New York University Employee Reviews

Found 876 reviews matching the search See all 902 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is great, but pressure to perform
Creative Writing Instructor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 22, 2019
You will be pressured to perform outside of the classroom, as in publishing articles or creative work, etc. Compensation is basically the same for years before advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Staff Nurse ICU (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 19, 2019
They provide a menu of benefits, in addition to the compensation. Orientation was extensive. Supporting the staff by providing shuttle for employees from NY Port Authority is a good benefit.
Pros
benefits menu
Cons
large corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management and no Professional Advancement opportunities
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2019
This place is a horrendous. I would never refer or advised anyone to work here especially if they are talented and hard-working individuals.

NYU does not value its employees that have shown exceptional talent. They do not promote internally unless you are friends with the Boss. In the last year the VP/CIO had let go- senior executives that were there for over 25 yrs and brought in his people. Those let go were forced out with severance packages.

Morale is awful. They are condensing roles where you are doing the full job of at least 2 to 4 people but paid as one.

There are ppl hired to manage teams and clearly do not have the skill sets to do just that.

On an average at least 4 ppl are leaving NYU per week.

** They also "tweak" the satisfaction survey to reflect untrue metrics.
Cons
short staffed, underpaid, poor management, no career advancement and there is more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence-driven environment, opportunity for growth
CLINICAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2019
I worked at NYU full-time from 1990 to 2002, then as an adjunct. I began as a staff nurse, then nurse practitioner, then instructor and finally clinical assistant professor. It was an honor to work and learn there. I wish I never left.
Pros
Brilliant, caring, hard-working doctors and nurses
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 7, 2019
NYU is a great place to work at. As a part time student worker I was given alot of flexibility in terms of the hours I was expected to come in. Along with this my manager is extremely helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace environment
Adjunct Instructor - Elements of Music (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2019
Colleagues are highly qualified and professional. Collegial atmosphere.Excellent administrative support. Highly intelligent and well prepared student body.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Advancement and continuing education a plus.
Asset Management Assistant Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYDecember 20, 2018
It was a pleasure working for New York University. Met many good people and the environment was always positive. It was great working for an organization that promotes career advancement. Also the University provides the opportunity to continue your education.
Pros
Career Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
able to help many people
Assistant to the Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 17, 2018
Oversaw many student activites learned inside workings of management. Workplace was friendly. Hard part of job was juggling many assignments, enjoyed the challenge and helping students
Pros
lunch breaks
Cons
small cramped working quarters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Administrative Aide II (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 17, 2018
A fun working environment with collaboration among staff team and management.Good health benefits and fast paced days are spread throughout the year.
Pros
Union affiliated
Cons
lack of time off for most Federal holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university with great lab
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 16, 2018
The lab was great with nice people to work with. Good work-life balance with everyone control their own schedule. Friendly people in the department. Good location in the city.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Small campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity
Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 11, 2018
NYU is a good organization to work for. The benefits are great for employees who would like to pursue a degree. Benefits are also good for children of employees.

My position here is a mixture of administrative, reception, customer service and insurance/billing, etc. As a medical secretary there are multiple components in managing patient care. It is usually fast paced and requires you to think on your feet and have the ability to multitask.

I would recommend NYU for those looking for various levels of employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bullying, favoritism, and nepotism
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tuxedo, NYDecember 11, 2018
NYU talks the talk but the truth is that many employees are treated badly. Management and HR don't care. Bullying is not addressed. Favoritism is completely disregarded and NYU actively violates its own nepotism rules.
Pros
benefits are good.
Cons
toxic culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Lieutenant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2018
NYU is a great University to work for. It provides great benefits and a competitive salary. They promote from within and provide adequate training. They promote a family and respect work place.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Monthly Salary for Managers and no overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative and educational
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 29, 2018
Supervisors and peers incredibly helpful. Wonderful work environment. I felt as if I had a voice in our space, and that I could contribute in a significantly to our work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent university
ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 29, 2018
If you enjoy working in education, with intellectually stimulating, diverse and talented students and wonderful support staff, then this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelentes intalaciones
Estudiante (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 14, 2018
Campus ideal para adquirir conocimeintos, ambeitne multicultural con opcion de expandir experiencias profesionales
Pros
Excelentes instalaciones
Cons
acudir a instalaciones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Adjunct Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 8, 2018
This is an excellent place to work. The management team is great. Staff work well together. We celebrate EVERYTHING. After 30 years of nursing and several different jobs in different. This is my best job ever!
Pros
great benefits and compenastion.
Cons
I personally have a long commute from NJ
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYU doesn't pay GAs and Adjuncts enough
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 8, 2018
I worked for NYU as a Graduate Assistant so many years ago that the program I taught for does not exist anymore. I do not think much of my commentary would be relevant at this point (Indeed requires this review), although I know that NYU continues not to pay their adjuncts and GAs enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor system
Senior research technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 7, 2018
I am working at NYU since 2010, I love to work with my collegue but NYU whole system is really slow and non-flexible. I try to do fix a lot of thing but never change. Someone said NYU has good benefit but I don't feel how good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on department can be a toxic environment
Senior Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2018
Depending on which department you work within the environment can be toxic. Managers that don't care, disappear, and micromanage all at once. Co-workers that don't care, disappear, and slack off.
Pros
Free tuition for undergrad if you work full time
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 902 reviews
5461
4296
395
224
126

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.8Fairygodboss Score

75%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

89%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss