYApril 26, 2018
boss starts the day off with a motivational speech to help me learn that if u work really hard you can accomplish many goals. Its a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
General Superintendent Level II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 16, 2018
The Department of Sanitation offered me tremendous advancement opportunities as well as job security at any level I achieved in my 17 years of dedicated service.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYApril 13, 2018
I liked the environment and respected the workers. I made sure the places I was supposed to clean were done well and was surprised to have had some of the SanitMen thank me for it. learned a lot about how the DSNY works. Good for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's one of the best city agencies to be a part of.
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 5, 2018
It's hard work and can be very taxing on the body. You'll meet a wide range of people and you'll learn new things pertaining to the job and most of all you're making a career.
Pros
Great co workers will help you through the rough times
Cons
Supervision needs much work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job don't recommend
Sanitation Worker/Laborer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 10, 2018
Don't recommend unless it's your first job don't waste your go to DOT or MTA it's better . You have to work very weird hours . The place is stuck in the old days and many people their are ignorant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting environment
Auto Mechanic (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2018
This is a terrible job!!! A bunch of racist in management!!! Managers are like bullies they pick on you!! Especially if you are a black (African American) provisional worker!!! They were very nasty no RESPECT !!! The Conditions were terrible!! All the buildings in the field (around the city) need to be condemned!!!! Some the guys who worked there were ok.. But the majority of people are strange and a bunch of dirty grease ball mechanics!!! The Zerega Ave location needs the to burned down!!! Overall this job pays good but the environment is terrible!! The majority of management needs the be revised!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright day
Custodial Trainee (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 28, 2018
As long as you get in and get your work done you were good. Too much of a gossiping environment and too much smoking inside the building. Only two days sick leave, if that and on going misplaced compensation. So you always need to look at your check and speak with payroll. No Bueno.
Pros
1 hr lunch
Cons
no overtime and only 2 sick days given thats not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Department of Sanitation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 101 reviews
549
425
316
26
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture