Northern Arizona University Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 297 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5154
495
333
26
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 295 reviews matching the search See all 297 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Woker Position
Student Unions Information Desk (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJuly 16, 2018
This position was an awesome networking opportunity as a student at NAU. It gave great customer service and supervisor experience before entering the workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to long ago
Grounds Crew and landscaping (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJuly 9, 2018
I honestly done remember this far back, on what we did at NAU. we were the grounds crew, a lot of fun and worked outside. Worked with three other members
Pros
outside work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stifling bureaucracy
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 28, 2018
Cool way to get paid very poorly for soul-sucking work in institution where the upper administration doesn't seem to actually care about providing a high quality educational experience to students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nau
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 22, 2018
The staff and faculty of NAU are great to work with but NAU had not provided employee raises in years, which is affecting every employee on campus. Salaries are extremely low and non-competitive.
Pros
Medical, Dental
Cons
Salaries are low, raises not provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to for class.
HYPO2 Sport, Student Consultant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 21, 2018
The work I did was a requirement for my upper division marketing courses. I was not compensated other than for credit for my course. However, the work was highly beneficial and helped my growth and development in the marketing industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to make ends meet
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 19, 2018
My job allowed me to afford a place to live but nothing more. I was threatened to be written up if I went over 30 hours a week but we were paid under minimum wage. It was a difficult place to stay sometimes, but the staff was amazing so it was worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Telecom Tech Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 19, 2018
Good people,bad leadership.Great place to work,but very bad leadership.Great work with team mates,great working with staff,faculty and students.Had a good time working there
Pros
Work enviroment
Cons
Bad leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a pretty cool place.
Campus Recreation Attendant (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 17, 2018
I enjoy my coworkers a lot and my hours are very flexible with school. I learned a lot about the facility and where everything goes, the management is very understanding and supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Student Position
Weight Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 17, 2018
NAU was a great work environment since I was a student at the time. The hours were very flexible for me, and I loved working with fellow students. It was a great environment for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but hard to live on and the president runs the school like a business.
TEMPORARY STUDENT WORKER (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 10, 2018
The culture of the work force at the school is a good one. Plenty of teamwork and collaboration. However, work is complicated by the way the president runs the school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if with the correct department
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 4, 2018
Loved working with my department. Has very fast moving days but can also have very slow moving days. Management is great and typically can work with your school schedule.
Pros
Great work enviornment
Cons
Wage is very low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp job but great
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJune 1, 2018
It was a temporary college position. It was a great learning experience and prepared me for my next administrative position one I was done with school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but no longer in service
GIS Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 29, 2018
Loved it, it was my growth in my career. Great leaderships! Many opportunites to learn all aspects of archaeology, surveying, excavation, reporting, editing. Many times advancement in my career and growth was exponential. WOnderful environment where everyone was willing to help others learn and advance.
Pros
Professional workers
Cons
Axed by the Navajo Nation Historic Department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rating
Phone Agent (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 25, 2018
Okay company, They strive to make communication through the university excellent. They need better processes for there phone calls and scripts. :) :) :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 24, 2018
ASNAU is a creative environment that allows you to hone the skills necessary to be successful in life after college. You will meet a diverse set of people and have the opportunity to work with an organization that takes pride in everything they do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job as a student.
Lab TA (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 23, 2018
The job was great however it wasnt for everyone. It was a job mainly for chemistry students and those that wanted to teach. Luckily my position was paid minimum wage where as other student workers are being paid federal minimum wage which is $4/hour less than myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing & Operations Office
Admissions Assistant (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 17, 2018
Working on campus is a great job due to the flexibility of your class schedule. But unfortunately, college jobs pay are not sufficient enough to carry out a living. Its very hard earning 8.50/hr when you have rent, bills, and tuition to provide for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers, poor management/supervisors
Microbiology Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 15, 2018
The supervisors often didn't know what they were doing, and it often felt like they were just wasting my time, whether this be at meetings, or staff bonding exercises. The supervisors were rarely put together and always seemed to be scrambling for what was next, as if they hadn't planned at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 13, 2018
A most excellent experience. It is a relaxed work culture with many opportunities for growth. The quality of life in Flagstaff is the best in Arizona.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary summer job, great while I was there.
Chemistry Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 6, 2018
Honestly I only did a temporary summer job for someone I knew in the Chemistry department. Not much to add, because I wasnt a part or full time employee
Pros
Great pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northern Arizona University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Northern Arizona University Reviews by Location