Northwest Special Recreation Association Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Place to work
Special Needs Aide (Current Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILOctober 7, 2018
This is a job you take because you love what you do. You enjoy making a difference in others lives. The participants are amazing and I am lucky to call some of them my friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILJune 13, 2018
NWSRA is a wonderful place to volunteer if you are passionate about improving the lives of persons with disabilities. There is never a dull moment. Every day is different.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Assistant Coach, Coach and Counselor (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILApril 28, 2018
Definitely start off by volunteering here, this work is not for the faint of heart. I stayed here after volunteering and moved into a paid position. The work is extremely rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to intern
Camp Counselor/Fieldwork Student (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILApril 14, 2018
I did my fieldwork there and it was enjoyable but hard work. I did a camp where I was a councilor and I subbed for some camps and also did the day program PURSUIT.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Settings, Not Always In The Same Place
Inclusion Aide (Former Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILJuly 20, 2017
A typical day would be, you are assigned a child before hand and you are expected to accompany the child for the entire day. Depending on the season, you're not always indoors, since it's the summer, they are usually at the pool, or doing outdoor activities.The hardest part of the job is not knowing how to help the child if they have a stressful time doing an activity or getting along with the other children. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you can grow a little relationship with the kids in the camp, including the participant.
Pros
Free access to outdoor activities and indoor activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Lives
Recreation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILNovember 7, 2016
The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to enhance the lives of individuals and letting them build friendships. It was a great opportunity.
Pros
fun work place
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest part of the job
Inclusion Aide (Current Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILJune 11, 2015
when you work with kids with special needs you want to be there with them for anything they might need, but you also want them to have some independence
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you enjoy engaging in recreational pursuits with people with disabilities
Assistant program instructor (Current Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILNovember 12, 2014
Worked there throughout high school and returned after completing my masters degree in a related field just to supplement my time.
Pros
Nice staff and fellow co-workers
Cons
Disorganization amongst management and low hourly wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Area Coordinator, Inclusion/Program Staff (Current Employee) –  Rolling Meadows, ILAugust 13, 2014
Plenty of variety in programming; from special events to clubs to inclusion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative ideas
N/A (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 5, 2012
Student Council is a fun environment to explore everyone's creative minds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Northwest Special Recreation Association reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northwest Special Recreation Association. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 12 reviews
59
43
30
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.2Job Security/Advancement
4.5Management
4.5Culture

Northwest Special Recreation Association Reviews by Job Title

Northwest Special Recreation Association Reviews by Location