New York City Department of Sanitation Employee Reviews

Showing all 197 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Temporary Job
Street Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 29, 2019
Work & Clean On The Streets Any Weather, Low Supervise And I Wouldn't Advise Anybody To Do This Unless You "Really" Need A Job. The Work Environment Is Unprofessional But Overall Easy Job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Seasonal Helper (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 28, 2019
Quick fast paced work, heavy lifting, friendly coworkers, advancement growth opportunities with an awesome payout.
New training programs to help advance in job title positions
Pros
1hr lunch
Cons
Health benefits, 401k, paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community
Volunteer Snow Removal (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 20, 2019
My experience having this job was great, I worked with a group of friends at this job and I learned that you should have a group to work with. The pace will be more quicker as you go along.
Pros
Free Breaks
Cons
Very Cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi loved this job that's why I wish to further my education to apply for a permanent position
Street Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 16, 2019
Great job you can have a good future I loved that we worked on our feet and we got to go to different areas to clean and we also got to help out in neighborhoods like were we are from
Pros
Good job good benifits
Cons
Can't be late can't miss no days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alignment
Medical Records Librarian (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 8, 2019
Everyone I work with is encourage to work towards the betterment of the agency and take pride in their efforts. I'm blessed to be working here and have benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYDecember 18, 2018
my day was to have the building cleaned of all bins bathrooms floors and in quarters also have the yard of where he trucks were located at be cleaned clear and the offices also kept the grounds tidy and cleaned daily and kept a stocked at the tools shed in stocked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good.
Porter (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 28, 2018
Hard working man and the garage is with bathrooms,suits and good benefits.the streets is very dirty but you have come ready to clean in hot or cold days also your health has to be good for walking,picking and bad smells.
Pros
Good eviorment benefits and hours.
Cons
Set vacation time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Admin/ Clerical (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 23, 2018
The overall review for working at sanitation was beneficial good pay. Being around friends you knew while shoveling the snow made the job more fun. Also getting paid $12.00 an hour and $18.00 overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 23, 2018
The people are fantastic they are regular people the men and women of sanitation every one greets you like family everyday we where on the streets daily talking about everything there are no blundered. I enjoyed the dsny on a day to day dad basis.
Pros
Everytjing
Cons
No cons at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 20, 2018
Anything above a sanitation worker is very stressful. Higher management has no clue how to run the job. Department is very clicky when promoting above uniformed titles.
Pros
good pay, job security
Cons
stressful work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance worker
Maintenance (Seasonal) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2018
Sweep from the building line to 18 inches into street
Gather garbage from street, gutters, and sidewalks using spike-tipped stick
Remove weeds from around the tree pits, fire hydrants, fire alarm boxes and street poles
Remove debris from corner catch basins to ensure water will be free flowing
Pick up small bulk items and place at the corners next to DSNY litter baskets without blocking the crosswalks
Place full green bags of debris on corner next to DSNY litter baskets without blocking the crosswalks
Pros
lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Emergency Snow Laborer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2018
There is plenty of hours each week to take if you would like. Co workers are great to work with and easy to get along with. Everything is straight forward and room to learn a different aspect of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day and work environment
Sanitation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 29, 2018
A typical day involved supervising and evaluating employees, route preparation, incident and accident reports, and payroll. I learned how to manage employees. The management and workplace culture consisted of a good working environment and it was supportive. The hardest part of the job was snow removal. The most enjoyable part of the job was the public's appreciation of what we did.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
working in various environmental elements
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a back to work program
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 4, 2018
I swept the city streets, and made sure that the trash was put into the right trash bags and trash bins. on every street corner in the neighborhood. for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work if you like labor
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 27, 2018
Honestly to each their own but if you love to do manual labor then this job is for you. Just know you will be in the rain or snow. They have the best benefits in the city.
Pros
Benefits, Pto, Pay Rate, Labor
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sanitation Enforcement Agent (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 25, 2018
great place to work and enjoy the type of work you do. a lot of traveling and meeting new people lots of paperwork and learning everyday co workers are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 stars
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 24, 2018
i enjoyed working for sanitation the managemnt were very nice the hardest part of the job was carrying the heavy garbage cans the workplace culture they welcomed the jtps nicely
Pros
the supervisor was very nice
Cons
working outside in cold weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Operations Management Division Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2018
In Operations Division Management (OMD) there are plenty of bright and cooperative people who are willing to go the extra mile to help you understand and develop the skills necessary to execute a task.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Deputy Director, Telecomm& Special Projects (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 6, 2018
Good but over worked. Very log days. Even worse during the winter months due to the weather. Worth it cause of the benefits. Medical and pension for starters
Pros
OT and get paid for it
Cons
Too much OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not go back to work there unless absolutely necessary
JTP (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 4, 2018
Stressful, Somedays I would not get to have lunch, not too many workers when I was working there with the same job title as me. There was no lounge area for me when I come in the morning or at the end of the day. Most of the Sanitation men were respectable.
Pros
less supervision
Cons
barely any lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Department of Sanitation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 197 reviews
593
451
332
211
110

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture