North Dakota State University Employee Reviews

Found 117 reviews matching the search See all 118 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good day job
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDDecember 30, 2018
great benefits for a state job and coworkers nice and easy to get along with and supervisor was great and had early morning hours and it was monday through friday with weekends and holidaysoff
Pros
great benefits
Cons
early hours and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support is Everywhere
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDDecember 3, 2018
As a graduate assistant I work very flexible hours. I feel nothing but support from my supervisor, and it makes my job highly enjoyable. I tend to make my own hours and have a general guideline of my responsibilities, but the majority of my time is me being creative in how to complete my responsibilities. The workplace culture is really fun and full of highly educated and kind employees.
Pros
Supportive environment, employee directed, flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work at
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDNovember 27, 2018
Great place to work at, NDSU gives great befenit to employees and pays well respect to the individuals. The only downfall is the weather of working in ND.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay with no potential raise regardless of effort.
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  North DakotaOctober 13, 2018
The management staff are complete bullies and first class GRUMPY idiots,They don't know how to communicate properly or in professional manner with work staff or even conduct a decent interview with potential candidates with strong experience and skills.they rather people who are mentally challenge so they can have absolute control over you.
Pros
Medical benefits
Cons
Very low pay with no potential raise complete downer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best First Job Experience
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDSeptember 22, 2018
It was an awesome place to work. They were always considerate of student workers and alotted them the time for study and work balance. the staff were like family and often taught you new things each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Student Senator (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDAugust 10, 2018
Student Culture in Student Government at NDSU is highly enjoyable and cooperative. The level of collaboration is highly respectable. The job is great and learning is abundant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday out in the field
Range Technician (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, NDJuly 25, 2018
Range Technician Position
spent the days outside
learned new plants
the most enjoyable part of the job is being outdoors
the hardest part about the job are summer temperatures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
工作氛围好 工作环境舒适,时间合理
项目设计师,助理讲师 (Former Employee) –  Cass County, NDJune 16, 2018
工作环境好,学习氛围好,与同事和老师之间有良好的沟通,可以学到很多方面的知识,让我在学术和创新方面都有很大的提高。
Pros
有奖学金
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got more out of my Education
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJune 11, 2018
Working as a Teachers Assistant, I was able to meet new people, mentor new students and learn from the professors I worked for in a way that couldn't have happened through a class. I highly recommend being a teachers assistant if the opportunity presents itself.
Pros
Mentorship, Friendship
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an intern...
Intern (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJune 5, 2018
My internship went well and I feel my input was valued. The internship was a great compliment to my course schedule. The individual overseeing the internship provided outstanding leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad Student
Graduate Research Chemist (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDMay 30, 2018
Facilities for the chemistry dept are an antiquated joke. The state really ought to look into the people they hire and what they do with their time and valuable resources. I do not regret my time here nor the lessons that I took away, but feel there is great potential for better outcomes with more oversight. Staff cannot simply wander away from work and be unaccountable for months at a time.
Pros
Do whatever you want most of the time
Cons
Do whatever you want most of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have as a student!
Student Staff at NDSU RDC (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDMay 14, 2018
The pay could've been better, but they cooperate with your schedule and you will make lots of new friends in the RDC. Simple work to clear your mind outside of class. Recommended.
Pros
Discount meals, flexible schedule
Cons
No benefits, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
CUSTODIAN (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDMay 3, 2018
It is a pretty laid back place to work. I got along with the people I worked with well and there wasn't too much in the way of stress. The hardest part for me was getting to know the people, because there are so many of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job to have while a full time student.
Cereal Crop Technician (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDApril 19, 2018
This is a relax, enjoyable job to have while in school. There is always something to be done, but no stress associated with the work. Weekend work is available for a few more hours on the paycheck, but no a requirement to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for you neighbors
Slope County Extension Agent (Former Employee) –  Amidon, NDApril 14, 2018
Answering calls on all things from agriculture to 4-H, lawn and garden and all things in between. If the people work and justification wasn't based on numbers but percent of county served it would have been easier to deal with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Recreation Manager (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDApril 12, 2018
This was a part-time employment during the school semester. The working staff was very friendly and cooperative. Daily dealings with other students and faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDApril 10, 2018
very good place. Just very cold, snow half a year. City is very small. school is very nice. environment is good. people are nice to me. workplace culture is good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced and fun place to work
Student Cook and Barista (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDMarch 14, 2018
I was involved with the daily preparation of meals on wheels. When there wasn't as much to do, I worked in the coffee shop attached to the dining center. I learned how to work as part of team and speak up when needed. The most enjoyable aspect of my job was my coworkers.
Pros
Discounted meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Department
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDFebruary 26, 2018
Great Department with awesome Director.
Always encouraging and supportive to initiate new things.
Great team to work with.
Nice work culture. Kind People around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Department
ECS Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDFebruary 26, 2018
Great Department with awesome Director.
Always encouraging and supportive to initiate new things.
Great team to work with.
Nice work culture. Kind People around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Dakota State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 118 reviews
568
435
38
23
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

North Dakota State University Reviews by Location