Norbord Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed their
Crain Operator (Former Employee) –  Joanna, SCJanuary 18, 2018
It was a good place to work i like working the people nice to work around if toke idea to management they would listen and help you with it.Would tell you it your job figure it out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, but some of the company attitudes and policies are troubling
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXNovember 10, 2017
I had good relations with most people, but Norbord always wants more out of every employee, process, and plant. There is no such thing as meets expectations, because the target and requirements are always moving up.
Pros
Decent benefits, good people, team enviroment
Cons
overly strict, always More with less.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Worker
Knife Grinder (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, TXNovember 7, 2017
Good Atmosphere, Safe work place, cared about workers, good training ethics, salary fair, overtime hours always available, ability to advance, took good care of equipment.
Pros
Good Pay, Ergonomically safe, Overtime, Training
Cons
Layoff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team members. Pushed a little too hard.
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Joanna, SCSeptember 20, 2017
Physically demanding. Working in all weather conditions. Zero tolerance for mistakes. Competetive wages and good profit sharing
plan. Managers could use people more skills training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working there
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Guntown, MSAugust 10, 2017
Great place to work. Great business insurance is great long hours great money .its all about safety an work place would require any other to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Valley, ALJune 22, 2017
They close down but everything was good no hard work but some hot board coming out the oven me an my time we down stack them an restack more board to go in the oven
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXApril 27, 2017
The were a very great place to work just not enough hours and not enough workers they were very shorthanded but I work well under pressure so I was able to handle it.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Dryer Operator (Current Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXJanuary 18, 2017
A typical day consist of 12 hours on days or nights . The hardest part of the job, is trying to get temp hot . It need to be hot to dry the wood. The wood is green ( chips ) .So the temp needs to be very hot ( 1500 ). so it a lot to learn, trying to get the temp up and keep it up .
Pros
Good pay !
Cons
Rotating 12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job out of college
Data Specialist (Former Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXJune 20, 2016
I had a great experience working at Norbord. People were friendly. However, there was no career advancement for me there. It was my first job out of college and I had a great mentor who taught me a lot and I still use the skills that I got from him at my current's job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Joanna, SCJune 17, 2016
I learned how to operate a lot of equipment & operations of the business. I didn't mind the hot or cold temps. I stayed really busy and that's what I like.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deposit ny plant closed now
administrative support (Former Employee) –  Deposit, NYJanuary 17, 2016
The management was ridiculous at this site. Could never have sustained the way it was run.

On down days ( 14 hours straight at times) no breaks were allowed , no lunches. Men who had health problems were not even allowed a break.

They didn't like progress. When system use started to make an organizational improvement even the managers didn't like it . Cause they hadn't been able to make it happen themselves.
Pros
The coworkers were sometimes nice
Cons
The way it was run
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different culture very old school
ELECTRICAL ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXDecember 23, 2015
Some of the people there has moved to the 20 century, But most still doesn't use e-mail and in some cases not even the computer.
Then maintenance mentality is safety gets in the way of getting projects done and is condoned by the general manager.

The benefits are ok but you are constantly hearing about how much it cost the company when you have to use the insurance.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working @ Norbord
Wood Yard Tech (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, TXMay 13, 2015
Pay and Benefits are Great , Good people as well as managment although a very high turn over rate cheap contract labor has taken it over. really great place. you must be flexible as they run lean on employees on your feet for 12 hrs +. never a dull moment
/ OSB plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Outside operator (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, TXJanuary 7, 2015
Norbord re-opened a plant and made a lot of changes to better their quality of production. During the start up, I operated heavy eguipment and it was the first test I have had of my associates degree in Process Operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a refreshing place to work that expects you to go above the call of duty but makes it worth it by allowing each person to advance at their own pace.
Woodroom Technician (Former Employee) –  Kinards, SCOctober 8, 2014
"Pay-for-Skills" says it all. Norbord allows you to come in on your days off and learn anything in any part of the mill that you are interested in, and when you do learn something new and can be a useful body in that department, they pay you for it! That was what I loved about Norbord. But to be completely un-biased, I have to let you know that there are days that you have to work so hard that it's almost necessary to take a nap in your car before driving home after your 12 hr. shift because you will be so tired.
Pros
excellent benefits and pay
Cons
some very hard days
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work at the begining
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Kinards, SCApril 17, 2014
Was a good place to work until my boss left and then things went down hill
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXJanuary 16, 2014
Out dated equipment and resistant to change. But the benefits are the best to be had anywhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, TXJanuary 30, 2013
Norbord was a fantastic place to work. I learned alot from the guys that I worked with. I just loved to unload trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal place to work no holidays off
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Joanna, SCDecember 12, 2012
No chance for advancement, power struggles,Not a lot of female workers . No holidays taken
Pros
great hours
Cons
no lunch hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Program/Summer Temp
Process Support Laborer (Former Employee) –  Solway, MNApril 27, 2012
I really enjoyed working there and the work day went by really fast. Each shift had a rotation on machinery which helped change up the type of work. Management was very good and helped out whenever I needed it.
Pros
good pay
Cons
swing shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report

See more Norbord reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Norbord. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 36 reviews
510
410
310
24
12

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.6

1.6Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight