NYC Housing Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 654 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and enjoyable to work with staff.
Community Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 16, 2019
A knowledgeable place of work where the authority were guiding many residents to be taught and the regulations in housing. Prepare graphic reports summarizing average daily attendance versus staff capacity and recommend measures to increase proficiency.
Planned, organized, or coordinated the activities of multiple departments and oversaw delivery of services to a senior community of 2,389 residents.
Oversaw the entire program, organization's budget, and policies regarding participant eligibility and involvement, program requirements, and benefits.
Pros
Paid for attending Jury duty and more.
Cons
Union helps ACS more than NYCHA. Not Equally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place was amazing
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 12, 2019
i loved this job and would go back in a heart beat. the work was fun , my coworkers where respectful. most of management was a good time and i learned alot of skills here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love nycha!!!
Plumber Helper (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYFebruary 11, 2019
I can't wait till the exam for the plumber helper come out so I can apply and join NYCHA again it one of the best places too work. I always brag to my friends how much I miss working there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 30, 2019
Long hours of using weedwacker and lawnmowers having to be the one seasonal for one month I was suppose to clean the whole daycare by myself without any help
Pros
leaving early
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 30, 2019
housing is a great place to work expect the winter time during snow storms depending the position you work in thats why ive worked hard for the 11 years i been there to not have to work outside all day ive gotten a few promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equipment condition.
Boiler Technician (Current Employee) –  10310 E 115 th StJanuary 18, 2019
Boilers in very bad shape. Need major repairs. Not chemically treated to prolong operational life. Tank rooms in bad condition major leaks and no lighting in rooms/ Mice, water bug and vermin infestation in all rooms. asbestos insulation failing and falling off of piping.
Pros
Lunchtime
Cons
Heating equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and chill working environment
Janitor (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10029January 12, 2019
My time here was through syep and i felt like despite it being syep , i was not being paid enough. My coworkers and I cleaned the area which was consistently dirty all the time and we would have to reclean everyday.
Pros
Free time when it is raining
Cons
Expected a lot from
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Grounds Worker (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJanuary 10, 2019
Great place to work at. but need to hire people. easy going job. strict on time and attendance. i would had love t get a permanent postion there. i will try to apply for seasonal again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Lead Abatement Worker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 28, 2018
Company as a city agency takes alot of short cuts and when it goes wrong , company scapegoats employees . Very hard to move out in company as well unless you know someone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and busy enviroment
Caretaker J (Former Employee) –  Far Rockaway, NYDecember 26, 2018
I love working for housing. It was a fair and fun enivorment. you get Two breaks and a half and hour lunch in the winter and in the summer the hours change.
Pros
Good breaks and great vacation days
Cons
The union should help you more
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sinking ship no future in it
Skilled Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 25, 2018
The job wouldn't be bad if not for the many incompetent administrative managers that were promoted via nepotism and quotas. Taking orders from someone that's clueless isn't easy..especially when they think they know it all. When I started in 1983 the agency ran like a well oiled machine..now it's a broken rust bucket
Pros
N/a
Cons
Dysfunctional Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
AdministrativeManager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2018
The job was okay. Staff moral very low. There's really no more info I would like to give. I wouldn't not like to discuss this company and I don't understand why I can't post my info without this
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chanda robinson
Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 18, 2018
i was showed how to keep a 14 story build clean how to keep the tenant happy how to respect my co workers the important of a pay check .. i was able to learn other jobs
Pros
great benfits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 18, 2018
I was at this job for years and qualified for promotions but was never promoted, i also work hours i wasn't paid for, and when i got hurt on the job it took 3 months for my benefits to get approved cause staff didnt submit my paperwork on time
Pros
Having a job and being able to provide for my family
Cons
Very unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYCHA/ Community Assistant
Community Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 17, 2018
I enjoyed working with the after school programs and evening adult center. Working with the children was very rewarding experience! My work day started at 2:45pm when the after school program children would arrive at the after school center. They would receive a snack which was followed with 1,5 hours of homework assistance. Afterwards the children participated in different programs such as arts and craft, sports and music activities. The children were the fed a warm meal at 5:30pm which was followed by dismissal at 6:00pm. The work culture was fast paced but supportive. The hardest part of the job was when my position ended in 2009 and not being able to see the children enrolled in the NYCHA program. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing children improve in their classes during the school year!
Pros
Seeing the students improve in school subjects via tutoring
Cons
When my position was eliminated in 2009
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Internship (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYDecember 12, 2018
The work environment should more better. Should train new employees properly. Also supervisors should be cooperative. They should also treat customers well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recomend
Caretaker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 11, 2018
i ran from rats alot. My supervisor harassed me often. Coworkers were great, The job wasnt bad but the supervision was. The tenants was awesome as well
Pros
Great Coworkers
Cons
Horrible Supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Maintenance Caretaker J (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 5, 2018
My typical day at NYCHA is unexpected. Everyday you do different thing. Get to meet different people. Experience different kind of work. Its enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
NYCHA Administrative Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 2, 2018
Good organization to work for. Job stability and room for advancement. Unfortunately for me, I was hired under contract basis. No positions available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty job
Caretaker X (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 2, 2018
This place is stressful due to the management team. They are at times disrespectful, obnoxious and treat those beneath them like dirt. Condescending to staff and also show favoritism. Rules and regulations only apply when convenient for them. They have no compassion and/or empathy for anyone except themselves and make working here a nightmare.
Pros
free insurance
Cons
short breaks. heavy lifting daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NYC Housing Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 654 reviews
5245
4190
3142
238
139

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight