NXP Semiconductors Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
less than 2 or more than 20
Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 21, 2018
99% of people fall into one of two categories, there less than 2 years or there more than 20. This means people are not excepting new ideas, new people don't stay long and the only ones that are there longer than 20 have survived layoffs from Motorola and Freescale by creating churn that makes them look like they are the only ones that can do the job. In reality things could be streamlined so much they could lay off a few dozen and not feel a hit.
Pros
I make my own schedule
Cons
It takes me longer to open a door than a car can stop all by itself using NXP tech.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me the opportunity to start
Marcom Intern (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 9, 2018
I was right out of undergrad so I was thankful to have the opportunity to put some of my skills to use. Unfortunately the corporate culture is not great for young people since everyone in the office seemed to be middle-aged and up and nobody talks to one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 6, 2018
Good place to work.
Good team.
Every Team not larger than 10.
Startup like environment.
Good Cultural Diversity.
Good stock benefits.
Good Paid time offs.
Cons
Avg age of Employee 40-50 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company dealing with consolidation in semiconductors
Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 5, 2018
Good company dealing with consolidation in semiconductors. Management driven by finance department, but that may have changed since the Qualcomm acquisition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and lots of learning opportunity
IT Collaboration Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 30, 2017
NXP is a great company to work and there is a lot to learn from mergers the company has gone through.

Management is great in IT and does their best to keep the IT Roadmap communicated to the entire organization.
Pros
Lots of PTO, work/life balance, benefits
Cons
European HQ, Mergers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasis on market and not on talent needed.
Field Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 12, 2017
NXP and previously Philips has been a great place to work. Unfortunately the past two years NXP became caught up in the merger mania in the semiconductor industry and management got caught up in the situation. In a time of growth, the sales and technical support staff was cut significantly, which seemed counter productive to the goals of the company. Emphasis was put on short term results regardless of market changes with little value placed on talent. Would have been different if personnel were given options, even if it meant relocation. But since middle management over the past 3 years were disconnected to the talent and the markets served, talent became less valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Firmware Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 10, 2017
Good place to work at. with exciting and engaging work. Challenging, state of the art, exciting package, interesting people to work with and amazing place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job
Manufacturing Quality Intern (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZOctober 2, 2017
Love the work culture. Everyone is very hard working. The employees and managers are easy to reach out and very helpful. There are amazing benefits of joining the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Business Line Marketing Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 25, 2017
NXP is a great company to work for. They pay very well and work environment is great. Lots of growth opportunities and products are great. I left because of new company acquisition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Probe Technician (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZSeptember 17, 2017
I work independently and management is okay. There are different positions. They celebrate holidays. It is hard to get on as a permanent employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NXP Semiconductors
Marketing Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 25, 2017
Great workplace, I enjoyed the team that I work with within all of the various business units and events. Great learning experience. I was able to provide support and develop exciting and amazing projects.
Pros
great working environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people; plenty of corporate red tape and tight project deadlines
Liaison Creative Services (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 17, 2017
This company has been undergoing many changes since it merged with Freescale. Many cuts to jobs have lowered the morale. Since the headcounts are low, lean teams are often trying to accomplish more than they can chew and can lead to some long and stressful days.
Pros
Some remote work allowed
Cons
unrealistic deadlines and job uncertainty
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a good place
Security Mnagger (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 10, 2017
Honestly the biggest challenge is the merger situation... it is very unstable. We seemed be in a never ending cycle of selling and buying. This reduced the loyalty to the company.
Pros
Great people
Cons
instability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
machine operator (Former Employee) –  LagunaJuly 6, 2017
1st,2nd,3rd shifting schedule
All employees are friendly
More benifits to all employees
Fully airconditioned
High quality product
One of the largest company in the phil.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
RF Applications Intern (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 6, 2017
Everybody at NXP is very friendly and easy to get along with, which makes the environment very friendly to work in. Additionally, there is a perfect work-life balance at NXP, so I'd highly recommend people apply.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, friendly environment, great experts on-board, slow professional growth
Analog Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  MoscowJune 2, 2017
Friendly workplace environment and thoughtful management makes it easy to adopt to all business processes. Company's developments are intended to be market leading products. That allows employees to be on the edge of technology, market trends and customer’s needs. But it might be hard to keep progressing fast due to extremely high proficiency of co-workers taking the most challenging part of the work and a lot of routine formal paperwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nxp
Information Technology (Current Employee) –  United StatesMay 24, 2017
Everyone in the United States always appears exhausted because they have been talking on the phone with the Netherlands at strange hours. There are a lot of cliques and employees are overly protective to the detriment of the team. The management team seems disinterested in growing employees from within.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low employee morale, employees exhausted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im a contractual here
Production operator (Former Employee) –  LagunaMarch 13, 2017
this is my first job., since i graduate at college., everything is a first.,
i've experience 16 hours duty., i know this is a bad to my health but i survive in 5 months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good pace to work.
Engineering Technician III (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZMarch 13, 2017
the company is great to work for but there is little structure in management. you need experience to get in but the benefits are great. i would recommend this company to potential employees.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Test Engineer (Automotive Sensors Division) (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJanuary 1, 2017
Provides great benefits and a good salary and also provides a nice work/life balance. Work is challenging but not overwhelming. Co-workers were all experienced and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NXP Semiconductors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 118 reviews
543
442
324
28
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

70out of 100

The Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at NXP Semiconductors.

NXP Semiconductors Reviews by Location