North Carolina State University Employee Reviews

Found 922 reviews matching the search See all 927 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCDecember 16, 2018
I teach Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP), Dynamics and Mountain Meteorology courses

Assist students in performing physics experiments

Assist faculty members in conducting quizzes, grading and tutoring.

The hardest part of the job is grading students tests. The enjoyable part is working together with students in the lab.
Pros
Free stationary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mixed
Grounds (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 16, 2018
Good work/life balance but the stress level of my work is not commensurate with my pay. Rarely feel valued and do not feel there is any room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an undergraduate researcher
MAE Undergraduate Research Assistant (BLAST Lab) (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 15, 2018
I don't believe I can accurately answer this question, since as an unpaid undergraduate, I never truly "worked" there. I can so I enjoyed my educational experience though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative, fun work environment
Teaching and Departmental Assistant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 11, 2018
I was given a variety of tasks and no day was ever the same. I was given responsibility for managing numerous grant projects and working with different organizations that the university collaborates with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great help for graduate students, but does make studying harder
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 10, 2018
Working for your department as a graduate student can be great, especially if you get tuition assistance. You may not have to pay tuition if you have in-state residency and you receive healthcare benefits. However, it is still a job and you are expected to complete your work, so it does take away time to study for classes and whatever you have to do to graduate. Finding a balance between school and work can be difficult.
Pros
Tuition assistance
Cons
Balancing work and classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Teaching Assistant
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 1, 2018
I was a Teaching Assistant at NC State University while pursuing my Master's and Ph.D degrees, which I achieved.

The pay for Teaching Assistants is poor, but the professors were excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 29, 2018
I work for this company and is a great place to work, if I have the chance to go back to NC I will love to go back and work in NCSU.. The manager are the best, and the co-workers are so nice..
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
30 mints breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 24, 2018
A typical work day consisted of answering phone calls.
Setting appointment.
Mail Marketing,
Coordinate various events
Managed the office
Filed travel vouchers
Management was very good.
Dealing with different student personalities.
I totally enjoyed working for NCSU.
Pros
Good Job
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
theyre cool
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 20, 2018
it was okay working there. when i was first hired, they seemed like nice people. management that is. and that carried out for the rest of my time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NC State
Graduate Network Technician (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 19, 2018
Great University obviously, had the pleasure of going to school their and then doing grad work within the technology lab. Highly recommend to those with ambition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate student
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 14, 2018
It's tough, but great school. Good collaborative spirit, laid-back atmosphere. Open and friendly. Organization is lacking some, but hopefully that will get better in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carrer job
Maintenance Helper (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 11, 2018
Good place to have a career growth laid back atmosphere depends on the Department you work the people are cool mgmt understanding learn while working pay is good
Pros
Monthly pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
TEMP EMPLOYEE (Current Employee) –  NCNovember 11, 2018
I have always enjoyed the time I've worked at NC State. It has always had a positive work atmosphere and strong team players. Sometimes I work side by side with the college students who've always had good work ethics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCSU is a good university
Visiting Scholar (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NC 27695November 3, 2018
Work environment is very good . Teacher and students have good relationship and to my enjoyable, I can make a lot friends who come from different countries.
Pros
I can choose the teacher i like to cooperate with
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Advancning Place to work
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 1, 2018
Great educational advancement
Continuing education is good
Compensation is a little weak based on state requirements
Great job culture
Great health benefits
Learned something new daily and trust in non management employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More Diversity needed in HR
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 1, 2018
The University as a whole needs diversity in leadership roles, especially in the Human Resources Administration Department. Promotions within is often not followed and compensation is not aligned with your education and experience. Compensation structure being used is over 10 years old and does not reflect the current market. This plays a role in the low salaries being offered. Lastly, there is not consistency related to pay on campus related to Administrative Departments, therefore based on grants received on campus their salaried are far greater than the same positions with the Administrative personnel.
Pros
Large University for State job within NC
Cons
Not up to market for compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Environment
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 31, 2018
Lack of raises. Given leave time in lieu of salary increases. The work environment was not stressful. The job did allow excellent educational and training opportunities and encouraged association memberships.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed for different schedules as well as great work environment
NCSU Softball Manager (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 31, 2018
Working as a manager for one of the athletic teams at North Carolina State University was a great experience that allowed me to learn a lot from my coworkers as well as the staff above me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working on campus
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 30, 2018
I enjoy running my own experiments with the help and guidance of the graduate students working in the lab and I feel comfortable going to the professor for questions about my experiments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good school and graduate research program
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 29, 2018
The chemical and biomolecular engineering department at NCSU has an excellent research program, very helpful faculty staffs, and definitely gears you toward professional careers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Carolina State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 930 reviews
5447
4303
3135
226
119

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.9Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss