North Houston Pole Line Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace
HR Administrator/Payroll (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 2, 2018
My typical day at work goes smoothly....I've learned to have patience with the new hires and to be calm. The hardest part of my job was dealing with new/re-hires...Would have to explain the application over and over again.
The most enjoyable part of the job is paperwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rough place to start work as a green apprentice
Apprentice Lineman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 25, 2018
The work at North Houston Pole Line is not easy. It is very physical and you will work in the heat of the day and experience call outs in the middle of the night and in storm conditions.
Pros
You form family like relationships with your coworkers
Cons
The work load can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with a great group of indivuals.
CenterPoint Contractor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 19, 2018
I was extremely passionate about the job and passion yields success. I was faced with some extremely dangerous situations in the field and with the proper training I received I was able to overcome some extreme conditions to get the task done.
Pros
All benefits were completely paid for by the company with a excellent Pension plan.
Cons
Becasue it was contract work Job Security was limited and no paid sick days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Human Resources Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2017
This company is a great company to work for. Bosses treat you fairly and you will never feel like just a number. People are willing to help you if you're willing to ask.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive job and teaches you a lot about the electrical field and great experience.
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 31, 2017
North Houston pole line is a very great career. It's benefits and pay is great and schedule for work. Being on time and showing up to jobs for extra work is mandatory but great for work
Pros
The benefits
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competive job
Apprentice Lineman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 24, 2017
Not just any one can be a lineman it takes a strong individual who is on top of his game and has a very strong work ethic. You are dealing with everything from 4160 to 7200 volts all day long. No room for error.
Pros
Bucket trucks
Cons
Never a dull moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Heavy Equipment Operator/ Crane operator (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXMarch 6, 2017
Needed to speak and understand Spanish. Low pay scale.Managment could be on one day and not very organized the next. To many relatives working together, there were clicks you had to fit into if you wanted to advance in the company
Pros
Holiday dinners
Cons
Old equipment not maintained well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fair company.
Operator (Former Employee) –  TexasDecember 9, 2016
Not completely bad, but not completely perfect either. Could use some improvement on the management side. It all depends on who you're working for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people good company to work for
Journeyman Lineman Transmission (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 9, 2016
Enjoyed working for this company day started with job briefing, safety meeting and issues at hand and what we will be doing and issues to look out for. This was to keep everyone safe.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
was far away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Mixer truck driver and operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2016
8hours day and weekend work
it can be hard
good
plenty of co workers
working outside
no enjoyable part
Pros
always work
Cons
no lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe company to work for
Powerline Technician­ High Voltage (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2016
by the best job ive ever had and they take care of their employees needs, jobs were always fun and exciting. they tought me everything i know about about building powerlines . i would go back in a heart beat.
Pros
good pay and good secure jobs
Cons
too far away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Small Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 5, 2015
I learned to set large concrete and metal transmission poles and finishing concrete foundations. Loved being in compliance to OSHA safety standards and Basic Plus certification Medic First Aid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Human Resources Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 23, 2015
Everyday you're faced with new opportunities and challenges. Great work atmosphere! Very hardworking and intelligent people.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Bad area to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at the cost of employees health and life!
Lineman (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 9, 2014
Unsafe work environment! I've seen numerous injuries due to un maintained equipment and managements poor decision making.
Pros
A paycheck
Cons
Bottom of the barrel equipment and management!
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
FIXED ASSET MANAGER / DOT COMPLIANCE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 2, 2013
A typical day at work was doing a lot of paperwork and talking on the phone.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
always on the edge of your seat
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New adventure, everyday!
ELECTRICIAN HELPER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2013
I assist the journeyman in the repair of electrical lines, climbing towers to do maintenance
Pros
learning new skills
Cons
odd working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technically proficient
Journeyman Lineman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 9, 2012
Construction of Distribution powerlines in Houston, TX, Africa, and Storm Restoration around the country.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Lead Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Sabine Pass, TXMay 22, 2012
Graet place to work and great learning curves. Need mor companies like this one.
Pros
learning curve programs
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, isn't a secure job.
Grounds Man (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 16, 2012
A typical day at work was hard, dirty work. What I learned how to prep for the lineman. The management was good. My co-workers were friendly. The hardest part of the job was spending most of my time away from my family. The enjoyable part of the job was the pay.
Pros
excellent pay
Cons
time consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 10Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Houston Pole Line. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 20 reviews
57
48
31
22
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture

North Houston Pole Line Reviews by Location