New York City Law Department Employee Reviews

Showing all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent Opportunity
Assistant Corporation Counsel-Torts Division (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 7, 2019
The work is challenging but very rewarding. Your colleagues will be a great asset to you. You will learn a lot and work through day to day issues relying on your skills and colleagues.
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to learn.
Assistant Corporation Counsel, Pre-Trial Attorney (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 2, 2019
The Law department is a good place to learn and grow for new attorneys. It's a great place to learn all the aspects of litigation. However, the compensation doesn't match the work given.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are great, upper management is horrible
Paralegal aide (Current Employee) –  Tort Brooklyn, NYSeptember 11, 2019
Surrounded by great coworkers, if they stick around, high turnover rate. Upper management is beyond terrible. Never in my life have I worked with Management like this, they don’t care to understand what support staff does, procedures makes no sense.. they juggle around the work to benefit their favorites and the lazy. Save yourself the headache and apply to another agency.
Pros
Benefits, work balance
Cons
Upper Management is a joke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Clerical Associate (Law Library) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 25, 2019
My typical work day was productive and I enjoyed being a employee, mangers and staff was very respectful. I learned so many information from the attorneys.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Clerical Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 24, 2019
Such a fun loving work environment. Great place to work especially having a family at home. Spending time with the people you work with makes it all easier to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
Clerical Associate Level lll (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 22, 2019
No room for growth
No increase in pay
hours are flexible
not easy to transfer to other divisions
no overtime offered
great job for a person straight out of High School
Pros
Great Benefits/Job Security/Staff Members
Cons
Low Low Pay/ Favoritism/ Attorneys Feel Entitled/Management vs Union Workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, except for the Administration
Assistant Corporation Counsel (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 8, 2019
The best part of the job are your co-workers. The worst part of the job was the Administration. The work was definitely doable and not complicated, but most of the supervisors were awful!
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
The Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NY 10007March 4, 2019
If you are ambitious DON'T work here. A good place for lawyers who just graduated whom need the hours for practice and the option to charge off student loan debt. Other positions you will not be granted similar options.
Pros
Set schedule and benefits.
Cons
No advancement low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn how to try cases.
Trial Attorney (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 16, 2019
Able to try cases very soon after I was hired. Learned trial practice in the field. Advanced to next level of court after success in the lower level. Permitted to try cases in Federal Court and became head of Federal Court division.
Pros
Independence; permitted great latitude in trial decisions.
Cons
Some issues with governmental chain of command to obtain quick decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start as a paralegal
Claim Specialist / Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 31, 2019
Good place to start as a paralegal. Perfect for high school grads and college grads as a first job. They pay is low and the benefits package isn't the best. Little room for growth.
Pros
Great work/life balance
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Place to Work
Assistant Corporation Counsel (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 14, 2019
I had a great time working there. I learned so much. My colleagues were wonderful. I was able to obtain so many skills. You get all Federal, State and some Religious holidays off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and cons
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 12, 2019
There are many opportunities for attorneys and paralegals at the New York City Law Department. You have the chance to learn new skills and to network on the job. There are pros and cons to working here.
Pros
Skills training
Cons
Typical legal culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-Life Balance
Special Associa (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 13, 2018
There is a good work-life balance here. Most people seem to have a good work-life balance here. It's a friendly environment as well and provides good training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no support from upper management downtown
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 14, 2018
stressful, salary low no support for clerical staff management did not have structure of work organized lack of resources supplies and staff to divide the work amongst
Pros
stability, job security
Cons
unorganized work flow, low salary for amount of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes Stressful sometimes rewarding
Help Desk Administrator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 28, 2018
Law Dept is a mellow place as long as you raise not too many objections... No room for advancement, management is strapped to the money controlling agency so that you have to make requests and wait for the office of management and budget to say yea or nay to any requests. Such frustration... On the other hand the people that we have to work with are for the most part really nice and grateful for the work that we had to do.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2018
There is a very friendly environment here and I worked in close contact with all aspects of the unit that I was a part of (interns, clerks, paralegals, attorneys, administrators). They are very helpful and willing to teach you different aspects of the job, especially if you show interest in going on to law school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Senior Counsel (Former Employee) –  Special Federal LitigationOctober 1, 2018
The NYC Law Department is a good place to work. There is a sense of commarderie with a decent salary and an excellent benefits. Due to the public nature of the job, most are in it for the learning experience and not the salary.
Pros
Great dealing of learning
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYC Law Department
Paralegal Aide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2018
You can get a diverse amount of cases that you likely wouldn't have in a private law firm. The work has its ebbs and flows, isn't overly difficult and at times tedious.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 10, 2018
The culture of the Law Department was family oriented. It was a great place to work. The supervisors were understanding. It was a stress free environment
Pros
flex time
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2018
I believe in my potential to develop and flourish working with your establishment. I am looking forward to the opportunity to meet your organization’s expectations. Thank you in advance for your consideration in reviewing my application for employment and I look forward to meeting with you soon. I can be contacted at anytime to continue to discuss the value of my candidacy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 12Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York City Law Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 60 reviews
523
415
316
23
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

New York City Law Department Reviews by Location

Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?