NYC Health + Hospitals Employee Reviews

Found 705 reviews matching the search See all 710 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible rate.
Behavioral Health Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 16, 2019
I m afraid to describe my true feelings about working for this organization. I don't think that I feel safe and I don't want jeopardize my job. However, this is a family business, only people in the circle are getting promoted regardless the qualified or not. I keep it short cause I am not trying to create enemies at work.
Pros
no room for improvement, started as BHA and will end as a BHA
Cons
Family and Friends' Business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very pleasant place worik.
Risk Management Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 14, 2019
very nice place to work or intern. It was just tem so i just as i got use to working it was over. I helped fliled documents and place them in binders,answer phones and set up meetings.
Pros
nice place to learn
Cons
hard to be placed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhealthy
Pharmaceutical Technician (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 11, 2019
no room for growth and the environment is toxic. this hospital needs a total restructure of it staff, from the CEO all the was down this is a job for a young worker trying to get work experience for a few years and move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYFebruary 6, 2019
I started of working here as a paid internship, because my program
wanted me to gained some experience working in the cafeteria
like i learned so much from my other workers. and i had the best time enjoying working at the hospital. So i would recommend a
friend working here. the pay is very good, the managers were very
nice as i were being treated like family. Applied to the job today
because i have experience working in service aide food service.
Pros
Great managers excellent pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
CMO at two of the system hospitals (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 27, 2019
great place to work. Lots of opportunities in the system.
Professionally and personally satisfying work.
Excellent benefits and pay.
lots of career advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good comerarede and fellowship, in the last few years with the change in ignorant, inexperienced management. Would not reccomend working
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2019
Initially, when I started working there in 1978, there was good structure, training and knowledgable leadership. Staff was treated with respect and meetings were more inclusive and informative.

The new leadership is there due to political connections, had no hospital experience. Ill treats staff and provides no meaningful guidance or vision.
Pros
Nyc pension and health care benefits.
Cons
Arrogant upper management despite ignorance of the system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Educational and Purpose Driven
Executive Assistant to CMO (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2019
New York City Health and Hospitals/Bellevue is a place where you can feel fulfilled by simply helping patients at any level. The Bellevue team is made up of staff from many different departments that all come together for the common goal of providing our patients with the best experience and quality care
Pros
Great Benefits; Family environment
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth
Full Time - Coordinating Manager-Level B (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2019
There's no opportunities for promotions or growth at my current position. But I do like my career and experience in reproductive health and working with adolescents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Custodial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 24, 2019
Very fast paced work environment. I would recommend to anyone now starting in the work field also a lot of room for advancement. I developed a lot of work skills at this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Accountable Care Manager Nurse L-II (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY 11226January 15, 2019
I would do it again. Supportive Co workers. Great benefit. Paid time leave. Life insurance benefit. Discount on a lot of product. Disability benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harlem hospital school of imaging sciences.
Radiologic Technologist Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 15, 2019
I was a student and I don’t recommend anyone going there for a career change and or starting their career. The school is poorly ran with absolutely no structure .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clerical Associate III (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 14, 2019
Great place to work in. The staff is very helpful to the patients and always wanting to help. The enviornment is very peaceful and relaxed. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard not much room for advancement
Assistant Coordinating Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 13, 2019
You work really hard but to many layoffs for office administration lately not much room for advancement or growth. Everyone in fear of next round coming. If your a nurse or a doctor you have a better chance.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
To many layoffs lately
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Student Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 3, 2019
The place is welcoming and an experience every administrative worker should have i learned so many things coming to this job. i started off as a high school intern and they hired me as college intern
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fib
N/A (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 1, 2019
Relaxed paced working hard environment
Have a complex system
Better pay
Have to have better communication
Better pay
Need to hire full time staff for the benefits of some workers
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
Overly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
STEAMFITTER'S HELPER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 1, 2019
i was a steamfitters helpers in the hospital we maintain the heat all sprinkles systems it was a very friendly environment wish i never left the hardest part was really nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HHC Review
Clerical Associate III (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 24, 2018
Working for NYC H+H is not too bad. I am fortunate to work a 9-5 Monday - Friday schedule. Coworkers are very mixxxxyyyyyy, they will have your name in everything but a prayer. SMH. Come to work, do your work, mind your business and go home. They place you anywhere and not necessarily according to your capabilities. There are competent people who are not given jobs which will allow them to shine and there are incompetent people who have positions for which they do not qualify for. I suggest getting in and using it as a stepping stone.
Pros
City benefits (retirement, health insurance, union, paid time off etc)
Cons
Disorganized organization, little room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYC H+H tech job
ESD Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2018
Pros:
1. My former colleagues were patient and very knowledgeable. It was an honor to have worked with them.
2. Work itself is very easy due to the troubleshooting steps and one's basic understanding of IT.
3. Offers 4 day shifts.
4. Not constantly being under the microscope as long as one follows proper procedures and/or ask senior techs if needed.

Cons:
1. Work culture is very bad. Primarily focuses on keeping call queue to zero, does not seem to focus resolving caller's issue when calls are high thus callers will call back wanting progress update often.
2. Training needs to be longer than 2 weeks. As an analyst, we are in charge of determining trends, learning software functions/infrastructure installed, knowledge of IT in general, policies/procedures that vary for each hospital and so forth.
3. Constant reminders that calls are in queue and should be addressed. This will disrupt our trying to work down the queue.
4. This position was more Customer Service. Callers often will request for a request, complaint, and/or training. This would be fine for a call center if it was organized as such. But we IT techs are to handle these calls regardless unfortunately.

Conclusion:
This is not the worst place but a bit misleading. Please categorize this position as Customer Service and organize call center better.

Please give contractors a reason to stay. This place was designed to burn people out with short lunches and no breaks. Along with how convoluted a technicians job is with non-IT related duties. I would recommend having regular team meetings in regards to changes/updates
  more... to create an inclusive environment more often and a feeling of collaboration. Feels like I'm just there for the sake of being there when I'm working.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Office is A Great Place if you have a Great Manager
Executive Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2018
Not all departments can say this, but a few of them have wonderful managers who are transparent, honest, and promote positivity. Managers help create the right atmosphere.
Cons
No growth if you are an admin.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great hospital.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 17, 2018
It does involve a lot of steps to get be accepted as a volunteer, so I assume it's much harder to get employe there. Great people who are willing to help you if you are willing to accept it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NYC Health + Hospitals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 710 reviews
5247
4221
3163
238
141

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight