Nicholas and Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 39 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical time here
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 25, 2018
Honestly this isn't a bad place to work, but you have to work hard and very fast paced in order to get the 20-25 dollar pay they advertise. It's 15 an hour for training to start. You ride a pallet jack through 22 ish lanes with about 40 other people. So, some of the lanes get super congested which can hurt your numbers or UPH. (packages picked per hour) without mispicks. Hours were super long. Latest we got out was 7:30am, and we would only get out early on Fridays since they were slow days.
Another thing that made me mad was I was told that we got our benefits after the first 30 days of employment, but they meant the first whole month that you worked from day 1 to 30 or 31 depending on how many days were in the month.
Training manager is pretty cool, but training is so short that your lost in the sauce for about a week or 2. On top of that they make you do a refresher of the so called "training" you had and ends up being more than what you were originally trained on. (not paid training on the computer btw). If you literally want no life, no sick days, no pto, no holidays off then come work here. You will get a write up if your sick, late, have issues with your kids, or anything that impedes you from coming in to your shift whether you have control of it or not.
Overall if you have heart come work here if not don't even bother. Work isn't hard just long hours and to crowded to make money.
Pros
breakroom, gift card incentives
Cons
pay, time off, sick time, pto, benefits, training, managers, no life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 7, 2018
pick orders right ,no mistake ,safe ,be on the time,no mistake ,incentive ,team work ,check location before you get products ,ask questions,,most I like rolls Nicolas company
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast paced job
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 6, 2018
Warehouse picking orders, operating pallet jack, stacking boxes onto a pallet, heavy lifting, late night shifts. Work starts at 3pm and we do not leave until all the orders have been picked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay for a Lot of Work
Prefer Not to Answer (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 6, 2018
I've worked in the office as well as the warehouse. I've been employed at this company for 3 years. The mentality seems to be the same in multiple departments where they will continually work you and/or give you more responsibilities without a pay raise. They do not participate in yearly raises, only cost of living raises. It seems the only way to up your pay is to apply for another department that pays more or you give your supervisor an ultimatum that you're leaving the company. I will say that they have a strong concentration for health for all employees and they continually educate and challenge us to have a healthier lifestyle. The owners of the company come in often, know everyone's names and are extremely friendly people.
Pros
Massages on site with payroll deduction, Food trucks or vendors occassionally on site with payroll deduction, tuition reimbursement, Free appointments from a financial planner, Friendly owners that seem to care, Accrue 2.13 hours sick time every paycheck, Extended sick time benefit after 4-5 years of employement, 1.54- 6.15 hours of PTO per paycheck based on working 0-5+ years, Yearly cost of living raise
Cons
Overworking employees for little pay, No yearly raises, Only way to get a raise is to move departments, Managers don't seem to be genuinely concerned about issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work enviornment
Business Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 15, 2018
I was hired to a certain position. After a sales representative quit, they wanted me to cover his territory in WY, until a replacement was found. I covered WY for three months and then was asked to move there. I chose to find employment elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for family comes first
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 10, 2018
Loved working there was sad when I had to leave I was moving out of state so I had to quit I'd love to work there again the best place to work for hands down
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full line food distributor
Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTMarch 22, 2018
full line independent food distributor that tries hard to take care of its customers and its employees. It is continuing to expand into new markets. Family oriented
Pros
stable work with good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 20, 2017
The management is terrible. They don't care what u have to say or believe you. I worked there long time lost my job for something I didn't do. I would not recommend
Pros
Nome
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Freight Handler (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 31, 2017
Fun atmosphere but not too much room for growth. I wasn’t too excited about the new Site Manager of Capstone at the Nicholas Location. He was trying to Micro manage his team way too much. However, it was a good team to work with.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Can be slow at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could not make any more money then i was making
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 25, 2017
some of the managers would work with you and others would treat you like you were just a number and they would not respond to your questions they would pretend that you did not exist
Pros
working nights
Cons
no family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nicholas and Co. Inc. review
Account Executive - Bid Analyst (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 4, 2017
My time at Nicholas and company was a wonderful experience. I devoted the first years there to the IT department which was growing at a fever pace. While an AE with the Sales department, I worked very hard with occasional weekends. The compensation was above average but not great. Mid level managers needed to be trained in HR issues, while upper management kept the company excited and engaged.
Pros
Work Life balance, Culture, Upper management
Cons
Mid level management, internal review structure, compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have been Warned
Other (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 23, 2017
If you want to make good money, growth, development or advancement this is NOT the company for you. If you want to break yourself for minimum wage, play politics, long hours, good ol buddy system, don't care about development or advancement, be with a corrupt management then this is for you.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything except benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cutthroat job, poor operational management
Operations (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 15, 2017
if it was just the job itself it would be fine- typical warehouse work
it's always the BS politics and shady management that ruin it
the pay was fine, benefits were good, and the people you worked with were mostly great.
upper management doesn't have a clue on operations and continually favor people who say what they want to hear or that they like. There's always A LOT of talk/meetings etc of ways to improve and things to do but you never see the action or substance and push in these initiatives from the higher ups. They expect everyone to make them look good instead of going out and making an impact and a difference for their operations teams.
poor work/life balance unless you've been employed over 6 years
Pros
co workers, pay, benefits, programs like PROS
Cons
management, job security, cutthroat environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its oky
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 5, 2017
You can make good money the company is a very great place to work for and people are very friendly.
They do a lot of things for their employee and they have a lot good food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tread carefully
Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 28, 2017
Crazy place, good people, but your life can be he!! if you have the wrong manager or if you are in Vegas (they are 2 different companies that only share a name).
Their story is nice, but has little to do with current day to day activities.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Horrible chairs and working areas, long hours, no recognition unless you are a driver or a salesman
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Receiving Associate (Current Employee) –  UtahAugust 24, 2017
Great company with a bright future. Need to pay more for the stress level and expectations. Receiving dept need to be paid more. Forklift drivers are making a killing and deal with half the stressful environment
Pros
Early morning hrs are nice
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 21, 2017
This company will work you hard they pay you well they are not very good at safety and they are very poor at safety they put you through a three-day training course Smith training then as soon as you're in the truck get the freight there like every other company
Pros
Good insurance good pay
Cons
Long hours poor management horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will have no life
Walkie rider (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 24, 2017
First of all safety what safety working at night with no supervisor in sight it a huge mess the pay is a low its only 13 if u some how get lucky u might get a bonus here in there thank god im gone i feel bad for the ones still there ...
Pros
A job
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work , no social life
Order Selector (Current Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJuly 24, 2017
drive a pallet jack aroung picking orders for venders like burger king , panda express etc . very stingy and all they care about is getting the orders out they could care less about the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
District Sales Manager (DSM) (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 27, 2017
Management continues to change and is still trying to figure out how to run things. The culture has become lost with the growth and the family touch is gone. There is very little work life balance, they preach about the importance of work life balance but actions speak louder than words. There are some good people (street reps) in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nicholas and Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 39 reviews
56
49
39
27
18

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture