New York City Department of Sanitation Employee Reviews

Showing all 149 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Deputy Director, Telecomm& Special Projects (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 6, 2018
Good but over worked. Very log days. Even worse during the winter months due to the weather. Worth it cause of the benefits. Medical and pension for starters
Pros
OT and get paid for it
Cons
Too much OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not go back to work there unless absolutely necessary
JTP (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 4, 2018
Stressful, Somedays I would not get to have lunch, not too many workers when I was working there with the same job title as me. There was no lounge area for me when I come in the morning or at the end of the day. Most of the Sanitation men were respectable.
Pros
less supervision
Cons
barely any lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace.
Job Training Program (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 29, 2018
load the van. drive around with supervisor and crew to sweep different locations. great supervisor. Hardest part of the job was working in the snow and cold weather. Most enjoyable part was meeting new people,
Pros
great supervisor, crew members
Cons
only six months program
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the experience but my heart is in medical
Temporary Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 28, 2018
If your willing to work hard you’ll benefit a great deal working with the New York department of sanitation! I would have loved a permanent position with them unfortunately my position was temporary.
Pros
Pay, benefits, and retirement equally awesome to me
Cons
If your lazy this job is not for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operations Management Division Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2018
In Operations Division Management (OMD) there are plenty of bright and cooperative people who are willing to go the extra mile to help you understand and develop the skills necessary to execute a task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 15, 2018
good job to work for relaxed enviornment no job security worked only 2 to 3 day a week and 4 hour day because of the temporary position i was hired for but enjoyed it
Pros
relaxing enviornment
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning curve on how New York City operates.
Special Events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 11, 2018
Sanitation is a very busy operation with monitoring trucks for garbage pickup. In addition, we are equally busy with preparing for Parades and Special Events, Presidential Visit, Street Fairs and various events for the 5 boroughs.
Pros
Liase with Mayors Office and NYPD
Cons
Working 12 hour shifts during snow season.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temp job
Emergency Snow Removal (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 2, 2018
Its a great job if you're looking for a temp job for the winter. The more hours you do, the more money per hour you make. Only downfall about the position is it have to be a bad winter to really be able to make money with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  New York StateJuly 31, 2018
A job that I would recommend to a lot of people. That staff works with you co- workers go to work and what needs to be done. It's been awhile since I worked with a good ten like this before .
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Could be more cleaner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Administrative Assistant / Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2018
the only real benefit is the security of having a job. Other than that, if you didn't have the luxury of getting a degree or getting your name off of one of the city tests, it's nearly impossible to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SNOW LABORER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 27, 2018
Hard-working job I think I could grow at this job honest worker always good to help others quick learning a good listener I will do overtime at any time
Pros
Yes
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like working outdoors
Seasonal Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 27, 2018
Working with the Sanitation Department, I learned to appreciate being a participant in helping to keep the city clean, I learned the importance of the Sanitation Department.
Pros
working outdoors
Cons
heat-waves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at sanitation
Auto Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2018
My experience with sanitation was ok but was very stressful as i was working nights and far away from home. Management at night was all over the place and was very unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced job but fun as well
Street cleaner (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2018
The hardest part of this work is getting there. It is a great environment for getting to know new people with similar life goals. I believe anyone can do this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place,movie room,pool tables,ping pong,great co workers
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2018
The best thing that could of happened to me,I have meet life long brothers & sisters through my work experience,I am grateful for the opportunities that have been given to me from both agencies I had the honor of providing my services
Pros
Unlimited sick, paid vacation, health insurance, paid weekly
Cons
Cold winter's, hot Summer's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strenuous, fast paced and overall great job.
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  2509 Knapp streetJuly 18, 2018
Department gives all the benefits and pay is very on par with the cost of living of a big city. Retirement after 20 years of service. Working with multiple people.
Pros
Pay, vacation, Retirement
Cons
Working in all kinds of weather, being outdoors most of your work days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
NYC Sanitation worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn nyJuly 16, 2018
Average work day for a new york city sanitation worker is completing his, or her assign route. Dumping the truck. In snow emergency we r force to work more than our regular 8 hour shift. Fun environment most of the time.
Pros
6 weeks paid vacation
Cons
Civilians are always right for the most part, even when they are wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Principal Administrative Associate II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 14, 2018
A decent place to work. Hours are decent but can change during snowstorms or winter time. Job responsibilities vary depending on whether or not you are a civilian or a uniformed employee.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Mandatory weekends required
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am in charge of the parts room
Auto Mechanic/Parts Department (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 1, 2018
I work nights, I am the only person in the parts department.
Normally there are 5-7 people in the parts department.
At times I also drive , I pick up parts from other districts. I am in the largest nyc sanitation command in all of NYC.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all a decent place for a career
Snow laborer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 23, 2018
I appreciated the opportunity to work as temporary laborer removing the snow I wish the opportunity would have lasted longer I would have like to have transitioned to another position within company
Pros
Good work ethics and atmosphere
Cons
Bad rate of pay and no job security for temporary laborers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Department of Sanitation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 149 reviews
572
438
323
29
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture