Newmont Mining Employee Reviews in Winnemucca, NV

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned about gold mining and refining.
Instrumentation/Electrical/Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJanuary 31, 2018
I enjoyed working day shift at the gold mill. I tested and calibrated different types of monitoring equipment. I saw the largest autoclave I have ever seen, and worked on the equipment. Electrical, instrumentation, and PLC troubleshooting and repair.
Pros
Good daytime job, learned a lot about gold.
Cons
I had to commute 35 miles each way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trail of Tears
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJanuary 5, 2018
When Newmont fires you , you get a 3 line letter of service stating your name, ss number and date from and to when you worked there. That is all. You are told that they do this so no one knows you were fired. The truth is when using this letter every potential employer knows that you were fired. No cause for firing you is given. You have no chance at getting a future job unless it is the bottom of the barrel.
Cons
If you are fired you WILL be blackballed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVFebruary 13, 2017
Great Company to work for. Usually would only work 14 days a month based on 12 hour shifts. Average income was around 80k a year as a Tech 4 operator. Benefits were amazing and the Company owned and operated a Medical Clinic in Winnemucca that made it very easy to take your children or even yourself to to see a Doctor for most medical, except surgery.
Pros
Pay, Work Schedule, Benifits
Cons
12 hour shofts
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education and great oppurtunity
HSLP Rep (Current Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJanuary 12, 2017
Newmont has offered me many chances to advance in my career. I began working and a labor and have worked my way into a Health and Safety role.
Pros
Strong safety values, good training experiences
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Ssecurity
Security Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVNovember 30, 2016
Checked incomming and outgoing workers. Checked all buildings and areas of mine

Management was great

Co workers were good

Constant driving for 12 hour shifts

Contact with the workers
Pros
Total uniforms provided for summer and winter
Cons
The main gate did not have any bathroom facilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, good environment
Instrumentation/Electrical/Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJuly 16, 2016
Enjoyed different experiences, I have never worked with cyanide,
or cyanide detectors. I learned a lot. I have never worked in a gold mill before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very productive and. but get the job done
Apprentice electrician (Former Employee) –  Twin Creeks, Winnemucca, NVApril 21, 2015
We get work orders and do them through out the day and at the end of the day they pile on the work as if they weren't organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place that I have ever worked at.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJanuary 7, 2015
A total 360 from Mineral Park. They care for all of us. Just a real good place to work for. If I can I will find my way back.
Pros
Awsome Company to work for.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underground Miner
Underground Miner (Current Employee) –  Winnemucca NevadaFebruary 25, 2014
The ability to cycle rounds...muck, bolt drill, and blast...adhear to safety and work well with others unsupervised at times...I was also on a nationally ranked mine rescue team so my skills go beyond just mining.
Pros
good mine rescue training
Cons
over abundancy of mngt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newmont was good at giving additional training as needed
Maintenance Welder/Lead Man (Former Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVFebruary 5, 2014
Welding repairs on mining equipment
More experience in welding
Co- workers were enjoyable to work with
Travel time
The exchanging of experience and knowledge from co- workers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High standard for safety and work quality.
STAFF GEOLOGIST (Current Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVDecember 1, 2013
The pay and benefits at Newmont are very competitive with other major miners, however the days are long and job security is not the best in the current market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't care at all about their employes
Senior Geologist (Former Employee) –  Twin creeks, Winnemucca, NVJanuary 8, 2013
I Worked for Newmont several years and at first thought they treated their employes well but the more I seen the more dis heartened I became. Newmont promote a culture as a world class operation with world class people, this is not the case, I was in a position of leadership and seen how easy the got rid of people whenever they felt like it with no concern of the employes situation, firing people under the disguise of down sizing then re hiring again after a few weeks, new employes were put off with out any notice, newmonts policy was to make them get up at 3.30am travel an hour unpaid to site them terminate them as soon As they got there and give them 15 minutes under supervision to get their belongings, people lost their houses after Newmont made them relocate to Winnemucca with out any regard, Beware Newmont do NOT care about their people, if you want job security do not work for Newmont.
Cons
long days, unpaid 2 hours travel to site, do not treat employes with respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good Company
Haul Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Winnemucca, NVJune 30, 2012
Typical open pit mining operation. Some training is available to further or learn new skills. Not in a consistant manner though. Co-workers try to help each other and have a "fun time".Pay rate is high compared to other states & companies. Overall a good company to work for.
Pros
two, required 30 min breaks; one paid the other not.
Cons
every crew follows their own training and overtime lists, senority doesn't mean much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Newmont Mining reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Newmont Mining. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 260 reviews
593
4108
337
212
110

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.2

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight