New York City Human Resources Administration Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Union Laborer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2018
Horrible , hostile, racist, angry white men, complaining workers just overall depressing work environment. Hra is the worst city agency as far as worker morale and opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment of learning and assisting constiuents of NYC
Principal Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 27, 2018
Assisting co-workers and clients with daily review and approval of benefits. What I learned is you will never know what may happen in life. Management could be taxing. Hardest part of the job could be motivating staff. The hardest part of the job the long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you did you best to help others.
Pros
Great benefits, rewarding work.
Cons
Long Hours, Possibly Irate clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Legal Fellow (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 20, 2017
This is a decent place to work. The attorneys there are interested in teaching and they are collaborative. The people are friendly and you can work on different things without having to feel stuck in one area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Medicaid Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYDecember 1, 2017
Excellent place to work, although very stress full. Excellent environment to apply my interpersonal skills. Enjoyed assisting consumers with eligibility for health insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not productive at all.
Clerical Associate LV III (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 30, 2017
If you are a person of intellect and needs to be challenged, here is not the place for you. Its the same thing everyday and the attitudes of the women that work there just makes the day even harder. would never recommend but if you have to by all means work with precaution.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pace to work
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  33-28 Northern BLVD LIC NYOctober 8, 2017
Enjoy working there. there I have learned a lot in over 20 years.

I have learned about different cultures and groups, Good experience .
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Community Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 6, 2017
good place to gain knowledge and experience helping needy families obtain help when needed also was able to assist in finding errors giving options on cases that needed to be processed
Pros
good benefits
Cons
not much movement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tedious work culture
Intern (Former Employee) –  office clerkMarch 30, 2017
it was my first internship, it wasn't a great experience there, manager slacking off all the time, there was no room for any advancement and opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely heavy workload if you are not an organized person.
Eligibility Specialist II (Former Employee) –  1910 Monterey Ave. Bx, NYFebruary 2, 2017
I would interview approx 15 - 20 clients daily face to face. All the while having to answer phone calls. Would have to work overtime to complete cases and issue benefits in a timely manner which was okay if we were actually getting paid overtime.
Pros
Excellent employee benefits, union
Cons
workload can be very stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the city
Case Worker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 20, 2017
Working for the City of New York is very beneficial. A typical day is not stressful and co workers are pretty easy going. Work can become monotonous but a great place to learn and grow.
Pros
Great benefits and work schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2017
This job was an internship for my Accounting degree. I learned much about Microsoft Office and was able to learn much about Microsoft Excel and the features in it. My co-workers kept me busy when my supervisor wasn't around and they always made instructions clear.
Pros
Long lunch break, friendly environment
Cons
Didn't learn much about accounting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin a career.
Attorney (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2016
The New York City Human Resources Administration was a good place to start a legal career because I had access to the Heads of the Legal Department.
Pros
I learned a lot very early in my legal career.
Cons
At times the place was not very professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's never a dull moment
Case Worker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 16, 2016
Your in the neighborhoods of people who mostly at risk.
The caseworkers are great and the benefits are great.
The hardest part of the job is time management with a high caseload.
Pros
your in the community
Cons
high turnover and high caseload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work.
Job Oportunity Specialist (Former Employee) –  25 chapel st, 606November 4, 2016
I had an amazing experience working there. I was surrounded by amazing people. Everyone was very dedicated and a team player.
Pros
I felt part of a cummunity
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place where you can work yourself up the ladder
Director's Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2016
a environment where you can work your way up the ladder through training and positioning yourself through promotional exams that will allow mobility in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on location and supervisor could be a great place to work
Computer Specialist II (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 5, 2016
I find that working for a city agency is a double-edged sword. There are workers who are passionate about working and others who seem to only want to get by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Fiscal Department Office Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 19, 2016
Good work/ life balance and job security. New York City also offers great benefits such as pension and health insurance.
Pros
Security
Cons
Slow advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job/ Not Professional
Senior Fraud Investigator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2016
This job was an easy job with good benefits and good hours. However, it could be a lot better if management was better. People should not forget where they came from while climbing the ladder. The manager I had did not treat people right. That is one of the reasons why I left and they still don't care. There are many unprofessional people who work there too. You can not tell the difference between some of the clients and the staff. Nepotism too.
Pros
good hours, good benefits
Cons
a lot of unprofessional staff, managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day of work consist of processing applications for NYC residents to recieve health insurance.
Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 14, 2015
I work at a city agency that deals with the public through different branches of social services. The agency is one that gives you room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To Work
Data Entry Clerk (Per Diem) (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJune 22, 2015
Scanned records into Income Clearance Program system. Filed and bulked food stamp applications. Atmosphere was good for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Human Resources Administration. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 34 reviews
513
48
310
21
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

New York City Human Resources Administration Reviews by Location