North Slope Borough School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Anaktuvuk Pass, AKMay 8, 2018
While working for the school district, people treated me wrongfully due to the color of my skin. If i wasn't family to anyone in the bus routes, they looked at you like trash and didn't like you off the bat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKApril 12, 2018
They offer good training and opportunities for new drivers, looking to build a resume. Small, remote town of Alaska, so the driving experience is unique, but the same valuable training is available.There is also a nearby college to help support training/education needs.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
remote
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The boss is sarcastic
School Bus Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Barrow, AKFebruary 12, 2018
My review is they need better management because the bus barn is falling apart under new management. The barn needs a new boss that knowlegable for the job..
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great job kept me around my kids all day
Cook 2 (Former Employee) –  Atqasuk, AKJanuary 15, 2018
the hardest part about my job was never really having a cooks help did alot of the work on my own. also it taught me better time management since i had to cook food in a certain amount of time for all the students to eat.
Pros
free breakfast and lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be tough with flexibility to be successful.
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKApril 14, 2017
The North Slope is a very remote place. You must be resilient and resourceful to be successful. The demands are very high, sometimes the support is weak. Your living conditions are pretty good when you look around you but if you compare it to the lower 48 you will be disappointed. Adventures and experience are abundant and unforgettable!! You need to do your research and know what you are signing on for and how to live in the culture and climate. Not for the weak at heart. Pay was great, benefits were great. Glad I went!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro active, friendly environment.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Atqasuk, AKFebruary 16, 2017
Friendly co workers, Good job experience, Gained a lot of learning experiences. Excellent health benefits, supervisor keeps you update with any safety issues.
Pros
Good health benefits, learning experiences.
Cons
Not enough training provided for further training advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grat company to work for
Maintenance Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKAugust 31, 2016
grade A workforce top notch supervisors and management team. this company offers awesome benefits and will train employee's to better their careers.
Pros
great people to work with and for
Cons
on the north slope
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKSeptember 28, 2015
Working in Alaska is tough but the opportunity you get as far as personal security is great. You know everyone you work with as it is such a small town very home like environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Opportunity
Human Resource Personnel Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKSeptember 3, 2015
Many opportunities for educational experiences. Very rewarding job to work with students and be apart of their educational growth.
It is a community rich in cultural experiences. Polar bears, Arctic foxes, caribou, and whaling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers, great atmosphere
Certified Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Barrow, AKJuly 8, 2015
work from 8:30-5, OT to finish deadlines, hour long lunch,
Great co-workers, Great management. The managers are very understanding to personal needs
Pros
co-workers eat together and have potlucks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Slope Borough School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 11 reviews
57
41
32
20
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.5Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

North Slope Borough School District Reviews by Location