North Highland Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search See all 48 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good if you need Job Security
Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  RemoteNovember 20, 2018
North Highland was my first fully remote job experience. It started out wonderful but gradually became horrible due to bad management of hours and pay.

Pros

- Great team and colleagues. Fun personalities. You'll enjoy chatting with people online and solving problems.
- Great workflow tools like JIRA and Slack.
- 100% remote work for contractors.

Cons

- Terrible management of contract work hours and budget issues often lead to financial inconvenience and stress. My hours fluctuated each week in an unpredictable way. It lead me to be in a horrible hole financially.
- Unstable employment. Don't work for North Highland if you want to pay your bills on time or reach financial goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not a reflection of Duke Energy
Senior Business Analyst (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 22, 2019
North Highland was the consulting firm I worked through while on a contract at Duke Energy. I had nothing but issues with that firm and would not recommend them for anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Company
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 17, 2018
Flexible company with commitment to employees and growth. Entrepreneurial company that allows you flexibility on how to grow the business. Strong culture with employees all having consulting backgrounds.
Pros
Entrepreneurial
Cons
Name recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work but limited advancement
Senior Management Consultant (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJuly 24, 2018
Limited advancement opportunities and new leadership structure makes it very challenging to get promoted. Compensation is lower than expected and compared to other consulting organizations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong regional player
Principal Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 11, 2018
Good work environment, but tends to compete across the board when it would be better as a niche player. While I wasn't there long, I would recommend the company to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Executive Assistant / Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 3, 2018
Fun workplace, with many tasks that improved my skills and experience. Great atmosphere with friendly coworkers. Basic administration tasks, helped me learn to be adequate in the workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management and Compensation
Manager/Delivery and Strategy Expert Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2018
Little diversity and little transparency.

The management seems to lack structure and direction. They tend to be reactive rather than strategic. The firm is going through lots of changes leaving the employees fearful for their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun culture with smart employees
VP Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 22, 2018
NH is a great consulting firm for folks looking to work locally rather than travel to clients sites each week. Local offices have autonomy to create their own culture (within the umbrella of the org).
Pros
great colleagues, fun culture
Cons
company has experience growing pains associated with rapid growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must enjoy working as a contractor
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 7, 2018
Good company if your background is analytical. And you enjoy working from one company to another. Lots of management change while I was with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just poor...
IT Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 22, 2018
Management is not strong, lots of silos, poor benefits (a good chunk of my wages goes towards health benefits!), and lack of respect from Sr. leadership on client site representing North Highland.
Pros
Great peers, great SMEs
Cons
Lots of passive aggressiveness, hectic, and lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company/North Highland
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 29, 2017
NH has a cook off of the employees & their efforts are judge by the employees
I have learned that all people have some type of quirks and you flow
with them
Management's attitude is very conservative, they are open to
consult with you regarding any challenge that you might have
NH's culture is the collaborative spirit & everyone is able to come to
the table, our philanthropy approach with non-profit organizations,
etc.
the hardest part of the job is the long drive to & from work
the most enjoyable part of my job is the constant meeting of NEW
people, whether it is new employees, Client meetings, vendors,
contractors, and affiliates
Pros
lunches are great, parting paid for by NH
Cons
Being relieve for morning & afternoon breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going downhill
Consulting Manager Seattle (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 21, 2018
the bottom is falling out
leadership has changed over a lot
business model changed late 2017 which was a mistake
unlimited PTO turned into flexible PTO which is not the same
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 12, 2018
- Typical day was about 9 hours
- Management was not always available to provide mentoring
- Workplace culture was laidback
- hardest part of the job was Management availability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consulting with balance
Principal Consultant, Acct Mgr, Practice Lead (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 23, 2017
Led a practice area, account team, and managed projects. Hard work but felt like contributions made a difference. Culture has changed since I was there. Some hard times, but it seems that things have gotten better overall.
Pros
Good work with good clients. Great colleagues. Growing personally and professionally
Cons
Heavy emphasis on sales started to affect client focus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Globally local consulting
Client Executive and Principal Consultant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 22, 2017
Company is facing external market pressures to changes in consulting business models and economic instability, trying new models such as travel to stabilize
Pros
culture, work local, flexibility
Cons
ability to change effectively with market pressures
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Mills, WIJanuary 19, 2018
Relaxed but fast paced environment. I did many jobs such as scheduling, sales, purchasing, HR, and supervision.
Always a challenge, but it is fun and the people are nice.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
extra responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
North Highland had a nice work environment
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 19, 2015
My typical work day consisted of making sure all the day-to-day activities were up and running efficiently. I would make sure all the Executive Assistants were fine and make sure there were no issues they needed my assistance resolving. I then would check to see if there were any Consultants or VP's that need any printing/binding of deliverables to be presented either internally or to clients.
Pros
I was able to interact with everyone within the Corporate Office.
Cons
Commute was too long at times; pay grade continued to decrease
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boutique Consulting Firm
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  OrlandoAugust 9, 2015
I spent only a short time at North Highland. The people I worked with were terrific, but consulting is just not for me. I am operationally wired and my way of thinking is in conflict with the business model of a consulting firm, which is to extend your stay, add resources, and find other opportunities to sell more work. Having worked in hospital operations for so long, I am wired to come in on budget, on time, and with minimal resources. For this reason, I went back to the world in which I came - hospital operations and am much happier.
Pros
Smart people
Cons
Stereotypical consulting
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Experience
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 22, 2015
Worked in the Dallas area on a project for a few months. This company will promise a client everything it wants, the VP and Project Manager have no technical background but make technical decisions. Was just taken back on the "make it happen" attitude and they didn't provide any guidance or resources. They really just went to the meetings to show off to the clients, of course they never had any idea what they were talking about.
Pros
none
Cons
Lack of good Management, VP and Project Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and variety could be found at North Highland
Executive Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2013
If you enjoy working with many intelligent and interesting people, this is the job for you! I learned a variety of new skills such as event coordination, facilities management, and how to work with many different personalities here. This job afforded me the ability to travel and also provided continuing education benefits.
Pros
Never a dull moment.
Cons
Commute was too much for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Highland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 48 reviews
513
411
313
23
18

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight