O'Charley's Employee Reviews

Showing all 1,312 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Assistant Manger (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 14, 2019
Very busy restaurant with many coupons and outreach for the community to come dine. Always things to do and interactions with the staff is fun. Clean environment and standards are to be upheld.
Pros
flexible hours, decent tips
Cons
long hours, staff not always knowledgeable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paid weekly
Salad & Saute & Fry Cook & PREP (Former Employee) –  OhioJanuary 11, 2019
typical day at work was slow in the mornings except for a Sunday, nights were the busiest time of day very stressful when the manager doesn't have enough people staffed to run the building and that means the underpaid people have to work harder while the people the make the most money just leave everything a wreck for the the low guy to clean up.....it was a very nice place to work until the old manger got a higher paid job at a different location. something i learned was how to productive when your not really busy and to always get your manger to hand write the promise of a raise after 90 days as they say they will but never do...and then hire a new guy with no experience for 4 dollars more then your making after being there a year ...the management could be better and be people that actually care about their employees. The hardest part of the job is trying to learn to do some then without a trainer. The most enjoyable part of the job was being paid weekly. i think if management was fair and more understanding and didn't play favorites that that company wouldnt have as high of a turn over rate as they do now.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
no breaks till after 8pm, if the manager dont accept you will only work 3 hours a day everyday because of favorites, needs new management, coperate needs notifide, unfair procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of team work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 11, 2019
It's great and fast paced if you don't mind being the outcast and not being welcome to the team be it helping in a rush or properly training one and the managers are not prepared when hiring I was giving a server manual book and I applied for cooking I was not given the policy nor trained but quickly told I did everything wrong when I told them I was not trained and that I needed the proper tools be it the policy book and proper manual book for my position they became dismissive and could not provide a solution. Every mamanager has their own rule as well so it feels like walking on eggsgells
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with good management.
Host (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 9, 2019
Typically fast paced and learned to work well under pressure. It was sometimes hard to do multiple task but overall easy once you have made sure the customer has had a great visit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Dishwasher and Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 8, 2019
I enjoyed working there it was a good time for experience and learn about food and wash dishes. The people was friendly and enthusiastic and supporting a good environment for to work for. The following food was great clean environment and people helpful to each other for work and then they supporting helpful you if you have a problem. People are consider for other people who come to work on there shifts, people are willing to help you with your actions and you helping them with theirs,
Pros
Discount lunch
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment/poor management
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 8, 2019
Managers are lazy the cooks perform a lot of work. Morning prep. No dishwasher is scheduled so the cooks have to dishwash as well. No help putting the food truck away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless u have thick skin and a lot of patience, don't work here
Hostess and Server (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAJanuary 8, 2019
The hours suck! You work so hard for very little pay and tips arent always promising. The management is rude and not understanding. Ocharleys is not for the weak minded
Pros
Some of your coworkers are nice and goodfood for Cheap
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here and they were accomodating with hours if you have another job
Hostess; Greet guests, seat guests (Former Employee) –  Opelika, ALJanuary 8, 2019
The managers here are amazing and very nice! If you have something going on they will try their best to help you through it. The staff is amazing and are all very nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Orange Park, FL 32003January 7, 2019
Typical day is relaxed with enough tables and cleaning to keep you busy. Management was pretty on top of it as well. Most enjoyable part of working at O'Charley's was how close everyone gets to each other. O'Charley's tends to become a family.
Pros
Great Co-workers and discounts
Cons
People can be rude but that's everywhere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layed back
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJanuary 7, 2019
I absolutely loved the people i worked with. The managers and staff were amazing. I would usually come in a few minutes early to get somehing to eat and say hello to everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food is good
Server Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAJanuary 7, 2019
the food and customer service is good. one of my favorite places to sit down and eat. the staff is awesome and i always enjoy myself when im there. shoutout to them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYJanuary 6, 2019
this was my first management experience after the USMC other then that i had my own business and was a manger i guess on a farm, but i spent 7.5 years with them and moved into management in only 1.5 years, i loved it their and only left to grow my career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place. Fun and friendly co-workers
Server (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYJanuary 6, 2019
O'Charley's is a really great restaurant to eat at, for lunch or dinner. They have a great atmosphere to dine in. It is a good place to work too. They are usually busy any day.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Too much out work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i’ve ever worked
Server (Current Employee) –  Manchester, TNJanuary 5, 2019
the managers are so nice. they do anything to make the customers happy. everyone is always happy at ocharleys and the hours are great. they have amazing food
Pros
discounts
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Paducah, KYJanuary 5, 2019
I loved working there. Managers were jerks tho. I just couldnt stay when I had a manager cussing us and treating us like slave dogs. I loved my other coworkers tho!
Pros
Friends and customers
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in o'charley's
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 3, 2019
A typical day would for me coming in 15 minutes earley to grab something to eat before my shift. I greet all of my co-workers as we all gather up to talk for about 2-3 minutes to then disperse because they have guest to tend too. Then, I clock in and look at the floor chart and start working. My personality made me real close to the managers so I would often help them with orders and some paper work or watch over the store if they had a bank run to make. They taught me about responsiblity, time-quality (manage my time wisely), independece, how to grow to take care of what needs to be done.
Pros
My new friends (co-workers)
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They had free pie Wednesday
Server (Former Employee) –  Collierville, TNJanuary 1, 2019
Omg its the best. Theu had all you coulf eat Chicken Tenders Tuesday. Fre pie Wednesday. All you can eat fish om Thursday and Friday 2 prime brin Friday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work.
Ocharleys (Current Employee) –  Foley, ALDecember 31, 2018
Great staff and decent managers. One manager is exceptional. Other two are condescending and not personable. We are not paid enough and at times make very little in tips. Can be very quick paced and stressful depending on speed of kitchen and caliber of clientel. We have secret shoppers who are there to critique your every move. First time I hAve been subject to that.. you only make $2.14 an hour and have no benefits whatsoever.. you get written up for the slightest thing and cannot appeal it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILDecember 28, 2018
I liked working here I just wasn't making as much as I liked. All the managers where very nice and easy to get along with. Other servers are friendly and always willing to help out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving is not for everyone
To Go Server / Dishwasher/ Cook (Current Employee) –  Owensboro, KYDecember 25, 2018
Restaurant jobs are not for everyone. It is a very fast pace, high energy, detail oriented work. From the people who Welcome you, bring you to your table, take your food order, cook the food, food preparation, washing the dishes, to the people who insure the restrooms are clean and stocked. You need to be a people person, it's really not a job for someone who doesn't like being around people .
Pros
Could make good money
Cons
kind of a thankless job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at O'Charley's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,313 reviews
5390
4401
3336
299
187

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight