Northern Natural Gas Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 37 reviews
Ratings breakdown
510
410
37
26
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 37 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant Operator
Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Redfield, IAApril 3, 2018
As a Operator I was responsible for the operation function the Underground storage Gas facility. I was required take reading and operate from a HMI/ CDC computer console. Operate and maintain seven compressors and an gas driven Turbine compressor. Operated heat steam boilers and Plant Emergercy Generator
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with.
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Oakland, IAMarch 15, 2018
I maintained building interiors and exteriors. The managers were very encouraging and patient. I felt like I was part of a team. I learned many safety procedures because of the potential hazards.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, steady, but not the greatest.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMarch 13, 2018
Good, not great place to work. Great place to get experience in the pipeline industry.
PTO is the best part. They work with you on working hours if you have events or child care needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and confused architectural direction
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 16, 2018
Poor management on managing resources. Very few full time resources manage several projects at the same time. Full time resources are given overwhelming responsibilities/priorities. organization is very confused in defining goals and implementation. Overall Architectural direction is lacking. Although there is job security, there is very less scope of advancement. Organization is very slow in adapting to new industry standards.
Pros
work hours
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northern Natural - one great company!
Corporate Safety Director (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 16, 2018
People made the company, management made great decisions, facilities are old but being updated, corporate tends to direct at arms length, everyone tends to pull together
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Environment
SSIS, SSRS, SSAS (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 25, 2017
Great place to work to build your career and great workplace culture! You learn new things everyday and a a lot of opportunities for growth. Very relaxed atmosphere!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance non existant
Tax Analyst (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 19, 2017
It is a badge of honor in this environment to work 60+ hrs, to dedicate yourself, to return to work immediately following surgery. The thought process was 'everyone is working through something.'
Pros
no clocking in
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strict and may have poor ethics
Engineer (Current Employee) –  OmahaSeptember 5, 2017
You will be reprimanded for minor mistakes. If you are in with the right people you may be able to get away with major things and still get the big promotion. Leadership is lacking due to promotion is the style of the good old boys. Ethics is talked a lot about, but when it comes down to it, it isn't very high. They have a good bonus program that seems to be going to the wayside. Goals are made but you may have no control over that goal.
Pros
nice people, good pay
Cons
low morale, poor work/life balance, poor management at many levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not go back to this company for 30/hr
Sr. O&M Technician (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJune 28, 2017
terrible upper management and un realistic time frames on projects. Treated like your a number and not a person and you are not needed. To much red tape where it is hard for you to do your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement
Sr. Material Administrator (Former Employee) –  IowaApril 13, 2017
Company culture is poor. Upper management needs to take the time to see what the culture is really like instead of thinking the employee repore is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Omaha NEMarch 14, 2017
I worked as a contractor in Omaha for almost two years. The company is very process oriented and has a hard time veering from the process, even if business justification is made that supports a small change.

They wait until the last possible second to let you know whether or not your contract will be extended. Management cannot make decisions so there is a lot of down time. Managers are micro managers and offer no flexibility. The way things were done 20 years ago, is the way things are done today. Very stagnant environment.
Pros
Covered parking, if you got there early enough
Cons
micro managers, can't make decisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment as well as personnel in-house and contractors.
Chief Inspector (Former Employee) –  Oakland, IAFebruary 27, 2017
Safety, Quality and Production. Production took care of itself. Enjoyed the locals way of life just like the rest of my work. Great Management Team in place. Good environment work wise. The hardest part leaving, the best, being associated in a cohesive atmosphere amongst all involved.
Pros
All employees
Cons
Mud always
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced, heavy workloads
Accounts Payable Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 25, 2016
Accounts Payable complete from front to back. Assisted with Tax files for year end. Customer Service interaction with Buyers and Vendors
Pros
Nice location right off interstate
Cons
High work loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Environmental Inspector (Former Employee) –  Marquette, MIMay 16, 2016
Long days relaxed work environment, Making sure contractor is following company, and osha safety guidelines and ensuring that EPA regulations are met both federal and state
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bland work atmosphere
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 20, 2016
If you want to work in a place where you walk in set down and tap away at a computer this is your place. Creativity is at a minimum and continuing to do it they way it has always been done is encouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michigan is beautiful part of the country. We were building a 7 mile pipeline through some of the roughest part of the country.
Nace Inspector APS Avery Pipeline Services (Former Employee) –  Marquette, MIJanuary 28, 2016
We were building a new pipeline through an area that was mostly solid rock, so there was a lot of dynamite blasting. The work area very confined space and lots of steep hills. There was a lot of driving to and from work as well as driving during the day back and forth along the pipeline. My coworkers and bosses were enjoyable to work with.
Pros
The pay was very good
Cons
I had to live away from my family and only saw them about every four months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair to poor engineering . Complicated working areas
ELECTRICAL/SAFETY Inspector (Former Employee) –  Mullinville, KSOctober 27, 2015
Inspection of electrical work

Learned that the drawings were not very applicable

Management under pressure

Coworkers stretched to make things work

Excavation in a maze of piping with out drawings

Job completion
Pros
Great manager- regular hours
Cons
Incomplete electrical drrawings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northern is a challenging place to work. A new task will be done each and every day which is nice
Sr O&M technician (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 23, 2015
Northern challenges me to learn new things each day. Northern is not a single skill company. Northern employees are multi skilled. Not only do i handle cathodic protection but I also work with measurement. Working for Northern is over all a satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day consisted of supervisory duties
Senior Operations and Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Cunningham, KSJune 13, 2015
A typical day consisted of safety briefings and typical field work to include air monitoring and valve and pipeline maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going company
Compressor Mechanic (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Liberal, KSMay 5, 2015
I really enjoyed my time out at the plant in Kansas. Even though it was an internship, i learned a lot from the guys i worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport