Northshore School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 40 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
public school
Substitute Paraeducator/office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAApril 9, 2019
Public School district pre-k-12th grade. Worked as a substitute paraeducator. Always have work available everyday. as a substitute you do not receive benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Substitute (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAMarch 12, 2019
NSD is a great place to work. The staff is friendly and willing to work with you. The students are great too. Each school is different as it is a large district but it is a great community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jobs POSTED not available then they CALL references
Administrative Professional (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAFebruary 13, 2019
they post jobs that are no longer available. then send you a note to fill out their full application. but your not considered.
THEN, they send a request to your reference.
BUT your not getting an interview.
their response?
for me to call my references to tell them not to respond.
HOW CRAZY IS THIS?

WORST PART, THE PEOPLE MANAGING IT DON'T SEE IT AS A PROBLEM.

YOU DONT CONTACT REFERENCES FOR PEOPLE WHO AREN'T SERIOUSLY CONSIDERED FOR JOB.

THE REFERALLS ARE TIME CONSUMING AND ARE MEANT FOR REAL JOBS.

SHOWS ME WHO THEY ARE. DON'T WORK HERE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, training is excellant and a great group of people family like
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAJanuary 18, 2019
This is an awesome job for a stay at home mom or retiree. hard to make a living with all the off time due to school schedule. Lots of half days and summers off
Pros
family friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind and inviting place to work
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WASeptember 11, 2018
Very welcoming and team-based work structure. Great place to work and was as good of a first job that I could ask for. I wish I could have worked there for longer than a summer before going back to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well supported teachers
Learning Center Teacher (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAAugust 20, 2018
Northshore has an amazing amount of great staff. The student body is more diverse across the district than most realize. The building cultures were warm and welcoming, and there is a great deal of support at the district level.

I was very happy at all the schools.
Pros
Warm and welcoming district, across the board
Cons
Can be tough to get a continuing contract due to the competitiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher-Secondary
Mathematics Teacher (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAAugust 2, 2018
There is a lot of job security in this position but it is possible to have a principal who is not qualified for management and that makes doing your job, which involves so many facets, difficult to complete.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job.
Substitute Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WA 98021July 18, 2018
Great place to work. Nice people to work with. Management very helpful and the training is excellent. I would recommend this job to people that have kids in school or retired.
Pros
Great management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collaborative and busy work area
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAJuly 9, 2018
Lots of communicating and working with another. It's a great area to build friendships and gain experience whether the job is temporary or long term.
Pros
lunch breaks
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexibility
Substitute Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAMay 26, 2018
Good job for a stay at home mom or retired person wishing to work a few days a week. Some of the regular staff are friendlier than others. If you haven't worked there for a long time, you definitely feel like an outsider.
Pros
Short work shift
Cons
Fitting in with exisiting staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to complete my Degree
Internal Server Team Intern (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAMay 11, 2018
NSD was my long-term internship while I completed my bachelor's degree. I was hands-on with VM servers and machines. I recommend this to anyone working on a degree. I worked on Linux and Windows and learned the ins and outs of a medium sized system while performing the duties of a Systems Administrator.
Pros
Many good people and a lot of delicious pot luck lunches.
Cons
you work hard and they can be strict as it is a school system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a nice place to work
Food Services Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  Kenmore, WAApril 9, 2018
The people I worked with were nice, the manager was competent, but leadership was often out of touch with the needs of the staff. Pay rate was so low that they failed to attract a large number of staff, which made it possible for underperforming workers to keep their jobs for too long,
Pros
Working there as parent of school age children
Cons
under appreciated and under compensated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Mission - Supporting kids and families
Support Services Fiscal Director (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAApril 7, 2018
Public sector is very different from private sector.
Emphasis is always on what is best for kids.
Decisions made by elected officials (school board) are subject to constituents, not always sustainable and prudent.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Public agency
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support for Special Education
Education Support Personnel (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAFebruary 23, 2018
Northshore SD is a great place to work. Most of the staff is wonderful and very supportive of the students. The only negative is that this is a public school, so the pay is low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAJanuary 5, 2018
The hours were nice, but the pay wasn't great. The benefits helped make up for the lack of pay. Management was always there if you had concerns and as co-workers go 95% of them were always willing to help out if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to start your carrer
Support Services Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WANovember 12, 2017
I would recommend this job to anyone wanting to get a start working for the State of Washington. Hours are decent and as you move up in years the benefits are better.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time work environment
Cook's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WANovember 11, 2017
Worked part time as a substitute cook's assistant. On call to each school within the Northshore School District. Prepared lunch for 200-500 students daily. Fun work environment-the kids are great!
Pros
Feeding hungry kids
Cons
part time hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice workplace.
School Psychologist (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAJuly 12, 2017
I worked only 3 months in a temporary assignment. Management and colleges were helpful and accepting. The workload was acceptable and they offer a structured and nice workplace. I love working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northshore School District
Systems Administrator Intern (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAJuly 11, 2017
I was only an intern for several months, so have not experienced the company too deeply. I got good system administration experience. Manager was very helpful and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school system
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAJune 8, 2017
Excellent school system with great leadership
Schools I have worked in have had a culture of inclusion and tolerance of all people. Teachers, staff, and administrators are committed to environments conducive to not only academic development of students, but their healthy social developments as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northshore School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 40 reviews
519
411
36
21
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Northshore School District Reviews by Location