Norcraft Companies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please find something better.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Liberty, NCJanuary 12, 2018
First off, I was hired by a manager who wasn't even a hiring manager and lied to me about my salary, claiming I would make 15$/hr once i was full time. Then when I asked for my 15$/Hr, He kept saying "Yeah we're working on it, the other guys haven't gotten back to me yet."

Sure the insurance benefits are nice but expect to work 10+ hours every single day in ridiculously hot, fast-paced settings as even in winter they crank the heat up and set unrealistic production standards.

Training is a joke, my main trainer couldn't even speak english or even show me where things go.

All I here about is favoritism and don't expect a raise unless you're drinking buddies with someone.

Seriously don't apply, you're wasting valuable time, they will not train you or teach you any real skills yet expect you to work like a dog in extreme conditions. It's amazing to me that they have as many people as they do.

The people on 2nd shift so far have been great people to work with and I'd be more than happy to work 8 hours a day but please tell me in the interview that 10-12 hours a night is normal WHEN Im hired not AFTER.

It seems clear to me that Ultracraft/Norcraft is a backwoods, off in the country place to work where they pinch pennies in every way possible including cutting employees' pay and relying on cheap labor while boasting about cleanliness and delivery times with their meetings and presentations, that not only serve to waste all of our time, but also casts a failing illusion of professionalism.

Please, Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere, you will lose all faith
  more... in humanity at this place.  less
Pros
Insurance Benefits
Cons
Excessive Workload, Excessive Hours, No Promotions whatsoever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my employment at norcraft
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  newton ksNovember 10, 2017
yes it is a fast paced setting, management was awesome to work with. co workers were always willing to help in other areas as needed. home based company. long hours makes for long days.
Pros
3 day weekend
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work due to 3rd shift management
Utility trainer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 21, 2017
Hot, bad management, unorganized, and lack of respect for employees. They don't listen to the staff. Management lies to staff and that shows no morals. They expect you to not be tired after spraying for long hours in the heat with only a 30 and two ten minute breaks.
Pros
M-t
Cons
short breaks, no AC
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job characteristics
Repair Tech (Current Employee) –  1 millrace drive Lynchburg va 24502August 2, 2017
I work in the repair department at Norcraft, I repair all parts of they need any repair attention whether it be doors, frames, headers, panels or special parts and custom parts.
Pros
Off every weekend
Cons
Not enough air circulation in the repair department
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Lead Person (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSJuly 21, 2017
Labor work, assembly. Fast pace, very busy. Working with people throughout the entire shift, some people friendly some not. Management ok, point system. Benefits and vacation provided yearly.
Pros
Sick time and vacation
Cons
No lunches or activities for the employees outside of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but a great company and long hrs
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSJune 6, 2017
It is a good paying job. It's long hrs hard on body and feet but u can make great money. Your off on Friday and weekends unless otherwise notified which is good for ppl with families as you do spend alot of hrs there.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Hard on body
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good luck
Former member (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMarch 8, 2017
Awful place to work. Druggies, no advancement, no communication, Manager & employee bullying rampant. 12+ hours normal at times, and mandatory. Stay away, if you can.
Pros
There are actually none....
Cons
Slave farm for people of all color........
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks they dont know what their doing
sprayer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAFebruary 8, 2017
It started off being a great place to work then it got bad .we had over 10 supervisors very sad I was doing everybody elses job and mine.we had a supervisor that's younger than we are that's been brought back for the third time and she still don't know whats shes doing and she doesn't know how to talk to people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team players
Finisher.glazer (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, MNDecember 12, 2016
Good company.good health benefits.worked with good people.they feed us every month.I worked 6 years there and learned alot.kitchen cabinet assembly. Had high standards for customers
Pros
Gave us meals
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as what management makes it to be
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, MNAugust 10, 2016
No advancement if you're a minority. Leads don't see what you do and play favoritism towards people they like. Leads don't know how to manage departments, it trickles down from the plant manager.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
They work you like a dog
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Xxx (Former Employee) –  XxxAugust 3, 2016
Good people to work with. Very strict on time. Dont click in or out even 1 minute off of scheduled time...especially if temp. Very strict on attendance also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
General Manager, Virginia (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 14, 2015
great organization and well managed. always ready to help others.
they make and sell cabinets. sometimes they even remodel bathrooms and kitchens.
Pros
nice people
Cons
nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employee who wanted to express her thoughts
assembler/packager (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, MNApril 30, 2015
Norcraft is a company that expects a lot from its employees. If you do your work you will not have problems. Biggest thing is to show up for work. Sometimes hours have been long but for the most part the compensation is great.
Pros
little supervision at job
Cons
only 2 ten minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dead end job with bad Management
Sprayer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg VaMarch 13, 2015
I was there for 11 years. When I started in 2002 I was making $9.40 hr and when I left in 2014 I was only making $11.76 hr. You can only advance there if you are kin to or have a (special relationship)😉 with a plant manager, supervisor, or line leader. At Norcraft ( Mid Continent Cabinetry) it's who you know. I was stuck in the same position for all my 11 years despite putting in for numerous positions. The work hours there are Mon - Thurs 7am to 5:30pm. A lot of times they would come around at 5:20 and tell everyone that they have to work over until 7:30. Christmas Time they'll give you a $25 gift card. I only received a yearly bonus 3 times out of 11 years. If we got a raise it was usually 25 cents. They don't do random drug test so be prepared to work around druggies! If you can't stand the heat then this might not be the place for you. I've seen the temperature up at high 90's plenty of times. The only good things about norcraft were some of the people and the insurance.
Pros
Insurance, two 20 min and one 30 min break, some good folks.
Cons
Bad Management, No Advancement, Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
drawers (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg,VAFebruary 14, 2015
You sometimes have to come in at 6am and work til 7:00 if the goal hasnt been met for that day. Typically you come in 7am and can work any where from 10+ hours. Some of the line leaders and co workers are cool and easy to work with. You do have some line leaders that are very rude and think they can talk to ypu any kind of way just because they have a little power. Then when you go talk to someone about it, nothing gets done about it besides they say they are working on it. I do that this company have lost alot of good people due to a few bad apples. I will say that people that do their job plus more do get acknowledgement which is a plus. But basically someone needs to stand up more for the employees.
Pros
work with some good people, having weekends off, did have employee appreciation lunches
Cons
some rude managers and line leaders, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cabinentry production (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSMay 13, 2014
Great atmosphere. good hours. plenty of over time. Boss and employees were very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, no micro-managing
Accounts Payable Representative (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNNovember 7, 2013
The people were very nice and helpful and it gave me an extra resume item to post. However, since this started off as a contract, and ultimately ended there I was never able to really learn any other functions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a place to work
Production team member (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VANovember 5, 2013
Working hours are 10 and more. Overtime is required everyday. Working hours are from 7 am to 5:30 pm. Overtime hours may start at 6 am to 7:30 p.m depending in what department you are in.

I have worked for this company and I have seen it where you were overtime to going home early.

Management has changed hands a lot over the years and supervisors do not stay a long time.

Co-workers are okay depending on who you work with.

The hardest part of the job is having a coworker cussing/hollering at you all day but has been told to stop...but don't. The second hardest is when the work load is more than one person can handle and they don't have room in the budget to hire a person to help.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when you have done your work and you can go home.
Pros
Insurance Benefits are great!
Cons
Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friends and co-workers
Shipping and receiving (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAFebruary 19, 2013
a regular day was loading and unloading trucks until complete.
Pros
friends and co-workers
Cons
hot trailers in the summer and cold trailers in the winter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Norcraft Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 20 reviews
52
43
310
20
15

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture

Norcraft Companies Reviews by Location