Nyc Parks Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 58 reviews
Ratings breakdown
531
415
38
21
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 58 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front desk reception/ maintenance
Front desk reception (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2018
greet members sign up new members take payments answer multi-line phone clean bathrooms mop floors clean gyms / weight rooms monitor kids and keep facility organized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can work at your pace, but outside walking the full time
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 16, 2018
Physical labor outside through any weather and you use tools to aid you. Also, chill work place with friendly and collaborative staff that guide you well.
Pros
Can work at your own pace
Cons
Outside work through all conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team playing work place enviornment
Seasonal Park Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 12, 2018
I like working for the Parks Dept. Its a stepping stone for people to better themselves. Learning new things and adapting and adjusting to unexpected things.
Pros
Hour lunches
Cons
Every man for themselves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Seasonal Park Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 31, 2018
Very fast paced. You get to help and meet people from all different walks of life. You get to help maintain the cleanliness of the park and ensure safety for the patrons in the parks.
Pros
great atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYMay 21, 2018
I recommend it to anybody the job is well good and it's perfect for anybody who needs a job real quick. The porch I'll give a lot of benefits like health care for with a plane is retiring 20 years or more records.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like working outdoors, parks is a great place to work.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 19, 2018
A typical day at Parks was to begin by surveying the park to see what needed to be done. I would then collaborate with my co workers to finish all the tasks using teamwork. It was most enjoyable for me to work outdoors and speak with the people in the park. The workplace culture was laid back and friendly. A supervisor stopped by once a day to make sure everyone was working up to par. I learned many things at the classes I was allowed and paid to partake in including driving lessons and taking the driving test. The hardest part was waking up at 4:30am.
Pros
Classes
Cons
Paid sick days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized
Seasonal Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 14, 2018
I think this job is great and would love to find a permanent position within the organization. I would recommend everyone to apply. I am currently in the process to get my drivers license so I can try to be permanently employed at parks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life At NYC Parks
Custodian (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 7, 2018
My overall review is undecided but id i were answering tit'll be barely Passing. Passing definitely! Because Alot of the worker Aren't computer Literate which slow the actually process of work.
But are gaining Strenght in this , that aspect!
Pros
Work
Cons
Hard Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chanelle johnson workplace
Parks Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 19, 2018
At the time when i was with NYC Parks i had an amazing view its was easy but we worked hard but not to hard and its was laughs jokes i had a good time working with the parks but hopefully i hurry and get my licinese so i can return back and work full time for NYC Parks Department.
Pros
lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Seasonal Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 17, 2018
Changing garbage cans
picking up garbage
Cleaning after events
Maintaining leaves/Gardening
Answering questions of park goers
Painting
laying wood chips
Cons
Short breaks, weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this survey is way too long
Forester and Project Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 4, 2018
Dont work here unless you want to be useless for the rest of your life. If you have passion as an arborist you will not be satisfied with your coworkers or supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Seasonal Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 3, 2018
The day starts after we sign in and change our clothes. We would do rounds pick up trash from around the park, then do the same on the inside. I learned how to plant flowers,and trees. My supervisiors was okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 22, 2018
Nyc Parks was an amazing job, the people, and the location was very outstanding. Working for Nyc Parks was very organized, professional, and mandated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assist patrons (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 31, 2018
slow but busy days
alot of smiling and interacting
supervision
i have learned patience
i have learned to understand people
i have learned to apply
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on you.
City Park Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 28, 2018
You clock in, pick up trash, maybe mow and you clock out. It really depends on the type of person you are. If you're more social, you may not mind it at all, if you're not, you still wouldn't mind much, just a bit of feeling left out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, teaches discipline
Seasonal Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJanuary 23, 2018
I enjoyed my time working for the parks department. The job taught me a lot and I made a couple great friends. I’m very grateful for the skills that the parks department taught me.
Pros
Meeting new people, working outdoors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Staff
Seasonal Gardener (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 29, 2017
I loved being able to come to work everyday and know that it was going to be productive and relaxing. Although the work load was heavy, our supervisors made sure that we successfully maintained a stress free work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 21, 2017
Parks is great but does not have room for career advancement. I would recommend this job to other people as well. Overall a great place to work and there is some overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Community Associate (Media Education Coordinator) (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 21, 2017
NYC parks is a wonderful place to work, I personally love working with children it is a great experience. I've learned more about a my community. The hardest part about this job is wanted to do more for the youth.
Pros
working with kids
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and play!
Guest Customer Service and Security Exp (Current Employee) –  New York, NYCNovember 13, 2017
A great place to work and enjoy the beautiful outdoors. You get paid to workout. The parks is very diverse and the sky is the limit for career growth and Career advancement. There are over 2,500 parks and Recreations centers in New York City! Go and enjoy!
Pros
excercise and you can meet alot of interesting people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport