Northrop Grumman Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Software Engineer 5 (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 28, 2018
Really great employer focusing on hard engineering and solving tough problems for customers. The people are very friendly and tasked with making everyone successful. Low drama; great teamwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
arrive business casual, check mail, get coffee, begin working, lunch, leave
Software Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAMarch 28, 2018
I work a typical day usually as described in the summary:. arrive business casual, check mail, get coffee, begin working, lunch, leave for the day. The office does not come with me.
Pros
time off for health care needs, business casual, jean Friday
Cons
may have a long commute, work in the office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See new places
Field Electrical Avionics Technician Level (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 27, 2018
Working with Northrop was a great opportunity to meet new people and see a lot of new places. I got to travel quite a bit and see many countries. Overall it was a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Large Defense Contractor
Distributed Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bohemia, NYMarch 27, 2018
Stressful employment environment. Well paid for that stress level. Good workplace environment (co-workers were excellent) Learned many skills on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 26, 2018
No recent employment history is available to validate a useful survey for current use. Employment history with Northrop Grumman Corporation as of 2012.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating Place to Work
Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILMarch 26, 2018
Working at Northrop really make you proud. The project that you're working on help to protect our country. The technology is both legacy and modern.
Pros
Good people and interesting work
Cons
Not able to talk about what you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job atmosphere
GCSS-Army US Instructor (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXMarch 26, 2018
Enjoyed going to work everyone greeted you with good morning. The most enjoyable part of the job was going out teaching the Soldiers the new GCSS-Army system.
Pros
Great group of people to work with.
Cons
Contracting limited yearly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Manager-Project Management (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMarch 26, 2018
Enjoyed working there. I wish I could have stayed longer. When another position opens in the Washington area I will gladly apply and work there. Currently only Naval positions are open.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Software Architect (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXMarch 26, 2018
A typical workday was very fun and exciting. There is opportunity to learn a lot with the provided learning apps like Lynda.com. The environment is very relaxed.
Pros
Learning Tools.
Cons
Contract work can leave you without a job if you aren't placed somewhere else.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great until the layoff
Lead Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MDMarch 26, 2018
I enjoyed working at NGC until they laid off our division of 823 people. I was left to supervise my install crew with little interference from upper management. I really enjoyed the job while it lasted.
Pros
per diem
Cons
lay off's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co.
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLMarch 25, 2018
Awesome place... Cool Products, great stability and career growth.
If you believe in something, create it. That’s what we encourage everyone at Northrop Grumman to do. Whether you’re building a new technology in the lab, improving a process in the office or starting up a new employee resource group, we have an environment where it can all happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company did not have the health and welfare of the employee in mind.
Access Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAMarch 25, 2018
This was an ACS contract and was not run with the employee's health care in mind. The new company ran the contract worse than Northrop Grumman so it seems like this contract attracts the same type of employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fingerprint Technician /Clerk
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 24, 2018
For nine years I worked as a Government Contractor with Homeland Security , Processing paperwork and coordinating fingerprints for new applicants . I worked with a team and gathered statistical data as well as communicated with applicants and directed them as needed .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Business Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Woodlawn, MDMarch 24, 2018
Good pay, flexibility is great, work from home options. Well known and secure company. Opportunities to try new things and stretch your skills. Training opportunities are rovided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILMarch 23, 2018
I worked at NG during the recession, so salary and benefits were extremely low. I’ve heard things have improved since then. The 9/80 schedule and paid OT is a huge perk.
Pros
9/80 schedule and OT
Cons
Management is lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sound company in an unstable market
Facilities Engineer/Planner (Former Employee) –  Redondo, WAMarch 22, 2018
Aerospace Contractor totally beholden to U.S. Defense whims, plus shifts in corporate structure, budget, staff and culture make every quarter an adventure.
Pros
9/80 work schedule
Cons
Raises by inflation only, gotta go up the corporate ladder for better pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive, and engaging work place
TEAM LEAD (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMarch 22, 2018
Was a great place to work. If you are a hard worker and have drive to move up, there are many options for you. Challenging work but very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible benefits, misleading merit structure, low pay
Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 21, 2018
A circa 1975 engineering workplace culture. Seeks to retain young talent on executive slides, yet rather build a designated smoking area on site than offer better health benefits. Misinforms new talent when explaining merit system. Senior and executive management are detached from employees.

Excellent employment mobility.There are always employment opportunities within the organization. Employees are encouraged to change roles within the company by management.
Pros
9/80 Friday option, work life balance, career opportunities, lunch meetings
Cons
unfair merit system, nepotism, not inclusive, horrible health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political hiring
Technician (Former Employee) –  Sierra Vista, AZMarch 21, 2018
I love the work I did for the company. But everyone there are siblings so it makes it rough for advancing especially when someone is related to a manager. Also I was a contractor and I was assigned to train someone , trained then when trained they let me go cause it was cheaper to not hire me on.
Pros
Pay, benefits workload
Cons
Management, advancement, contracting vs hire-ons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLMarch 21, 2018
learned to work as team in melbourne florida ,learned to install sound installation around the new satellite,its was a great project to work on,great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northrop Grumman. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,765 reviews
51.5K
41.3K
3669
2172
1105

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

3.0Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight